31 Reviews

Well for the second time around, don't know what happened to the first review, but I do know , this recipe does exactly as it says it does!! It is perfect rice, every time. I have used it 3 or 4 times already, it is beautiful, each piece separate rice. Added veggies the first time and came out with a lovely rice pilaf, and made it into a very nice salad and used it to stuff tomatoes. Just an all round useful, quick recipe to have around. Thanks for sharing Mirj, am using it often!!

15 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Derf September 15, 2002

I halfed the rice recipe. I added 1/2 cup of chopped up vegetables (green onion, green and red pepper and a bit of celery and two mushrooms) which I cooked in 1/2 tbsp. butter in the microwave for 2 1/2 minutes. I omitted the onion soup which may have been a mistake. We felt the rice was just a bit tough but I will certainly make it again and perhaps add just a wee more liquid the next time. For this reason I just gave it 4 stars but I think with a little help it would definitely end up being 5 stars. The one thing I liked was that the rice was not sticky.

10 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Darlene10 October 03, 2002

you may find that covering the bowl with a dampened tea towel allows it to vent a little better . i usualy go 5 min. on high and then 12 min. on medium heat.I never make rice on the stove anymore!

7 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Arabannie February 13, 2003

This is a lot eaiser than cooking on the stove.. worked out very well. It did take 19 minutes on high, but my microwave is older than Barb T, and always takes longer.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff Hixson March 03, 2003

I had high hopes, but this took me twice as long as listed here and the rice was still a little...er, toothy. I used what I think was a basmati rice (that's what I get for buying in bulk and storing it in unmarked jars in the pantry). It may also be that my microwave simply does not have the power. I did the instructions twice, and then the rice was cooked. I'm hopeful that this will work and I will try again with another rice. We have a rice cooker, but my rice is either burnt or too sticky in that thing -- only Troy has the right touch, and he's not always around.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore February 25, 2003

Wile I love the end result, getting there is quite messy. Yesterday I made a single recipe in my largest mixing bowl (the really big kind) and I still had spill-over while cooking. I suppose it doesn't deter me enough, because I will make this again and have already made it several times before. I'd just like a neater way to do it.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suzanne Regenold February 12, 2003

This is "EXCELLENT", Mirj Momma! It was mom's b'day y'day(14th Nov'2002) and I made this for dinner for some guests and our family. Came out beautiful! I used 1 cup rice, 2 cups water and 1/2 tsp. salt. The only step that I slightly altered was step no. 9- I added cold water to the rice instead of dumping it into a strainer(I dont have a big strainer), stirred once, and then drained the cold water. I made plain white rice as per this recipe and every single person at the dinner table, right from a 6 yr. old kid, to my dad - all praised it! My dad told me to cook rice daily this way rather than the stove:) THANKS, Mirj Momma, for this "every grain separate rice"! It's truly 'foolproof'! Update: I've made this several times since I first reviewed it. I share it with my pigeons and crows, O my, they love it. You have to watch them nibbling on each grain, something I can spend hours doing when I feed them everyday. Sometimes when the mother in me rises, I make small round balls of the rice(i.e. the cooked rice) and roll it in a mixture of lentils(red, green, black, white and yellow) and then I put out these balls of rice and lentil for the crows and pigoens. They "feast" on it, it's like Biryani for them;)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charishma_Ramchandani February 11, 2003

I was skeptical about microwaving rice, but I recently found out I was pregnant and can go from nauseous to starving pretty quickly. Rice seemed like a safe bet not to upset my stomach but I didn't want to wait for it to cook. I'm surprised at how well this came out in only 12 minutes! Definitely a keeper, thanks so much!

I wanted to update and say that I make rice like this all the time now! It's been perfect every time!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kayleighsmom529 May 08, 2012

I had no problem with this! I didn't even do the strainer step. It was amazing perfect rice, I was skeptical about it but it worked. I normally use a rice cooker but this is even less trouble than that. Everyone should give it a try.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catbeckster March 06, 2004

I have tested this method several times using different rice, bowls, time, lids and amounts of water. Nearly the same result everytime, the starch in the rice causes the rice to end up in the shape of a hockey puck that can be lifted out of the bowl with a fork. A rinse of cold water will separate the rice but the flavor after all of that is tasteless.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tenmeg July 20, 2013
Mirj's Foolproof Microwave Rice - Perfect Every Time!