Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Maduros (plantain) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Maduros (plantain)

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 18, 2011

      I'd been wanting to try plantains for so long! Just never knew quite what I should do with them. This was a PERFECT starting recipe. Very good and very quick/easy.Fiance was scared when I grabbed them at the store, but ended up eating almost all of them Will make these again. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2010

      This is how I make sweet plantains. Just as a note: I accidentally put a ripe plantain in the refrigerator. It turned completely black and was kind of mushy in some places. I just used a higher heat, so the outside cooked faster and caramelized a bit, and it came out perfect.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2009

      Very nice and traditional. I really enjoy plantains any way they are made but these give them a really nice flavor. I tried to make sure they didn't get too brown/fried as then they would still have a little bit of soft plantain in the middle which made them even better. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Delicious and simple! Goes nicely with Morrocan Chicken and Israeli Couscous

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2007

      I love fried plantains and boiled. When I fry my plantain I usually get the green ones. I slice them fry about 1 minute or so then I take them out mash it with a coffe cup or whatever you like add salt to taste and refry. I love these type of plantains with cheese or a dinner with rice, steak and veggies. I also like the sweet plantain in which I boil, add to soups or fry but these plantains would have to be purchased yellow rather than green for the sweet flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2007

      plantains are delicious!!!!! my mother in law is cuban and she was the one who cook them for me the first time.... i love them... thank you for add the recipe to this site...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2006

      I am a plantain fiend. I love love LOVE sweet fried plantains. If I could I would eat them for breakfast (good with eggs), lunch (with a hot sandwich) and dinner (any salty meal works). Actually some days I do! To the poster who's plantains keep coming out too hard, here's the deal, you have to buy them so that the plantains are yellow black (the blacker the riper) but make sure they still feel firm, not mushy, through the skin, and have no mold. Another option is to buy them green to yellow and then leave them to continue to ripen on their own, again making sure they are still firm before eating them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2006

      they still keep on turning out hard, how can i make them softer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2004

      Another good one. My friend is from Colombia, South America and he loved this recipe, reminded him of home. thanks for sharing this simple, but good recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2004

      I live in Colombia, South America, and this is a very common side dish. You can prepare it cutting the plantain as describes above or (in slices) or cut it in small dices. Note: as ripe the plantain as good the recipe. I buy plantains and put in the fridge. When the outside is DARK the plantain is ready to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Maduros (plantain)

    Serving Size: 1 (25 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 14

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 31.2
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    59%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.1 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 3.8 g
    15%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites