Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Minestrone Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minestrone

    Average Rating:

    22 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 22

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2011

      This was really good and easy. And very versatile too. I switched up the vegies to what I had on hand and it worked well!!! Made for Saucy Silverados and the ZWT 7 tour!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      What an easy and delicious soup. I cut the recipe in half and subsituted zucchini for green beans (didn't have any) and used kidney beans for the garbonzo beans. Like everyone has said it was a great idea to use the spaghetti sauce in it. You could use any vegetables that you had on hand and still have a delicious soup. Made for Fall PAC 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

      Great and easy to make soup at the end of the day! I changed the recipe slightly based on what was in the house and I wanted to use the full can of chickpeas and also used more green beans but skipped the celery (however I used a bit of celery salt) and the bell pepper. I also skipped the parsley and the cheese. I love the idea of using spaghetti sauce!!! and will use that idea again in other recipes! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      What a great and easy soup. I subbed zucchini for the green beans and bell pepper, otherwise followed the recipe. Very warming on a windy cold day like yesterday was. Thanks for sharing a real keeper Dorit! Made for Tis the Season for Giving.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      Very nice! I didn't have spaghetti sauce, so I used tomatoes and tomatoes paste, along with vegetable broth. Omitted the parmesan. Also, I didn't have any pasta, so I used rice. Very satisfying. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2010

      Delicious soup! Packed full of veggies, with lots of flavor. I used zucchini instead of green beans due to an abundant zucchini harvest on-hand. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      Made this yesterday afternoon and had it for lunch today. It's cold here in Ontario so this soup hit the spot. A very delicious recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2010

      This soup is delicious, healthy and filling. I omitted the pasta. I used 2 zucchini, roughly chopped instead of the green beans. I used a meat free bolognese sauce, low-fat, high in fiber. Thanks Dreamer :) Made for Photo tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Followed the directions as stated--the result was outstanding. I love the chickpeas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2009

      Great recipe thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      Great Minestrone - we soup lovers enjoyed! The aroma alone worth a five - could hardly wait to get this one to the table. Made as posted - perfect for our tastes as well as looks so inviting in the bowls. Made for a lovely evening meal. Thank you, it's made it to my soup cookbook.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2008

      What a great, fast soup recipe... loved it, I too added more water and used frozen veggies....will make often I am sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This was a very good and filling soup. We just ate it and I am surprised I can move to type thing because I had such a big helping. Which is a good sign that I liked it :) I skipped the oil at the start and used a cooking spray and went for the zucchini in place of the green beans because we didn't have any and canellini beans because it felt Italian. Good stuff! Made for ZWT4.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      Very good soup - smelled wonderful while cooking. I used my homemeade sauce for the spaghetti sauce and zucchini instead of green beans. I didn't think it needed any extra liquid - I thought it was just right as-is! Made for Went to Market April 2008.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2008

      Nice tasting soup! I followed the recipe pretty much, but only had about 1 1/2 cups of spaghetti sauce, so used tomato sauce for the rest! I had rotini so used that for the pasta, & the result was well-received! many thanks for sharing the recipe! [Tagged, made & reviewed for the Zaar Stars Recipe Tag Game]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This is a delicious soup. I didn't have a carrot, and I substituted the green beans for the original zucchini. I agree that it needs another cup of water. Super yummy. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Wow, this was a great minestrone! Moosewood is always reliable. Because I come from the school that says the basis of every great soup is its stock, I substituted about 1 cup of the tomato sauce (I didn't use spaghetti sauce) for stock (also because I had only one 14 ounce can of tomato soup on hand). I think next time I make this I'll substitute stock for some of the water. Also, because I thought I had some green beans in the freezer but didn't, I substituted a cup of edamame beans for the green beans. I'm not a huge fan of zucchini and eggplant, although I eat both from time to time. Also, I had a medley of some fresh French herbs on hand (including lots of basil) so I added that as well as the parsley. I served with parmesan cheese. My BF and I had half this recipe for dinner, and the next day I had half of what was left for lunch. I served that with parmesan cheese and hot sauce:D Looking forward to eating the rest for lunch tomorrow. Great soup that's good for you too:D Thanks Dreamer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      This was delicious! I used tomato sauce and made it for my parents when I visited, everyone loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2008

      So good and warmming on a cold day! I used dittalini and Cento pizza sauce for the spaghetti sauce. We loved the vegetables -- both the flavor and the color combination.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      This is a very nice thick soup, that does smell fantastic as it cooks. The only change I made was to use the zucchini as I had one in the refrig. I just used a can of drained chickpeas. Made for *1 2 3 Hit Wonders* game 2007

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    You Might Also Like...

    View All Vegetable Recipes

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Minestrone

    Serving Size: 1 (292 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 210.0
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    16%
    Total Fat 3.9 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 1.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 962.9 mg
    40%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.9 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 6.0 g
    24%
    Sugars 9.4 g
    37%
    Protein 6.5 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites