17 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

i give 4 stars for this recipe but only because the recipe needs some quirking. Most need more flour to get the dough to be the correct consistancy, i added about 1/3 cup more flour. I used mochiko glutenous rice flour...the sauce was perfect but there was excess sauce remaining. i got about 16 dumplings from this recipe but i could have gotten more had i known they expand during steaming i would have made them smaller. It would be helpful if the recipe stated how to steam these for people who are steaming ignorant such as myself but i figured it out:-) and i had to steam mine for about 17 minutes to get them to be just right...i also cooled mine immeadiatly under very cold water...anwyays my final product was yummy kushi dango dumpling goodness...the japanese equivalent of a caramel apple :-) i grew up in japan until i was 18 and this recipe turned out just like the dango dumplings i remember eating at street festivals such as Nebuta,cherry blossom and tanabata! they really hit on point to home! bomb diggity is my final rating!!! must taste these~!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mrscookinqueen May 29, 2011

After reading the other reviews I decided to double the flour & use 1 cup of water. This seemed to work just fine. I got about 36 dumplings out of the mixture. I used the listed amounts for the sauce & it was plenty. My son brought the final product to his Japanese class.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nasseh May 25, 2010

The amount of water was a little bit over with me too (didn't use it all), but the dumplings were still pretty awesome! I'll try to add some coconut instead of that much flour, so it gets a little lighter next time. Considering also some fruit for the sauce - lychee may work fine with the soy sauce taste. Easy recipe with great result, thank you BirdyBaker!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
po-par February 15, 2013

As nasseh advised I too added more flour. The dango were easy to mold but came out really sticky after steaming. I got 5 skewers of dango 3 each. Personally since I've never tasted dango I thought they would of been more chewy like jelly, but overall it tasted good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
baka3rabbit November 20, 2010

I only made the sauce part and used it on pre-made Korean race cakes for a quicker version. For such a simple recipe, this sauce is great and tastes authentic. My husband likes them too, and requested that I pack these in his lunch! I used to eat kushi dango all the time in high school and this is the first time I've tried a home version. Thanks for this!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jknels9 January 17, 2009

I forgot how much I love these! They worked out great - I used Mochicko brand Rice Flour (glutenous).... reminded me of the food you get at the local Asian Night market.... yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
12345678980123455677889 April 23, 2008

For flavor, I would have rated these higher as these tasted quite yummy, especially the sauce. However, following the directions and the measurements currently given, I had the same difficulty with the dough as other reviewers, even though I did use the correct glutinous rice flour. There was no way at all to knead or form the batter into dumpling balls, so I started adding a bit extra flour, 1/4 cupful at a time, until it was thick enough to knead and shape properly, which today was an extra 3/4 cup flour total. The sauce was delicious, although made much more than was actually needed for just 4 skewers. I would halve the amount of the sauce next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HeatherFeather February 05, 2008

I just finished making these and I think they turned out well for a first timer. I had to try them after watching, 'The sea is Watching' there is a scene where the 'ladies' are given a gift of sweet dumplings form a client. Anyway, if you add the water a little at a time and stir as you go, you can gauge the amount and stop before it gets to runny. I used gluten free rice and they turned out great texture wise. Mine weren't as pretty as the picture posted, but that may be because of the type of rice used. I would try again using glutenous rice just to see how much of a difference it makes. This is an easy to follow recipe and great for a beginner dumpling maker like me!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dancingteacup January 14, 2008

I followed the recipe... mostly. I used gluten free rice flour. The batter for the dumplings came out rather watery, so I added about 1/4 cup more flour, I also added 1/4 cup sugar to the dumpling batter. I also had to lengthen the steam time. I did mine for 15 minutes instead of 10. I do have to say the sauce was delicious! Though it made more than I needed for the dumplings. Next time I'll either double the dumpling mix or half the sauce. Overall it was very tasty, and I enjoyed it a lot! Thank you for sharing the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Suisho-chan October 20, 2007

I followed the recipe, but, and I'm not sure if it's just my personal preferance, I really didn't enjoy the texture all the way through. Interesting at first, sickinating later... My one and only suggestion would be to DETAIL the recipe. (ie) -- what should the texture be like after you steam them; how sticky should it really be; How long should the sauce cook for (it tastes really really good btw) If you modify this recipe to be an exact repilca of your actions (give or take) as you make the Dango, I'd be more than willing to re-try out this recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShisoOuzo September 03, 2007
Kushi-dango (skewered Sweet Dumplings)