Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice - Perfect Every Time! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice - Perfect Every Time!

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on September 15, 2002

      Well for the second time around, don't know what happened to the first review, but I do know , this recipe does exactly as it says it does!! It is perfect rice, every time. I have used it 3 or 4 times already, it is beautiful, each piece separate rice. Added veggies the first time and came out with a lovely rice pilaf, and made it into a very nice salad and used it to stuff tomatoes. Just an all round useful, quick recipe to have around. Thanks for sharing Mirj, am using it often!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2002

      I halfed the rice recipe. I added 1/2 cup of chopped up vegetables (green onion, green and red pepper and a bit of celery and two mushrooms) which I cooked in 1/2 tbsp. butter in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes. I omitted the onion soup which may have been a mistake. We felt the rice was just a bit tough but I will certainly make it again and perhaps add just a wee more liquid the next time. For this reason I just gave it 4 stars but I think with a little help it would definitely end up being 5 stars. The one thing I liked was that the rice was not sticky.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2003

      you may find that covering the bowl with a dampened tea towel allows it to vent a little better . i usualy go 5 min. on high and then 12 min. on medium heat.I never make rice on the stove anymore!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2003

      This is a lot eaiser than cooking on the stove.. worked out very well. It did take 19 minutes on high, but my microwave is older than Barb T, and always takes longer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2003

      I had high hopes, but this took me twice as long as listed here and the rice was still a little...er, toothy. I used what I think was a basmati rice (that's what I get for buying in bulk and storing it in unmarked jars in the pantry). It may also be that my microwave simply does not have the power. I did the instructions twice, and then the rice was cooked. I'm hopeful that this will work and I will try again with another rice. We have a rice cooker, but my rice is either burnt or too sticky in that thing -- only Troy has the right touch, and he's not always around.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2003

      Wile I love the end result, getting there is quite messy. Yesterday I made a single recipe in my largest mixing bowl (the really big kind) and I still had spill-over while cooking. I suppose it doesn't deter me enough, because I will make this again and have already made it several times before. I'd just like a neater way to do it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2003

      This is "EXCELLENT", Mirj Momma! It was mom's b'day y'day(14th Nov'2002) and I made this for dinner for some guests and our family. Came out beautiful! I used 1 cup rice, 2 cups water and 1/2 tsp. salt. The only step that I slightly altered was step no. 9- I added cold water to the rice instead of dumping it into a strainer(I dont have a big strainer), stirred once, and then drained the cold water. I made plain white rice as per this recipe and every single person at the dinner table, right from a 6 yr. old kid, to my dad - all praised it! My dad told me to cook rice daily this way rather than the stove:) THANKS, Mirj Momma, for this "every grain separate rice"! It's truly 'foolproof'! Update: I've made this several times since I first reviewed it. I share it with my pigeons and crows, O my, they love it. You have to watch them nibbling on each grain, something I can spend hours doing when I feed them everyday. Sometimes when the mother in me rises, I make small round balls of the rice(i.e. the cooked rice) and roll it in a mixture of lentils(red, green, black, white and yellow) and then I put out these balls of rice and lentil for the crows and pigoens. They "feast" on it, it's like Biryani for them;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2012

      I was skeptical about microwaving rice, but I recently found out I was pregnant and can go from nauseous to starving pretty quickly. Rice seemed like a safe bet not to upset my stomach but I didn't want to wait for it to cook. I'm surprised at how well this came out in only 12 minutes! Definitely a keeper, thanks so much!

      I wanted to update and say that I make rice like this all the time now! It's been perfect every time!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2004

      I had no problem with this! I didn't even do the strainer step. It was amazing perfect rice, I was skeptical about it but it worked. I normally use a rice cooker but this is even less trouble than that. Everyone should give it a try.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2013

      I have tested this method several times using different rice, bowls, time, lids and amounts of water. Nearly the same result everytime, the starch in the rice causes the rice to end up in the shape of a hockey puck that can be lifted out of the bowl with a fork. A rinse of cold water will separate the rice but the flavor after all of that is tasteless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2013

      It works! :) It was easy to do and the rice was great. I used jasmine rice. Thanks Mirj :) Made for Cookbook tag game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2012

      This was a snap to make and truly delicious! I just added a little Italian seasoning when ireheated on medium in the microwave. I served with a tossed salad. I placed poached cod in tomato Mediterranean sauce over the rice and garnished with lemon wedges and celery leaves. A big hit with DH and a personal favorite. We also had watermelon for dessert.

      For a brunch, I made it into pilaf with vegetables, onions, garlic, light tomato sauce and salmon garnished with lemon wedges and fresh dill around the side of the platter. This was a side dish. Quiche was the main attraction. There was French bread ( see French Tart's breadmaker peasant French bread). Cantaloupe with mint was dessert. I knew a guest always brings a chocolate torte as a hostess guest and I usually serve it. There were raves from all the guests.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2011

      Wow...Wow! I have never been able to get rice to cook like this. I was really nervous about using this method but it worked perfectly! I will make my rice this way from now on. Thank you, thank you for posting this great recipe!! 9/16/11--Just an update! I have been making my rice this way since i found this recipe...what i can't understand is why there are only 28 people who have reviewed this??? should be 28 million by now lol! Super easy and great way to make perfect rice!!! Thanks again Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2010

      awesome!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      this should be called Mirj's foolproof uncle ben's style rice - it was perfect - thanks for sharing

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2009

      WOW! This is the only way I will make rice from now on. Thanks, Mirj!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 31, 2009

      This was great! Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2009

      Sooo good. I made Cilantro Lime Rice with this and it was amazing. Very good texture on the rice and it was just perfect! Thanks so much for sharing this method.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2009

      Worked like a charm! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2009

      I've had this in my cookbook for a long time, and needed a rice recipe for a stir-fry.So, I decided to try it. Mirj, I'm so sorry I waited until now to try this.I followed the recipe as written, except I used white rice,that's all I had.The rice turned out just like name of the recipe, "Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice- Perfect Every Time. I do however recommend that you use a larger sized bowl than you think you will need, it will boil over.;)It so deserves more than 5 Stars. This will be my rice recipe from now on. Thanks for posting and, "Keep Smiling :)"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice - Perfect Every Time!

    Serving Size: 1 (111 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 117.0
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    46%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 28.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.7 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 2.1 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes