Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Mexican Saffron Rojo Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Saffron Rojo Rice

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2003

      Very good rice and quite simple to make, cooking in the usual twenty minutes (no peeking or stirring). I reduced the salt to one tsp and used saffron threads.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 25, 2003

      I made this rice last night(X'mas eve) for my brother and myself. I used only 1/2 tsp. of red chilli powder(to cut down on the spiciness). Another change I made was of using whole cumin seeds instead of cumin powder. That brought out the flavour of cumin much better. I also cut down on the salt to just a tsp. I was a little puzzled as to what tomato sauce meant(I thought it meant Tomato Ketchup). Luckily, the answer was on Zaar itself. I found it by clicking on the word "tomato paste". I used 2 roma tomatoes(washed, peeled and chopped) and just shy of 1 cup of water to prepare the paste(tomato sauce). I loved adding saffron to this wonderful side dish! I served this rice with fat-free plain yogurt and my Chickpeas curry(recipe going to be posted with the name 'Subru uncle's Channa masala'). We quite liked it! Thank you for sharing. Merry Christmas!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Great Rice! We both loved the rice. I really could taste the saffron along with all the other flavors. DH isn't big on rice but loved this one. Served with shrimp tacos, shrimp and chorizo quesadilla and Mexican chocolate mousse for dessert.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2009

      I feel terrible not agreeing with the rest, but I found this rice dish to be very bland. I was really hoping for something better than a comparative Spanish Rice. This just needed something. The next day, I added more chili powder, didn't help, more saffron, didn't help, and a lot of salt. We even added some grilled corn. Still didn't work for me. BH felt the same, sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2009

      Made with brown rice I had to cook it longer but the end result was delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2009

      I was having chicken fajitas and really have been tired of plain old white rice. This recipe inspired me. :) I didn't have tomato sauce, or chili powder, so I used about 1/4 C of spaghetti sauce, and about 1/4 t of crushed red pepper, and I put in about 5 drops of tabasco sauce. even with these changes the rice was delicious...had a little kick and was a nice change from just white. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2009

      This is definitely the best mexican rice I have ever had.The first thing I did was steep the saffron in alittle hot water for 15 minutes before adding it to the mixture.I roasted red and yellow peppers..I used a cast iron skillet with olive oil..Full of flavor and color is wonderful..I laminated this recipe..Will make often...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Wonderful change from plain white rice! The leftovers tasted even better reheated the next day! I poured the tomato sauce into a measuring cup and only enough water to equal 3 cups including the sauce because I didn't want the rice to become too mushy. It turned out well! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 29, 2008

      This recipe is what I love about this website. I would have never thought of mixing saffron, tomato sauce chili powder and rice. I followed this recipe exactly and was rewarded with a tasty mexican rice to accompany the mexican casserole that I made. Excellent recipe. I highly recommend other members to try this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2007

      I made this last week to accompany chicken & cheese taquitos. It was just yummy. The only change I made was I used beef broth in lieu of water. I will, definitely, be making this again and again. Thanks for the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2007

      Loved LOVED LOved it!!!!! Great authentic taste. Will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

      So Good! I kicked this up even more with red pepper flakes. Cut the oil back to 1 tablespoon which was heated in a hot pot then the onions, peppers garlic was added and sauteed then added the rice and following ingredients. I used fresh tomatoes that i semi blended to equal 12 ounces. I used my home grown saffron which I used generously!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Saffron Rojo Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (206 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 197.3
     
    Calories from Fat 49
    25%
    Total Fat 5.5 g
    8%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 818.3 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.4 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.3 g
    9%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    12%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes