Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Mexican Zucchini Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Zucchini

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on October 12, 2007

      My parents are from Mexico and I can honestly say my mom makes this often. THe only difference is that my mom does not use mushrooms, but she does use potatoes. If you add some queso fresco on top when you plate......delicious!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2011

      This is a great recipe! It's something like my mom's. My family loved it. I will be making this again soon!!!!!!!!!!!!! Thanks for the posting of the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      Great way to serve zucchini! I subbed green peppers for the mushrooms. I also sliced the onions instead of dicing. Wonderful flavor, easy to make and healthy - what more could you ask for? Thanks for posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2009

      We really loved this. Even my 3 and 5 year old. I didn't have any Rotel but this sounded so good I had to find a way to make it and measured out 10 ounces of mild chunky salsa in place of the rotel. I used 2 good sized zucchini and 8 ounces of mushrooms. Would even add more shrooms the next time...I loved those the best! I also only let this simmer (covered) for 12 minutes to keep them semi crisp. LOVELY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      This is very easy to prepare and looks great plated. DH and I both thought it was a bit to mushy for us. I guess we prefer crisper veggies. The flavor of the Rotel tomatoes gave it a nice kick. I used fresh mushrooms and drained out the liquid before adding the tomatoes. Loved that this is low fat. Thanks for posting. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2009

      ¡Muy Excelente! This is going in my "Best of" cookbook! I used fresh portobello mushrooms. This was wonderful as is, but I would use 2 zucchini and double the mushrooms just because we love mushrooms so much. I, too, couldn't keep myself from picking at it even when I was full. Thank you for such a great recipe. Made for Epicurean Queens ZWT5: Family Picks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      Awesome!!! This is so simple and so good! I used fresh mushrooms, but other than that, I made it as directed. And it's true - they reheat well. I kept 'picking' things out of the skillet - and they were good cold too, lol. Thanks Vicki for yet another keeper. Made for ZWT5 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2008

      It just occurred to me that I have made this recipe about a half-dozen times and never wrote a review. This recipe is very tasty and really quick and easy to fix as a side dish for normally carb-heavy mexican meals. I prepare it pretty much as written, except I use fresh mushrooms. They saute in about the same time as the onion, so there is no change in the directions. Thanks Vicki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      Served this zucchini as a side dish to enchiladas. We really enjoyed it. I followed all of the ingredients as posted (used an assortment of wild mushrooms--oysters, shiitake, baby bellas), and included the rotel tomatoes which gave the zucchini nice heat. This was very easy to throw together. DH took the leftover enchiladas and zucchini to work for lunch the next day and agreed with you that the zucchini was even better reheated. Thanks for a different way to enjoy our zucchini.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2007

      I don't eat zucchini, but my BF does. We grew it in our yard and he really liked it. I used whole chopped tomatoes from our yard as well and mixed that with a little olive oil and tomato paste and diced jalapenos.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      This tastes SO good!! My hubby says he usually doesnt like zuccini but liked the taste of this, so he is more willing to eat it. I did not have Rotel tomatoes either, I used diced and added some hot sauce to kick it up a notch. Thank you for the great recipe! We will be making these again for sure. Made for ZWT3.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      We dont have Rotel Tomatoes here but I added a chili pepper to diced spiced tomatoes.I froze it and hubby had it in the afternoon with french bread. as a break quickie.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2007

      I liked this one also. I did not have the extra hot rotels and mine were plenty HOT. But I like heat in my foods. This was easy to prepare and it is very healthy. I have about 10 teenagers here tonight having a bonfire. I was making this before they went out and they all gathered around wanting a taste. Don't their parents feed them? LOL I made this for ZWT III 2007- Spain & Portugal Region

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2007

      A nice way to fix zucchini! I used the milder Rotel tomatoes and it was just right! I froze these and ate them the next day. They did reheat well. Thank you Vicki!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Zucchini

    Serving Size: 1 (261 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.1
     
    Calories from Fat 13
    24%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 300.7 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.8 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.0 g
    8%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 3.2 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites