Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Korean Spiced Kidney Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Korean Spiced Kidney Beans

    Average Rating:

    52 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 52

    Sort by:

    • on October 03, 2003

      This was so delicious and so easy to make! I have never eaten kidney beans and this was a great introduction to them! I usually don't like ginger but in this case it blended very well and didn't overpower the dish. Thanks for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      Yum! I would have never thought to combine these ingredients and that they would taste so good. I'm never having plain old kidney beans again! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2003

      This is so fast, easy, and best of all delicious! Love the Asian flavors of the soy sauce and ginger mixed with all the other flavors, and no oil or butter... YEAY!! I just tweeked the recipe a bit to suit my tastes by adding a minced hot chili pepper and using only 2 T of sugar. I ate this without the rice, but there is a nice amount of sauce for serving with rice. Well, now that I've written this I have a craving for it again! I'll be making this often :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      I loved this! The only addition I made was the add in some red pepper flakes for some extra heat. A great change up on my beans and rice routine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      Quick, easy, and delicious! I was looking for a way to spice up a regular ol' can of beans at the last minute and this seemed very simple. I didn't have fresh ginger, so I used about 1/8 tsp of ground ginger, and it was still very good. I also turned out to be out of cornstarch, so the sauce was not thickened any more than simply boiling it accomplished. Of course, that didn't affect the taste. I served it as a side all onto itself, without rice, and I really enjoyed the combination of a little sweetness from the sugar and ketchup and a little spice from the ginger. Will definitely make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2003

      I used only 1 Tbs soy sauce and used 2 Tbs chili sauce instead of ketchup. Really good over rice cooked in orange juice!! I used the leftovers in tortilla the next day. Very economical and good!! Thanks Cornelia.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2014

      Oh my goodness, de-LISH! I reduced the soy sauce and brown sugar to 2 tablespoons each and felt it was a nice balance of sweet and salty. But who really cares about that when we have this amazing flavor called ginger to talk about!! I upped the ginger to 1 1/2 teaspoons, and ugh, sooo good! If you're a ginger lover, like myself, I highly recommend increasing the amount to at least 1 tsp. I served it over fried rice (inspired by the photo) with cashews on the side and it was such a fabulous vegetarian meal!! I think I'll double the sauce ingredients next time as I like a lot of sauce to coat my rice. Thank you so much for sharing!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2013

      These are really good. They are very simple and easy and inexpensive but has a really nice sweet but complex flavor. Liked them a lot. thanks for the recipe Fluffy...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2013

      This was good-- but VERY sweet. A bit too much for my taste!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2013

      This was SO GOOD!!! I made this dish and couldn't stop eating it. I can't wait for left overs for lunch tomorrow. I served it with vegetable fried rice and it was great. Thanks for the recipe Fluffy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2012

      Great flavor for such a fast and easy dish. My kids loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

      Really enjoyed this bean dish! Thought I still had fresh ginger, but no, so used powdered. that was my only change. I did adjust the amt. of seasonings for me. Next time I will try a touch of cumin in it, and after that, who knows....that's whaat so good about this type of recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      Very tasty...I followed the recipe with the exception of only having a 16oz can of beans

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      Very good! Will make again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2010

      Very good. I also subbed ground ginger for fresh, and used a 15 oz. can of beans. Served over whole wheat cous cous. Reheated the next day it was a bit gloopy but still tasted great.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      We really loved this. My 3 year old gobbled it up. I didn't have time for rice, and the beans whipped up so fast, I just served w/whole wheat pita bread. I also used 3 c of already cooked kidney beans w/o altering other things, it was perfect. Thanks for the yummy bean recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      I just made this tonight and had to rate it right away! DH & I both loved this meal so much. It's like guilt- free takeout! I can't believe how fast it was to make, too. I served over rice made with a tsp. of vegetable boullion and scallions and it made a nice combination. Thanks so much for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2009

      Fast and easy as others have said, and quite a nice flavour to them. I think they need serving with something other than plain rice as the flavour is a bit same-y after a while, but a good find :) Was slightly surprised to see TOMATO in a Korean recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      These were fantastic served over rice - such a nice change from "the usual"! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe, Fluffy!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2013

      Delicious! My 8 yr old & 2 yr old LOVED these too. I used reduced sodium soy sauce & used ground ginger; reduced brown sugar by 1/2, based on other reviewers indicating they were too sweet. Really nice, different side dish. Served with Korean Roast Chicken Thighs (wonderful) & Ramen Noodle Egg Foo Yung & steamed broccoli. I actually didn't need all the water/cornstarch mixture called for, if I would've used it, I would've had a thick pasty bowl of beans. Thanks for sharing, we'll be making these again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Korean Spiced Kidney Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (200 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 3

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.4
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    41%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1598.6 mg
    66%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.5 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 9.7 g
    39%
    Sugars 18.1 g
    72%
    Protein 11.5 g
    23%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes