24 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was good -- mildly flavoured and very colourful. I didn't have green onions on hand, so substituted chopped onions sauteed in oil with the rice during step #2.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy k. June 19, 2003

This was the perfect side dish for a mojo carillo marinated chicken dish, with the flavors complimenting perfectly. I loved how pretty the rice looked, light yellow from the turmeric and speckled with flecks of green from the onions and cilantro. I confess to being a cilantro junkie, so I added an extravagant handful instead of the judicial 1/4 cup. PanNan, we enjoyed your recipe very much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Geema May 19, 2003

This was a nice change from regular rice, but the lemon was a bit overkill for us. Will try it again with less lemon. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
donnaarch July 20, 2011

This was a very good rice dish. I added some lime peel to compliment the cilantro, and chopped almonds for a little extra crunch. I also used 2 cups of water for 1 cup of rice instead of 1.5 cups. The rice had a perfect texture, and probably would have been a little dry with only 1.5 cups. I also added 1 teaspoon of chicken bouillon for added flavor. This is a highly recommended dish that goes well with fish. I gave 4 stars instead of 5 because I don't think 1.5 cups of water is enough for 1 cup of rice.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dan Z April 16, 2011

Interesting... but unremarkable. Flavors were a bit weird for us.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SAHS March 08, 2010

This was easy, delicious and decorative. In all fairness, I might have given a higher rating except I had to make a substitution. As I didn't have green onions on hand, I substituted Penzeys' Fox Point Seasoning (a blend of salt, shallots, chives, garlic, onion and green peppercorns - overall green color). The dish had the green speckles from the seasoning and the cilantro and maintained the delicate onion flavor. Next time I'll use the green onions and re-0rate the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Casalingo March 02, 2010

Made it for a big crowd to go with lemon and thyme chicken and it was a big winner!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Moni1624 January 01, 2010

I cut down the cilantro by half and it was perfect for us. I added more lemon too, as we love the lemon flavor. This was a most rewarding side dish with our grilled swordfish. We will have this again and again with other meat and fish choices, and I can't wait!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay November 29, 2008

Fresh and citrusy, but only with some adjustments to the recipe. After the rice was finished cooking, I added quite a bit more fresh lemon juice to the pot to give it that extra punch that I was expecting from the recipe. I did really enjoy the turmeric combined with the lemon. I will make it again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jessica and Moustafa August 23, 2008
Lemon Cilantro Rice Pilaf