Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Kittencal's Do-Ahead Garlic Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kittencal's Do-Ahead Garlic

    Average Rating:

    25 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 25

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2010

      This is an awesome recipe that allows me to keep minced garlic on hand without the chemicals they add to the ones at the store. I don't have any ice cube trays, so I split the minced garlic into 2 small tupperware containers. One is in the freezer for when I finish the one in the fridge. I use garlic alot so this is a lifesaver! Thanks for another great recipe *** Edited to note- from what I have read, do not store garlic in oil at room temperature. Kittencal's recipe is great as written, but for anyone who had the idea to store in the fridge like I did, I want to warn you of the dangers. Botulism can occur when garlic and oil are combined and kept at room temperature (also warnings are given about storing in the fridge). So, please freeze immediately and please research for yourselves! ***

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2004

      I put enough in the bottom of several freezer bags to make them semi fat cigars when rolled. I am able to break off a chunk as I need it. Great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

      Kittencal, I love you. Please marry me?

      ;) Seriously, though, your recipes are always the BEST. Anytime I search for a new recipe I look to see if there's one from you first.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      This recipe was a life saver! I had bought 6 heads of garlic because it was marked down and then when I got it home I didn't know how to store it til I could use it all up! Thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2009

      How have I not thought to do this before - I'll never know! This is the best idea, it's SO handy! FH laughed at me when I first suggested it, I bought 8 heads of garlic, and started mincing. Took a long time, but it was well worth the effort! I have a mini ice cube try, makes a perfect tablespoon. FH uses them all the time - he thinks it's so handy! He used to skip on the garlic sometimes because he didn't like mincing it himself. I'm already half through my first bag of garlic, when I pick up groceries this week, I'll probably do another batch up. Thank you, again! You're definitely are a Kitchen Guru! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Love all of your great recipes and ideas Kittencal :) I Gave this a try and it worked very well, it's a great idea especially for those who do alot of cooking. you do need to have an ice tray just for this, I think the mini ones would work really nice, if you can find one which of course i couldn't :) I Like the 'rolls' idea mentioned too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2008

      So easy and economical to boot. So why have I been buying the minced garlic in those expensive little bottles?????? Well....sometimes my brain just isn't working up to speed. :) Thanks Kitten. I can always trust you to give me a good recipe. I used Riffraff's suggestion and froze 'cigars'. Clever idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      Such a good idea! Why hadn't I thought of this before? I thought I was saving time by always having pealed garlic in the fridge. But to have it already chopped is wonderful. The only bad part is my dh said it made the whole house smell - smell yummy I say! Thank you very much for sharing this helpful tip.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      I have learned something new! I usually freeze chopped onion, all colors of peppers and now garlic. I tried something different this time, I minced the fresh garlic and chopped onion, added oil, then filled little cubes and froze. I will use in ground meats and soups and stews I think. Thanks. Every day is an education!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 24, 2008

      Wonderful idea. It'll be a real time saver to always have chopped garlic on hand.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2007

      this is a great idea. my grandmother used to do this with garlic, even ginger and onions - this way you always have fresh garlic on hand. thanks kittencal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 23, 2007

      what a clever idea! If the supermarket ever runs out of the ready made jarred version, I'll definitely use this method! But I think I'll use metal icecube trays because plactic would absorb the garlic flavor...Thanks for posting this Tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2007

      Cool ( no pun intended ) Idea! We have done this with peppers and onions for over 30 years, but never thought about the garlic, DUH! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2007

      Worked really well! I was making Drunken Garlic Crock Pot Roast and had extra garlic chopped, so measured out 1 tsp portions, then added olive oil, in the sections of an ice cube tray. It does freeze solid, making little garlic cubes that are very handy for sauteeing. Have been suprised how handy this is to keep in the freezer along with my chopped onions and green peppers. I'd never thought to do garlic, too!! Thanks for sharing the tip!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2007

      I thought this would be a great idea ... until I tried it. I spread my minced, oil covered garlic on a plastic wrap 11X17-inch tray and then froze it. After freezing I scraped it all off and put it in a plastic covered container and popped back into the freezer. WEll.. today was the day! Time to try my Do-Ahead garlic. I used it on oven roasted fresh broccoli spears and it just didn't taste like fresh garlic. It surely wasn't as strong as fresh garlic and it had a tiny bit of 'off' flavor. I'd say more like a little bitter. I tasted the garlic by itself to see if it was just me... but no.. it wasn't as good as fresh garlic at all. I guess you could use it in a pinch if need be. But I don't think I will. I'll continue to buy a couple of fresh heads each week and use them as needed.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2006

      This was so easy and sure beats chopping two garlic cloves at a time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 23, 2006

      Thanks Kitten for a wonderful idea! Now I won't have to throw away garlic because I didn't use all it! I now have plenty on hand and don't have to run to the grocery store! They froze so well and popped right out of the ice trays! I put the cubes in freezer bags and now it is so convienent to grab a cube and use!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2006

      Thank you, thank you, thank you. I am so over mincing garlic for every recipe - this is the tip of the year - and did I mention - thank you!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2006

      This is a FABULOUS idea!!!! THANK YOU!!! I get really tired of chopping garlic especially since I have weak hands. Now I never have to chop garlic ever again. Putting them in the freezer ziploc bag and shaping like a cigar is a great idea. HANDY!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2006

      What a fantastic idea! I will try this soon!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kittencal's Do-Ahead Garlic

    Serving Size: 1 (120 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 357.6
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    20%
    Total Fat 1.2 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 40.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 79.3 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 5.0 g
    20%
    Sugars 2.4 g
    9%
    Protein 15.2 g
    30%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes