Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Lentil-Grain Burgers My Kids Will Eat! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lentil-Grain Burgers My Kids Will Eat!

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on January 19, 2004

      The taste was pretty good for a meatless burger (I substituted grilling spice for the cayenne because we don't like cayenne) but the texture is lacking. I think it needs a binder. I made it according to directions, but the first time I tried to make patties they just fell apart. I put the mix back in with more water to simmer for another 45 minutes, and it got stickier which was better. After another round of chilling, I tried to fry them up again, but even after making them stickier, they were still pretty crumbly and mushed out of the bun when we tried to take a bite of them. I'll definately eat the rest of the batch, but I probably won't make them again without coming up with some sort of binder that will make them a little more solid.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2004

      My fiance and I enjoyed these quite a bit. They're reminiscent of the "veggie medley"-flavored Gardenburgers, which we often eat--this was a much less expensive alternative! They were also very filling--one burger was enough for each of us. The burgers went great on a bun with spicy deli mustard. Also, we didn't really have any problem getting the mix to bind together (we cooked it for 50 minutes and let it chill for a couple of days), but we did add some plain bread crumbs in before cooking, just to be sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2004

      I did not have any problems getting the patties to stick together, except for when consuming them. That worked remarkably well. However, I think I will try these again and susbtitute vegatable or chicken stock for the water. The flavor was just a tiny bit to the bland side. DH did not go for it at all. He went out for Burger King. The kiddos scarfed them down. Extreemly filling and hunger satisfying.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2013

      I think this mixture made a pretty tasty burger type sandwich. It did fall apart while I was eating it, but not too bad if I held on tight. After reading some of the other reviews, I decided to amp up the seasoning. I added Penzy's Mitchell Street seasoning, some worcestershire sauce, and some poultry seasoning. I LOVED the slow heat from the cayenne! This recipe made a ton, lots more than I expected and since I will be the only one in our house eating it, I cooked it all up, froze in baggies to be used in sandwiches and wraps later. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2012

      These taste just like those frozen garden veggie burgers. I made these just as written, using yellow lentils. I had no trouble shaping them or cooking them, but they do fall apart when eaten because they are so soft. The smaller you make the patty, the better. Very pleased with the recipe. Thanx for sharing it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      I made these almost exactly like the recipe says except i added about a tablespoon of flaxseeds. I cooked the mix for the 50 minutes and there was still tons of water so i continued cooking it and finally stopped about 40 minutes later. I refrigerated overnight and til the next evening. I cooked them on a skillet for quite a while but they never became firm. The rest of my meal was finished so we finally just decided to eat them and maybe that was how they were supposed to be. The flavor was pretty good even my usually meat-eating husband liked the flavor, but the texture was horrible. It was like eating a rissoto put inside bread. So I thought maybe the oven would work better, dry them out maybe. And the next day I cooked the remaining four in the oven for a long long time. They just wouldn't get firm. I eventually forgot they were in there and they did get firm, just too firm! They were like rock solid. I did taste one and they probably would've been good if they were cooked maybe half an hour less. I don't know why these did not work for me? I did think maybe it was because i accidentally bought barley flour instead of just barley. Could that be it? Well, thanks for the recipe anyway, i had a burger just like this at a vegan restaurant that was amazing, so i know it can be good, i just messed up somewhere...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 17, 2007

      I used beef broth in place of half the water called for. I also added 2tsp Worcestershire and 1 1/2 tsp salt to mixture along with the spices, minus oregano and cayenne (personal preference). I just put my carrots and celery in food processor and made "mush" to hide from my kids. My mixture took almost 2 hours to cook down but it was the perfect texture when done. I had no problem cooking them after chilling and the taste was anything but bland. Everyone liked these, even picky one year old and they were oh so filling.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2007

      I didn't have a problem with the mixture forming into patties. I cooked it for 50+ minutes and refrigerated overnight. We found this mixture to be a little bland though. Maybe some Worchestshire sauce would zip it up a bit. I cooked the patties and served with a sloppy joe sauce. The burger's flavour seemed to get lost in the sloppy joe sauce. I'll try the rest of the mixture with light fixings.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      I have made these a few times, freezing them in patties and are quite good,despite not staying together right, but I made salmon patties recently and mixed a couple of the lentils burgers in with them and they turned out really good. Tonite I am experimenting with lentil sloppy joes..will let you know how they turn out.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2006

      This is the first recipe that included lentils that I actually liked. The only thing that disappointed me is that I couldn't get them to stay together. Next time I make them I will see about spiceing them up a tad and using some kind of binder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2005

      very good and healthy veggie burger. a little difficult to cook though. i may add an eggbeater next time to try to keep the patties from falling apart. thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2005

      These is a nice recipe, that makes a good vegetarian burger pattie. I used vegetable stock instead of water, which gave them a nive flavour. It was fairly easy to shape the patties after chilling the mixture for 36 hours, and they didn't really fall apart in the pan either. I served them with hummous, and salad in pitta breads and they were very filling. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2005

      I used all, but the carrots and celery and cut the recipe in half. I also had a bit of a problem keeping them together, but I didn't use any bread. I absolutely loved the taste and probably will stuff mushrooms or something with it. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lentil-Grain Burgers My Kids Will Eat!

    Serving Size: 1 (134 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 91.2
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    32%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 157.7 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 4.4 g
    17%
    Sugars 0.9 g
    3%
    Protein 3.8 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites