Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Lima Bean Spread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lima Bean Spread

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on April 14, 2012

      Amazing. I omitted the peppers (due to food allergies) and my kids aren't fond of red onions, so I just let each person add their own. It was great in a roll-up with spinach, cucumbers, and fresh tomatoes. I used frozen limas, and I did have to add a little bit of water to make it spreadable.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2007

      I'm sorry, but this just didn't impress me. It tastes strongly of lemon, cayenne and garlic, all of which overpower the taste of the lima beans. I love lima beans so was disappointed not to be able to taste them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      I loved this spread, Jen. It is very thick but not so much that it wouldn't spread. I used fresh squeezed lemon juice. The flavors come together well and are very vibrant. Since I have a strange love for lima beans, I will be making this regularly. It is great for lunch or a quick snack. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2007

      Delicious. This is a wonderful snack or lunch paired with a whole grain pita and some veggies. I love that there is no oil at all. The lemon gave it a wonderful tang and the seasoning was full of all of my favorite flavors. This is another great one Ladypit, thanks for posting. Will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      I made this but not sure what to think - it is crumbly and dry instead of 'spread' type consistency - is it supposed to be like this? Followed recipe but pureed lemon juice w/ the beans by accident - did it make that much of a difference?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      good stuff. i like it in a whole wheat pita. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      I put it all in a bowl and used my stick blender. Ate this with fat free crackers -- hard to believe that this is a guilt-free nosh. —

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      I couldn't find any lima beans, so I used chick peas. I also put in quite a lot of garlic - and the result was absolutely lovely. Really tasty with bread, and much better than cheese spreads!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2005

      Just fabulous! As yogi said, very hummus-like and you really don’t miss the oil, so for me it means eating a scrumptious spread I love as often as I want to - without worrying in the slightest about the fat content! WHAT an indulgence! And SO easy to make! I doubled the garlic and omitted the cayenne pepper (personal taste preferences). Just loved the blend of the other flavours. I’ll be making this often, for healthy and really easy lunches and when preparing food for friends. I hope, ladypit, that you have tried this by now! If not, I’m confident that when you do you’ll love it! Thank you, so much for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2005

      I threw everything in the food processor...this could not be any easier! Great flavor, I really liked the kick from the cayenne! Thanks ladypit! Healthy for the Holidays!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      5 stars for great flavor! Reminds me of hummus, which I love. This is so easy to throw together, especially if you use the processor for the onion and garlic. I used frozen baby limas but will use larger beans next time because I think they would make a smoother spread. I happened to have dried parsley and fresh cilantro, so switched those. It is a very tasty, fresh spread and I don't miss the oil at all! It seems to get better and better the longer it chills in the frig.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lima Bean Spread

    Serving Size: 1 (113 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 73.5
     
    Calories from Fat 3
    65%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 235.7 mg
    9%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.3 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 3.5 g
    14%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 4.0 g
    8%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites