27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I just made these because I was havinga craving for homemade fries and while my recipe is very good, I often find the center of my old recipe fries is not as soft as I'd like (my usual recipe does not boil the fries before cooking; quite the opposite, it calls for the fries to be soaked in cold water). So I tried this simply for the cooking method and the word "Mc Donald's didn't hurt. I read the other reviews and figured the amount of salt would be too much for me, as I don't like super salty fries. It turned out wonderfully, this was the first time I had crispy fries from the oven. Thank you for posting this recipe!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
samferg October 31, 2010

I could see where this does taste a little like McD's fries. I used alot less salt and added cayenne pepper to ours. I also left the skin on. Next time (definitely making again), I'll cook it a little bit longer since we like ours crunchier. Very good!! Made for I Recommend Zaar Tag Game 2010.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
nemokitty August 28, 2010

I'm going to give this a two part review because I think reactions to this will differ based on whether you are comparing them to other baked or deep fried versions. These really do mirror the famed spuds of McD's and if you are looking for a healthy rendition of that fry, you must make these and will be thrilled with the find. I know were I serving these to my teenage nephews they would give them 10 stars, no reservations. As someone who regularly eats baked fries, I actually found found these to be a little oily. Also managed to discover that I prefer a thicker cut of fries. Will certainly make these again, none the less.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
justcallmetoni October 21, 2007

Good fries. I cut mine a little thicker but followed the directions other than that. Easy and tasty. Thanks for sharing. Made for Cookbook Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lazyme December 11, 2012

Great recipe! My kid (who shuns homemade potato anything) loved them. Took a little longer than I expected though to get the crunch I wanted. Thank you so much! There was a little too much salt but that's just my personal taste (and we're low sodium here).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red Hook January 23, 2012

Very good fries! My DS's didn't think they tasted like McDonald's but they are 5 and 2 yrs so nothing is the same. I think they tasted similar; I decreased the amount of salt as well. Next time I will have to sharpen my knife really well first so I can get them even smaller, closer to fast food size (mine were a little wider). Made for I Recommend Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH August 12, 2011

I had these in the toaster oven for 35 min but they just didn't get crispy still very good none the less. I will make again but this time in the oven. Made for I Recommend Red White & Blue Tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Catnip46 July 18, 2011

Great tasting fries, even if they aren't deep fried! The only change I made in the recipe was to leave the potatoes unpeeled 'cause we enjoy that part of 'em! Just right in saltiness, crispness & satisfactioness! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed as a THANK YOU for playing with us in Please Review My Recipe during the recent tour]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike July 10, 2011

Ive tried about all the other popular recipes for healthy french fries on food.com and these are by far the best. For me it works best on a more thinly cut french fry like that which McDonald's has and spread them out on a cookie sheet so that no fry overlaps another. I cook them a little longer in the oven than what the recipe states and I leave the skins on for the vitamin/mineral content they supposedly add, but that's the only thing I had to change. The salt content in these is perfect for my tastes but for someone that does not like salt as much myself I would recommend lowering the salt used by maybe a quarter or half. Boiling the fries in the salt water is what really makes this recipe shine. They cook crisp on the outside and soft in the middle, unlike most the other healthy fry recipes Ive found. Soooo yummy and as long as you are accounting for the calories, these are just fine for most of you dieters out there. I never feel full without some carbs and am trying to lose about 10 lbs of belly fat right now so these fit the bill perfectly because they actually fill me up so Im not snacking all night. Thank you so much for the great recipe MamaJ and Food.com!! Even if you are not dieting, try these!! I seriously think they are better than the fries at McDonald's which contain a whopping 19g of fat and 380 calories in a medium size order!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chrisryanfox July 03, 2011

Super YUMMY! My 2 YO DD is a frech fry freak, so when she asked for them, and I didn't have any frozen ones, I turned to food.com for a quick recipe. Knowing I didn't want to deep fry, this one went to the top of the list. I'm SO GLAD I tried them! Perfect with just the right mix of crunch and tenderness. I ended up using vegetable oil intead of EVOO (I didn't have any one hand), but they still turned out fantastic. I will be making them again VERY soon (I still have a whole bag of potatoes!). Oh, and my 2 YO LOVED them too! No more McD's for us! THANK YOU!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli harris September 10, 2010
Low Fat " Mc Donald's" French Fries