Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Minado's Perfect Sushi Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Minado's Perfect Sushi Rice

    Average Rating:

    109 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 109

    Sort by:

    • on March 15, 2009

      Great! I didn't have mirin or kelp on hand, so I just added an extra tablespoon each of rice vinegar and sugar (after looking at wikipedia and seeing the breakdown of mirin)...and I then added just a splash of vodka..but sake would work, too. I can't wait to have mirin on hand so I can try it instead..thanks for the recipe..it made for a great sushi party!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2009

      I have made this 5 times now and all I can say is Hallelujah! I'm going to save so much money by not going to the Sushi restaurant every time I have a craving! I topped my rice with some cooked shrimp & seared salmon & dipped in wasabi & soy sauce. Fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      I changed the proportions to make 1 1/2 cups of rice, and it still came out perfectly! I was so nervous about making sushi rice for the first time, but this was sticky and flavorful! The vinegar mixture is powerful - I was hesitant about adding it all, but in the end was glad I did...our sushi tasted delicious! I was lazy and only let it drain for about 25 minutes (in the winter)...and it wasn't a problem. Great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2009

      I used my rice cooker to make the rice, but I used your recipe for the vinegar mixture and it tasted great. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      AWESOME AND EASY, I used a glass top pot since I knew curiosity would get best of me, and that kept me from lifting the lid. Thanks for the lifesaving rice recipe! My kids like it straight!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2009

      I rinsed this under cold running water rather than rinsing a specific number of times. I drained it for 1/2 hour even though it is winter. (I am in Florida and took a gamble that the winter vs. summer thing was due to weather.) I did not use a kelp leaf. This was absolutely perfect rice and my daughter made delicious sushi with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2009

      I don't use the mirin or kelp, but this is absolutely divine! I can't hardly eat plain rice now LOL!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2009

      This is the perfect rice recipe for sushi and the one that I will use. I am new to making sushi and couldn't wait to try it. This rice has just the right amount of sweetness and it held together so well, yet it wasn't really sticky or hard to work with. Make sure you don't get your rice too thick or it can be hard to roll up and stick to the nori sheets. Thank you for making my first sushi making experience a positive one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Great rice, gave a nice foundation for my sushi. Overall a little saltier than my old recipe, but it was still quite tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      Just made my first batch of maki-zushi, and this rice was absolutely incredible!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2008

      Great recipe! I made sushi for my party and used this recipe for sushi rice. Everyone loved it and was a big hit. I also used the rice cooker to make the rice and it is quick and easy. Takes roughly 10mins to cook the rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      This is my 3rd time making sushi at home. The first two times I used my ricemaker with less than great results. Your recipe was awesome! The rice was so easy to work with and I had all of my rolls done in no time! Thanks for sharing this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      *Truly perfect* --I took a "Sushi 101" course a few years ago and the teacher gave us a totally different cooking time and temperature, and very different vinegar/sushi zu mixture. Also we did not drain the rice. I'm not sure which of these three things made a difference, or all of them, but I'm glad I tried Minado's Rice. It is so much stickier and easier to work with. I love Rice King brand Short Grain "California" Sweet Rice, available at Asian markets. I will be using this recipe from now on.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2008

      We've done sushi quite a few times now and this rice method was the best yet. The only thing I did differently was use less sugar (about 1 Tablespoon) just as a personal preference. Texture of rice was perfect for rolling sushi!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Very good! I initially thought the water wasn't going to be enough anhd i wasnt too sure on the draining it thing but yeah, as long as you do it by the book it comes out awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2008

      We had great success with this recipe. I used How to Make and Roll Sushi and Types of Sushi Rolls tutorials to help us make our sushi experience a success! There is a great balance of flavor in this rice! Make sure when your rolling your sushi you don't make it too thick. If you do, it makes it harder to roll!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Excellent!!I used white wine plus a touch of sugar as I didn't have mirin.Sushi turned out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      great, I halved the recipe, which made 3 rolls using Yukata brand nori. My first shot at making sushi and I'm really pleased with myself - thanks BirdyBaker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      This is wonderful! My kids loved it. I used 24 drops of liquid stevia instead of the sugar and replaced the mirin with sweet sherry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      Great recipe. Thank you. I didn't have mirin so I used chardonnay. It worked out fine. We will use this all the time! So yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites