10 Reviews

I brought this to work for a mexican pot luck and it got raves. I did, however, make some changes according to my taste. I added 2 chopped jalapenos, chopped cilantro, a small can of sliced black olives, used the juice of 1 lime instead of the lemon, and added some Adobo seasoning and extra cumin. I used red onion and 1 smallish orange pepper to make it very colorful. I will definitely make this again, so thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nana Amy May 05, 2007

I hate reading reviews or adding reviews where people make so many changes as it is no longer the original recipe however :) I did omit the salsa (did not have any) used lime juice from the jar (yuck but that is what I had on hand) everything the same. Used fresh corn on the cob and a diced fresh tomatoe from garden...this is a keeper!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vickinca August 20, 2014

Yum yum yum! I made my own salsa from a recipe also on this site, omitted the pepper, as I had none on hand, and used mixed beans. I'm a vegetarian and ate it as a main and it's fresh, delicious, healthy, and satisfying. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
vanlishan January 18, 2012

Delicious! I had to use mixed beans and dried parsley, but I loved it! Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goozeake December 20, 2010

This is an excellent side or appetizer. Haven't deviated from the original recipe as it is delicious as submitted. My family and co-workers really like this one! Thanks for submitting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Groundhog Gal October 19, 2010

Really nice salad. Great side and great snack. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
L00k April 27, 2010

This is a very colourful and tasty salad. My children don't like chunky salsa so I put all the dressing ingredients in the blender for a quick whirl before adding. They loved it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
4sweeper April 25, 2010

I was looking for something to replace a similar recipe - it uses sour cream and salsa for the dressing base and I wanted something non-dairy that could sit out at a party longer. This was really good - tasty and very healthy. I used an orange pepper (not a fan of green), red onion and extra rice. I would liked more spice though so next time I'll use hotter salsa and add some cilantro as suggested in reviews (I didn't have any when I made this).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dre S February 10, 2010

Great salad! I used 2 cups brown rice and light kidney beans in the salad . For the dressing I didn't use salsa, put 1/2 teaspoon ground cumin, 1/2 teaspoon ground corriander and 1 teaspoon chili powder. I garnished with fresh cilantro and some lemon slices. It turned out very flavorful and pretty too! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Your Gourmet Girlfriend May 04, 2008

I got such rave reviews at the 4th of July picnic (no leftovers) I made another batch to bring to my co-workers, along with the recipe! I used red onions as type wasn't mentioned and after all, what else is there? This just gets better as days go by! Next time I'll use hot salsa and maybe some jalapenos. Oh Mama! UPDATE, people keep asking for this recipe, I keep making it again and again, so thanks again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancygirl August 16, 2007
Mexican Bean and Corn Rice Salad