Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Mexican Bean Burgers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Mexican Bean Burgers

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2009

      I thought these were excellent. I substituted mesquite A1 sauce for the ketchup, and skipped the pepper. I made 6 patties while the rice was hot and tried to leave them alone while they were frying. I didn't have any trouble with them falling apart. I will definitely make these again! Next time, I'll saute some onions and maybe some mushrooms for the top though.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      This was delicious. I used less ketchup and added several Tbsp of very chunky salsa, along with a little lime juice, plus extra chili powder and cumin. The patties held together when formed, but when I turned them over in the pan, they completely fell apart. Maybe it was because my rice was very firm, and it wouldn't mash well, thus, causing the mixture to be too dry? Anyway, since patties were obviously out of the question, I made burritos instead. I filled 4 tortillas with the mixture, topped with shredded extra sharp cheddar, then baked in the oven several minutes. I served them with shredded lettuce, chopped onion, chopped tomato, and salsa. It was great. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      VERY yummy! I used Italian seasoning instead of the straight oregano and they still tasted bery Mexican. Some of us ate them with salsa and some ate them with ketchup and mustard. They had a nice texture and great flavor. By far the best homemade veggie burgers I have ever made. Thanks, Zenith!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2008

      I didn't care for this. The flavor was strange and they didn't hold together very well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 04, 2007

      These tasted good but did not hold together at all...I tried pan frying them and they fell apart...then I tried the George Forman grill thinking that would hold them together as they cooked..I browned them and they still fell apart.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      Mmmm! Great flavor and texture. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2007

      These were great. They held together fantastic and even DH liked them although he said they needed a little more spice. I used 2 15.5 oz cans pintos instead of black beans. I also omitted onions because I forgot to buy them :(. I used salsa in stead of ketchup. Blended all in the food processor and served with buns and hamburger fixins. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2006

      These were super! I added some chopped carrots and used chickpeas and kidney beans instead of the black beans. I also doubled the chili powder. They had a bit of a kick. The only problem I had was they fell apart during frying so I ended up baking them instead. Still tasted great though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      I prepared this recipe for Hubby and myself last night. Following previous suggestions, I used the food processor to combine the ingredients. That seemed to work quite well; I had no problems with the patties crumbling when turned. I also made six burgers rather than eight, because making eight seemed to wind up with some pretty small burgers. They were a HUGE success. Hubby finished his off quickly and asked for seconds! This is definitely a recipe that will become a regular feature at our dinner table. It's easy, it's tasty, it's nutritious--what more can you ask for?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2006

      Very tasty. Based on the "very mild" comment, I increased the chili powder to 1 Tbsp. and the cumin to 1 tsp. Rather than mashing the mixture with a potato masher, I gave it a few pulses in the food processor. It seems that making the patties flatter helps them firm up and hold together when frying.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2005

    • on November 21, 2004

      Very good and easy to do. I did find them a bit too soft. They held together but just barely. But the taste was great!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2004

      A big hit with the husband and kids. I omitted the oregano. They were very easy to make. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2004

      I had some leftover black bean chili, so drained off juices and used this as my base. I added the seasonings and put this on a toasted bun with ketchup and mayo and this was delicious! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2004

      I make these all of the time, they are delicious! They sound like the ones from the VegCity Diner, in New York...That is the recipe that I use, my Nonnie and I love these. Try these out, they are fabu :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Mexican Bean Burgers

    Serving Size: 1 (105 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.3
     
    Calories from Fat 7
    29%
    Total Fat 0.8 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 70.6 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 24.1 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 1.5 g
    6%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites