Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Kushi-dango (skewered Sweet Dumplings) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kushi-dango (skewered Sweet Dumplings)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on May 29, 2011

      i give 4 stars for this recipe but only because the recipe needs some quirking. Most need more flour to get the dough to be the correct consistancy, i added about 1/3 cup more flour. I used mochiko glutenous rice flour...the sauce was perfect but there was excess sauce remaining. i got about 16 dumplings from this recipe but i could have gotten more had i known they expand during steaming i would have made them smaller. It would be helpful if the recipe stated how to steam these for people who are steaming ignorant such as myself but i figured it out:-) and i had to steam mine for about 17 minutes to get them to be just right...i also cooled mine immeadiatly under very cold water...anwyays my final product was yummy kushi dango dumpling goodness...the japanese equivalent of a caramel apple :-) i grew up in japan until i was 18 and this recipe turned out just like the dango dumplings i remember eating at street festivals such as Nebuta,cherry blossom and tanabata! they really hit on point to home! bomb diggity is my final rating!!! must taste these~!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      After reading the other reviews I decided to double the flour & use 1 cup of water. This seemed to work just fine. I got about 36 dumplings out of the mixture. I used the listed amounts for the sauce & it was plenty. My son brought the final product to his Japanese class.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2013

      The amount of water was a little bit over with me too (didn't use it all), but the dumplings were still pretty awesome! I'll try to add some coconut instead of that much flour, so it gets a little lighter next time. Considering also some fruit for the sauce - lychee may work fine with the soy sauce taste. Easy recipe with great result, thank you BirdyBaker!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 20, 2010

      As nasseh advised I too added more flour. The dango were easy to mold but came out really sticky after steaming. I got 5 skewers of dango 3 each. Personally since I've never tasted dango I thought they would of been more chewy like jelly, but overall it tasted good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2009

      I only made the sauce part and used it on pre-made Korean race cakes for a quicker version. For such a simple recipe, this sauce is great and tastes authentic. My husband likes them too, and requested that I pack these in his lunch! I used to eat kushi dango all the time in high school and this is the first time I've tried a home version. Thanks for this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2008

      I forgot how much I love these! They worked out great - I used Mochicko brand Rice Flour (glutenous).... reminded me of the food you get at the local Asian Night market.... yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2008

      For flavor, I would have rated these higher as these tasted quite yummy, especially the sauce. However, following the directions and the measurements currently given, I had the same difficulty with the dough as other reviewers, even though I did use the correct glutinous rice flour. There was no way at all to knead or form the batter into dumpling balls, so I started adding a bit extra flour, 1/4 cupful at a time, until it was thick enough to knead and shape properly, which today was an extra 3/4 cup flour total. The sauce was delicious, although made much more than was actually needed for just 4 skewers. I would halve the amount of the sauce next time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      I just finished making these and I think they turned out well for a first timer. I had to try them after watching, 'The sea is Watching' there is a scene where the 'ladies' are given a gift of sweet dumplings form a client. Anyway, if you add the water a little at a time and stir as you go, you can gauge the amount and stop before it gets to runny. I used gluten free rice and they turned out great texture wise. Mine weren't as pretty as the picture posted, but that may be because of the type of rice used. I would try again using glutenous rice just to see how much of a difference it makes. This is an easy to follow recipe and great for a beginner dumpling maker like me!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2007

      I followed the recipe... mostly. I used gluten free rice flour. The batter for the dumplings came out rather watery, so I added about 1/4 cup more flour, I also added 1/4 cup sugar to the dumpling batter. I also had to lengthen the steam time. I did mine for 15 minutes instead of 10. I do have to say the sauce was delicious! Though it made more than I needed for the dumplings. Next time I'll either double the dumpling mix or half the sauce. Overall it was very tasty, and I enjoyed it a lot! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2007

      I followed the recipe, but, and I'm not sure if it's just my personal preferance, I really didn't enjoy the texture all the way through. Interesting at first, sickinating later... My one and only suggestion would be to DETAIL the recipe. (ie) -- what should the texture be like after you steam them; how sticky should it really be; How long should the sauce cook for (it tastes really really good btw) If you modify this recipe to be an exact repilca of your actions (give or take) as you make the Dango, I'd be more than willing to re-try out this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2007

      I don't know if I made these wrong or what, but I definately did not like them. Watch the amount of water of water that you pour in in the beginning. I had to add much less that what the recipe called for. My westernized taste buds needed some sweeter tastes for me.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      this is soooooooooo awesome I was working with my friend at a japanese restront and this was a great thing that i made a lot of money off!!!!!!!!! So thank you for the great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2006

    • on July 24, 2006

      Unfortunately this really didn't work for me! I used the correct amounts of water and rice flour but ended up with a batter rather than a dough. I ended up using all of my rice flour (and I can only get it mail order so that made me grunmpy) AND some wheat flour to make a dough. I steamed the dumpling but they just didn't taste right (probably the wheat flour) also I seemed to have a huge amount of sauce for the number of servings over half of it was thrown away - I hate waste. I don't think i would try this again (mainly because I want to save my rice flour) which is a shame as i was really looking forward to them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 01, 2005

      Turned out very well for my first try at making this type of thing. The only adjustment I had to make was using a bit more water with the potato starch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2005

      These turned out perfectly!! I followed the recipe to a T, and will definitely be making these again. Thanks, birdiebaker, you have a new fan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2005

      I tried to make these because they reminded me of a similar sweet we have in Malaysia, but the first time I tried this recipe last night it was a disaster, since the recipe called for 'rice flour' when it was supposed to be 'glutinous rice flour' I also think that the amount of water placed in the dumplings should be lessened quite a bit, Otherwise, after I tried it with the glutinous flour it came out quite ok, and then I made the sauce which is similar to what we use in malaysia too, except that we omit the soy sauce and just use the brown palm sugar, but they were yummy! I liked the sauce too....I felt like Nobita in the Doraemon cartoon whilst eating these, lol!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kushi-dango (skewered Sweet Dumplings)

    Serving Size: 1 (172 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 260.1
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    68%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 507.8 mg
    21%
    Total Carbohydrate 60.2 g
    20%
    Dietary Fiber 1.2 g
    4%
    Sugars 25.2 g
    101%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes