Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Lentils With Sweet Potatoes Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentils With Sweet Potatoes

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on November 01, 2010

      An easy and tasty recipe. I threw everything in the crockpot and reduced the water/veg broth to 2 cups. I used red lentils and did not add salt and pepper. Homemade, good quality curry is key. I served this over rice which was great, next time it will be with some naan. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      Great healthy food. I used chicken stock, and yellow lentils. Screams out to be wrapped in rotis, especially the leftovers cold for lunch the next day. This is tasty, hearty, cheap, filling, nutritious and easy. I didn't find the chopping difficult at all. Just get the lentils simmering while you chop the sweet potatoes so they don't go brownish waiting to go into the pot. As my family aren't big on actual PIECES of onion I sliced an onion in half and just removed it at the end. Thanks Becky #7 I'll use this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2011

      I made this for my husband and he enjoyed it. The last time I made it with ground beef and it was even better than the first. The first time I felt like something was missing and this last time is when I found the missing ingredient! It was a huge hit the second time with both my husband and my daughter!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2010

    • on October 11, 2010

      I made a half-recipe today. Very tasty but simple and healthy. Nice over rice with some yougart mixed in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2010

      This is excellent. Simple, yet tasty and healthy. I opted to use chicken stock. Most of the flavor rides on the quality of your curry powder, so use a good one. I used a hot variety and it was fantastic. I garnished with chopped cilantro.... Yum! I don't find the chopping to be a drawback at all. I've done much more chopping for other recipes.... this was quick to prepare! Thanx for posting this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2009

      I love lentils, and we are trying to switch to sweet potatoes (less blood sugary for D). This was straightforward to fix and comforting, and also not a problem for my cholesterol.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2009

      I enjoyed it so much at my mom's house that I made it for guests. They all enjoyed it - a double recipe worked well for 8 adults that like LOTS of filling food. I added a little bit more lentils and water because my bowl of sweet potatoes looked so huge - I wanted to have more lentils than potatoes in the finished dish. I think it really depends on the size of sweet potatoes you are using.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2009

      This was great! I added a couple of tablespoons of butter to the pot and stirred it in. It made it even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentils With Sweet Potatoes

    Serving Size: 1 (213 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 160.9
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    90%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 30.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.2 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 11.7 g
    46%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites