Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Low Fat " Mc Donald's" French Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Low Fat " Mc Donald's" French Fries

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on October 31, 2010

      I just made these because I was havinga craving for homemade fries and while my recipe is very good, I often find the center of my old recipe fries is not as soft as I'd like (my usual recipe does not boil the fries before cooking; quite the opposite, it calls for the fries to be soaked in cold water). So I tried this simply for the cooking method and the word "Mc Donald's didn't hurt. I read the other reviews and figured the amount of salt would be too much for me, as I don't like super salty fries. It turned out wonderfully, this was the first time I had crispy fries from the oven. Thank you for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2010

      I could see where this does taste a little like McD's fries. I used alot less salt and added cayenne pepper to ours. I also left the skin on. Next time (definitely making again), I'll cook it a little bit longer since we like ours crunchier. Very good!! Made for I Recommend Zaar Tag Game 2010.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2007

      I'm going to give this a two part review because I think reactions to this will differ based on whether you are comparing them to other baked or deep fried versions. These really do mirror the famed spuds of McD's and if you are looking for a healthy rendition of that fry, you must make these and will be thrilled with the find. I know were I serving these to my teenage nephews they would give them 10 stars, no reservations. As someone who regularly eats baked fries, I actually found found these to be a little oily. Also managed to discover that I prefer a thicker cut of fries. Will certainly make these again, none the less.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 11, 2012

      Good fries. I cut mine a little thicker but followed the directions other than that. Easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Great recipe! My kid (who shuns homemade potato anything) loved them. Took a little longer than I expected though to get the crunch I wanted. Thank you so much! There was a little too much salt but that's just my personal taste (and we're low sodium here).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2011

      Very good fries! My DS's didn't think they tasted like McDonald's but they are 5 and 2 yrs so nothing is the same. I think they tasted similar; I decreased the amount of salt as well. Next time I will have to sharpen my knife really well first so I can get them even smaller, closer to fast food size (mine were a little wider). Made for I Recommend Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I had these in the toaster oven for 35 min but they just didn't get crispy still very good none the less. I will make again but this time in the oven. Made for I Recommend Red White & Blue Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2011

      Great tasting fries, even if they aren't deep fried! The only change I made in the recipe was to leave the potatoes unpeeled 'cause we enjoy that part of 'em! Just right in saltiness, crispness & satisfactioness! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed as a THANK YOU for playing with us in Please Review My Recipe during the recent tour]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2011

      Ive tried about all the other popular recipes for healthy french fries on food.com and these are by far the best. For me it works best on a more thinly cut french fry like that which McDonald's has and spread them out on a cookie sheet so that no fry overlaps another. I cook them a little longer in the oven than what the recipe states and I leave the skins on for the vitamin/mineral content they supposedly add, but that's the only thing I had to change. The salt content in these is perfect for my tastes but for someone that does not like salt as much myself I would recommend lowering the salt used by maybe a quarter or half. Boiling the fries in the salt water is what really makes this recipe shine. They cook crisp on the outside and soft in the middle, unlike most the other healthy fry recipes Ive found. Soooo yummy and as long as you are accounting for the calories, these are just fine for most of you dieters out there. I never feel full without some carbs and am trying to lose about 10 lbs of belly fat right now so these fit the bill perfectly because they actually fill me up so Im not snacking all night. Thank you so much for the great recipe MamaJ and Food.com!! Even if you are not dieting, try these!! I seriously think they are better than the fries at McDonald's which contain a whopping 19g of fat and 380 calories in a medium size order!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2010

      Super YUMMY! My 2 YO DD is a frech fry freak, so when she asked for them, and I didn't have any frozen ones, I turned to food.com for a quick recipe. Knowing I didn't want to deep fry, this one went to the top of the list. I'm SO GLAD I tried them! Perfect with just the right mix of crunch and tenderness. I ended up using vegetable oil intead of EVOO (I didn't have any one hand), but they still turned out fantastic. I will be making them again VERY soon (I still have a whole bag of potatoes!). Oh, and my 2 YO LOVED them too! No more McD's for us! THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 13, 2010

      I had to reduce that sodium count so I just used 1/2 teaspoon salt in the boiling water and none with the EVOO. They were perfectly salted for my taste. These were very satisfying for a fast-food "fix"! I will be making these again. Thanks for posting MamaJ. Made for Choose Your Event Party.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2009

      yum yum!! definately worth the work. i would use sweet potatoes next time to mix it up. great recipe. they taste deep fried even though they're baked - not dried out at all like some baked french fry recipes. I didn't measure 9 oz exactly and they still turned out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      Made this tonight with home-grilled burgers. Very, very good, but I had a little trouble getting them done. Turned the oven up to 450 for the last 5 minutes -- they probably cooked about 35 min. in the oven, total. Maybe just my oven's idiosyncrasy though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2009

      Our family loves these. When we are craving fast food I make some of these with some venison sloppy joes or turkey burgers and it hits the spot. Thanks for posting =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2009

      Awesome and easy....my fave things about recipes!!!! Tasted suspiciously similar to micky d's, and with so little fat!! I baked mine @ 400 degrees for 10 minutes, tossed em around on the pan, and then cooked em for 5 more minutes and they were lightly crispy but soft like micky d's!! Will totally make this again! Thanks 4 the healthy yummy recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      I used one large russet and got a really nice sized portion of fries from it... They did not crisp up as much as I thought they would and were a little on the oily side for us... They did, however, taste good, but nothing like Mc Donald's... to us. It didn't take me any more time than preparing "regular" baked fries, but I think we will stick with our thicker cut, skin on fries. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 29, 2008

      What a great new way of making french fries! They were YUMMY! I didn't think they were like McDonalds but still good. I love the idea of boiling them and than baking in oven. They did need longer than 25 minutes to turn lightly brown on edges. This will be a keeper for future times! Thanks for sharing the recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2008

      Saw these were made with EVOO and decided this was the best choice to have with my Fish-O-Filet sandwich for lunch. These were easy to make and we loved them along with our sandwich!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      Really good and easy. Took a little over 30 minutes for our fries but they were worth the wait. In spite of a nasty cut during the peeling process, I will make these again... just a little more carefully!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2008

      We liked these! They took me much longer to prepare than 5 minutes as peeling and cutting into 1/4 inch strips then making sure they are single layer on the baking sheet takes a while. I would cut down on the salt added with the oil too. thank you MamaJ, definitely a good recipe to play with.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Low Fat " Mc Donald's" French Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (227 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 203.7
     
    Calories from Fat 42
    20%
    Total Fat 4.6 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4082.4 mg
    170%
    Total Carbohydrate 37.2 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 4.6 g
    18%
    Sugars 1.6 g
    6%
    Protein 4.3 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes