Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Minty Onion Tomato Salad Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minty Onion Tomato Salad

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on December 31, 2009

      This salad is awesome! I knew I would love it as soon as I saw it. Such simple ingredients and so fresh. I hid the very last bit to have on my toast for breakfast and that was awesome too! Thanks Mikekey.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      Very delicious!! I used vindalia onion, plum tomatoes, sea salt, freshly ground black pepper, plus the fresh mint. I didn't refrigerate so long but will try that next time with real garden fresh tomatoes and mint insha Allah (God willing). Made for *** RAMADAN RECIPE TAG - 2011 ***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2010

    • on December 30, 2009

      I was so not sure about this salad. No dressing and so simple and also did not know what to ecpect. Well I have to say this salad was outstanding, I am not a big fan of mint, and yet the mint worked so well with this salad! I dont know why but the flavours took me back to my childhood, I dont remember Mum ever making anything like this but for some reason the flavours just reminded me of childhood days.....if that makes sense! I used salad onions but everything else was the same and kept in the fridge for only about an hour (next time and yes there definately will be a next time) I will leave longer. So refreshing and such wonderful flavours, makes you just keep going back for more! I can hardly wait to taste this with my home grown tomatoes, the taste will surely be wonderful. What more can you ask....simple, easy and great tasting! Thanks mikekey just the thing I need for this summer! This will be made time and time again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      I was so nicely surprised by this salad! I was intrigued as there was no dressing and didn't know what to expect. Walla walla onion is N/A and I got permission to use regular one with the warning that it might be too strong. My salad stayed in the fridge for about 7 hours before I got to eat it and the onions got soft and lost some of their strengh but they overpowered the mint. For mint I used my own Naneh - Mint Paste ( Persian) and I skipped the salt as the paste had already. Thanks for a nice and light salad.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Fresh is the word when describing this gem of a recipe. Serious taste here that makes you coming back for more. I made this tomato salad to accompany scallops and it was the perfect marriage. The lightness of the scallops and the freshness of the tomato, walla walla onion, the fresh mint from the back porch and the s&p sitting atop a thick sliced beef sized tomato was enchanting. I threw some fresh baby spinach leaves underneath and added a fork :) Yum plus here from the farm. Made for Everyday is a Holiday May 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2007

      This is as freshand light tasting as can be! I had no idea adding mint to such a simple combination would add so much. I used a Vidalia onion. Thank you for this wonderfully simple salad, Mikekey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2007

      Great recipe. I made it with some fresh tomatoes that I grew myself. Much better than store bought. By the way, Vidalia onions are from GA (my home state) not TX. Fellow camper here to. Google RainbowRV

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      Great salad. I don't think I've ever had a tomato salad without some sort of vinaigrette before, but you don't need it for this simple fresh salad. Thanks mikekey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      It's hard to believe that such simple ingredients come together to make an amazing salad but it's true! I took this to school for our Cinco de Mayo potluck and everyone loved it! This is definitely a salad I will be making often, especially this summer. Thanks for sharing another great recipe, mikekey!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2006

      The mint really makes this salad! I loved the fresh flavors. I halved the salad . Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Minty Onion Tomato Salad

    Serving Size: 1 (114 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 42.1
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    89%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.2 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.8 g
    11%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 1.8 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites