109 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Without doubt the best, most detailed Sushi Rice technique I've ever heard of. Perfect results every time and the flavour is something else entirely!

Outstanding effort. Thanks so much for sharing!

Cameron.
Edinburgh, Scotland, UK.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
color_me_cam June 14, 2012

Made sushi for the first time,thank you for giving such detailed directions.I followed the recipe exactly and the rice was wonderful!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
melrenee72 June 04, 2012

I always make bad rice, so I was stressed about making sushi rice, but with this recipe I made "perfect sushi rice!" Thank you BirdyBaker sharing your father's recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Zuzu_Petals December 27, 2012

Perfect. I substituted dry sherry for the mirin.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee June 15, 2011

Another vote for PERFECT rice. I was out of mirin so I substitued 1 tbls sherry and 1 tbls water and it was still delicious.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AQueen February 19, 2011

This is my go to recipe when making Spam Musubi. I learned to make musubi with seasoned rice, but lost the recipe. This is a terrific substitute for my original recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef KristyBucket July 24, 2014

Delicious! Better than some of the sushi restaurants around my place. This will be the only recipe I will use when making sushi from now on. <br/><br/>Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emma D. June 30, 2014

Thank you so much! This was very precise and soo simple! It was sticky, just like it needed to be and tasty, although a little too sweet. However, I intend to make this again following the recipe exactly to see if I should really give 5 stars rather than 4. I had to use regular white rice instead of sushi rice. It worked well, but I keep hearing of the importance of the proper rice. I also used regular vinegar and subbed white wine for the mirin. All in all, a yummy success! I can't wait to try again following the recipe exactly!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
April P. April 23, 2014

Hands down the best Sushi rice ever!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen C. April 04, 2014

This is an amazing recipe and , It's really great, yields lots of yummy rice but I'd wouldn't add any salt in mine next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adouce22 January 22, 2014
Minado's Perfect Sushi Rice