Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Middle Eastern Bean Tabbouleh Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Middle Eastern Bean Tabbouleh

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on August 29, 2010

      Nice salad, will definitely use again. The capsicum made it a bit sweet (not overpoweringly sour or onion flavored like a lot of salads) and the mint flavor really stood out nicely. I added a little bit of lime juice and a dash of onion powder as well. I used chickpeas which were nice, but have also eaten this before with kidney beans which I think goes really well. This would also be nice with other additions such as crumbled feta cheese, olives and/or cucumber.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      This is so delicious!! I used chickpeas and followed it all even the optional cilantro but left out the bell pepper out of preference. I would like to make this again for DH and try leaving out the cilantro to see if it's even better per preference. Made for Family Picks, ZWT6 NA*ME regions for my team, The Ya Ya Cookerhood.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2010

      We loved this!! The flavors were wonderful. I used black beans, and will certainly try it again with other types of beans too. We really enjoyed the contrast between the spicy cayenne pepper and the cooling mint. Thanks for sharing! ZWT6

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2013

      This was very tasty. I used chickpeas, quartered grape tomatoes, and no peppers because no one likes them. I think a smaller bean would have been better. I didn't have any mint - we've got some growing by the side of the barn but it's the dead of winter. I added a couple drops of peppermint extract. Tastes good, but not sure if it's "right". Made for February Sun and Spice 2013.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2010

      Awesome!!! My friend and I inhaled this!! Nice twist on tabbouleh. We tried it with pita chips, but mostly just kept eating spoonfuls out of the bowl. Keeper!!!!! Made for A Seasoned Sailor and his Sassy Sirens - ZWT6.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2010

      WOW, what a DELICIOUS salad!!!! So fresh, crisp, summery and yummy! I enjoyed every single bite and couldnt stop eating. Mmmm! What a great idea to sub beans for the bulgur wheat in a tabbouleh. It makes for a great change of pace. I used white beans in my tabbouleh, but might try chickpeas next time, just to see how that is. THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this wonderful recipe with us, Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2009

      What's not to love with these ingredients? This salad was light and bright, refreshing and simple on a hot night. I used chickpeas, and curly parsley but stuck to the original recipe otherwise. I chose not to use the cilantro as I wanted to use my home grown herbs only.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2009

      I just came to this page for the umpteenth time and realized that I have yet to review it. Shame on me! It is good for 100 stars at least! It's flexibility is amazing: change the bean and change the dish. The bright flavors of lemon and mint make this Tabbouleh sparkle! This recipe is great for those with a sensitivity to wheat. Thank you for posting, Sharon123!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2008

      Heading off to our annual potluck and I wanted something that would travel well and appeal to the crowd but quietly meet the dietary needs of low-fat and vegan co-workers. First, the salad is just beautiful with the bright green herbs laced with the beans, peppers and tomatoes. Positively festive. I used one can each of black and fava beans as well as a mix of yellow and red peppers in my double batch. I was surprised not to see garlic amongst the list of ingredients and added two cloves, a small amount given the overall volume. The flavors this morning are just bright and bursting on my tongue with just a light hint of lemon to make the parsley, mint and cilantro harmonize. Thanks Sharon! Made for Potluck Tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      I had an overstock pantry of chickpeas, so I was happy to find this recipe, all the herbs and tomatoes came from my garden which made this recipe even more delicious! thanks for sharong hon!...Kitten:)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2006

      Lovely! I used white beans, and my DH just devoured it, making grunting noises as he went along!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Beautiful looking and tasting. The fresh herbs are wonderful in this. Terrific as a main dish salad! I reduced the oil even more to 1 tsp and it was still wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Middle Eastern Bean Tabbouleh

    Serving Size: 1 (178 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 157.5
     
    Calories from Fat 37
    23%
    Total Fat 4.1 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 594.8 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 8.7 g
    34%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 8.1 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes