Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf

    Average Rating:

    24 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 24

    Sort by:

    • on June 19, 2003

      This was good -- mildly flavoured and very colourful. I didn't have green onions on hand, so substituted chopped onions sauteed in oil with the rice during step #2.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2003

      This was the perfect side dish for a mojo carillo marinated chicken dish, with the flavors complimenting perfectly. I loved how pretty the rice looked, light yellow from the turmeric and speckled with flecks of green from the onions and cilantro. I confess to being a cilantro junkie, so I added an extravagant handful instead of the judicial 1/4 cup. PanNan, we enjoyed your recipe very much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 20, 2011

      This was a nice change from regular rice, but the lemon was a bit overkill for us. Will try it again with less lemon. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2011

    • on April 16, 2011

      This was a very good rice dish. I added some lime peel to compliment the cilantro, and chopped almonds for a little extra crunch. I also used 2 cups of water for 1 cup of rice instead of 1.5 cups. The rice had a perfect texture, and probably would have been a little dry with only 1.5 cups. I also added 1 teaspoon of chicken bouillon for added flavor. This is a highly recommended dish that goes well with fish. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I don't think 1.5 cups of water is enough for 1 cup of rice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2010

      Interesting... but unremarkable. Flavors were a bit weird for us.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2010

      This was easy, delicious and decorative. In all fairness, I might have given a higher rating except I had to make a substitution. As I didn't have green onions on hand, I substituted Penzeys' Fox Point Seasoning (a blend of salt, shallots, chives, garlic, onion and green peppercorns - overall green color). The dish had the green speckles from the seasoning and the cilantro and maintained the delicate onion flavor. Next time I'll use the green onions and re-0rate the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2010

      Made it for a big crowd to go with lemon and thyme chicken and it was a big winner!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      I cut down the cilantro by half and it was perfect for us. I added more lemon too, as we love the lemon flavor. This was a most rewarding side dish with our grilled swordfish. We will have this again and again with other meat and fish choices, and I can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Fresh and citrusy, but only with some adjustments to the recipe. After the rice was finished cooking, I added quite a bit more fresh lemon juice to the pot to give it that extra punch that I was expecting from the recipe. I did really enjoy the turmeric combined with the lemon. I will make it again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2008

      Light and bright flavored, bursting with flavors. A welcome new flavorful side dish. Easy to make. Fills the room with citrusy aroma. Thank you for sharing this new favorite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2007

      My husband really liked this recipe. He said it tasted very "fresh". I was not a big fan, I thought it was very bland with very little flavor unless I got a bite with cilantro. I also paired it with a very intense flavored lemon fish recipe so that might have been why. Easy to prepare; if you're a rice fan I would recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2007

      This was so yummy!! Didn't add tumeric because we didn't have any. At the end, when adding the cilantro and green onions iI tossed in some roasted peanuts and a touch of soy sauce. Will be making this again! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      Fresh and light! Added rice to "Rooz Ma Lahem (Rice With Meat)" #83892 and it gave it a nice bright flavor and color! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2007

      I loved the tanginess of the lemon in the rice pilaf. I served it with some lemon pan fried tilapia and it was the perfect side dish. I did add 2 c of water to the 1 c of rice because that was the ratio I always use, but I should have just followed the recipe because my rice turned out just a tad on the wet side. Still delicious though. I will be keeping this in my collection and using it for a tasty side dish with lots of fish dishes. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2007

      I've made this several times already - it goes well with fish entrees as well as Mexican food. I don't use the turmeric so mine doesn't come out the bright yellow color as shown in Paula's photo. Delicious and fresh tasting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      Terrific recipe! I made this as a side dish to Chef V's Brandied chicken wings! What a dinner. I will make this again and again. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2006

      great recipe! I used basmati and dried cilantro ( that is what I had) and I loved it. Will be making it again often. I served with tilapia and squeezed more lemon juice on the fish and the rice, but that is a personal preference.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2006

      We really enjoyed this! Very colorfull!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      This dish is so beautiful. The bright yellow from the turmeric is offset by the vibrant green of the onions and cilantro. I do think that the lemon flavor was a little weak but I may not have added enough lemon rind. I do plan on making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf

    Serving Size: 1 (154 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 204.2
     
    Calories from Fat 33
    16%
    Total Fat 3.7 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 152.3 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 38.3 g
    12%
    Dietary Fiber 1.0 g
    4%
    Sugars 0.4 g
    1%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites