Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Lebanese Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Lebanese Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on March 17, 2011

      Prepare yourself... this soup is amazing. I also add carrots and tomato (both diced) to up the veggie content. Carrots go in with the potatoes and tomatoes go in at the very end (I throw them in about 5 min before serving... Plus I save a bit of fresh cilantro to throw in at the very end as well so it is green and fresh).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 14, 2003

      I sauted the onions for a long time until they are pretty much carmelized, and I do not use as much lemon juice as the recipe calls for, but I love this soup! I can't think of anything so healthy that tastes so good! I am a beginner, and this is my favorite. Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2003

      I really enjoyed this soup. You must really love cilantro to like this! I loved the mix of flavors with the lentils, spincah, and potatoes. Lots of garlic, lots of cilantro. Thanks Miss Annie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2014

      We have a Lebanese restaurant in town and we love their lentil soup. I looked for a recipe and found this. I think this soup may be better than what we get at the restaurant. The layers of flavor in this soup are fabulous. I did make a couple of additions. I added salt and pepper to the onions while they were cooking. I added a bit of lemon zest to the cilantro paste (I hate to waste good lemon zest) and I also added carrots along with the potatoes. I also used a combination of chicken stock and water for cooking the lentils and added a bay leaf. I can't believe how filling this soup is. It is delicious and the leftovers will be even better tomorrow night. Can't wait!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2014

      I thought that this was awesome. I was told that if I didn't use the cinnamon then other folks would like it and that's more my own personal reminder.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2012

      Perfect soup, Am I in heaven? This is one of the top 3 soups I've ever made. I wonder if you need to be a cilantro lover...and if you are - you can't pass this one up! I added carrots and didn't have a lemon on hand. I added a little rice wine vinegar to compensate. Will definitely buy a lemon for this soup next time. Thanks so much for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      A really good soup and very close to what I had growing up in a middle eastern home. The cinnamon does give it that exotic taste. Added shredded carrots and celery, bay leaves, and used 8 cups chicken stock and 4 cups of water. 1 large potato. Cilantro a little strong. Might use parsley next time, instead. Basically the paste is a pistou, I think? And a wonderful idea to use in these types of hearty soups.

      Still have a huge pot in the fridge and I'm going to break it down into smaller portions and freeze.

      May add a broiled italian sausage for me later on, but definitely something to have on hand when a vegetarian night is in order. Thank you, Miss Annie - this is truly comforting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      This was a very good soup. The cinnamon really adds depth of flavor. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      Just couldnt get this one to taste right, it was missing 'substance'; tried adding 3 chx bullion cubes, doubled cilantro, added black pepper, and lots more salt... maybe a bit of diced tomato would do the trick? Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2008

      YUM! This soup is excellent! I always crave soups in the fall, and this definitely didn't disappoint. I used some chicken broth with the water, and added some crumbled bacon on top (both needed to be used up). I also added a little cayenne pepper to give it a kick. Thanks again Miss Annie - your recipes are always wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2008

      Easy to make and great flavor. The leftovers were also quite good. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2008

      Mmm, Mmm, good! The lebanese flavors are so appealing. I used 1/2 water and 1/2 chicken stock. Thank you for posting this terrific recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2008

      I am sorry but my daughter did not like this lentil soup recipe and she's the reason I make lentil soup. She loves bean soups, especially lentil. But I think the lentils in this soup was all creamy and she likes the lentils distinguishable from the rest. I thought the flavors was good. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      This was delicious. I was unsure of using cinnamon but decided to go ahead and follow the recipe as posted. It was unlike any other soup I'd ever had but I really liked the mix of flavors. I will definately make this again. Next time I will double it up and freeze single servings of it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2008

      I make this soup once every 2 months. I worked in a Lebanese restaurant and it was almost identical to it! I do add chopped carrots with the potatoes and I also add a vegetable boullion and don't add salt. The cinnamon is the best, although it seems strange, it gives it the flavor! EVERYONE loves it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2008

      This was the first time I made it and it came out amazing!! Thank you!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2007

      This is an excellent soup. I halved it and added about 4 cups extra water (you really need it because it boils out really quickly while cooking). This is probably one of the tastiest and healthiest soups I've ever eaten. And it tastes so fresh.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 22, 2007

      Wow Wow Wow! This was fantastic. Admittedly we are a huge fans of cilantro and love Lebanese food. My Lebanese love and his cousin both gave it a thumbs up and said this is the way that Lentil Soup is supposed to taste. We followed the directions exactly except for, using a little less olive oil, exchanging vegetable broth for 2/3 of the water, and used fresh spinach instead of frozen. We also had some fresh-from-the- farmer's-market-this-morning organic potatoes and onions that contributed to the wholesome goodness of this soup. We used a mixture of black lentils, yellow split peas and orange lentils (it looked like a halloween treat before we started cooking them). My best friend who helped me make it was thrilled that there was enough for her to take some home with her. We will definitely be making this again. Thanks for a wonderful and unique recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 30, 2007

      We just use kale instead of cilantro or spinach, and blend it into a paste with the garlic. It's yummy with yogurt!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2007

      This is the most wonderful soup! I actually made it this past winter, and I couldn't eat it all by myself, so I froze half of it and forgot about it. I found it in my freezer the other day, and it is still AMAZING...I looove the cinnamon and lemon juice in it. I'm going to make it again soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Lebanese Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (451 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 144.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    73%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 774.7 mg
    32%
    Total Carbohydrate 28.6 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.9 g
    31%
    Sugars 3.6 g
    14%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes