Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Kimchee Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kimchee

    Average Rating:

    11 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-11 of 11

    Sort by:

    • on May 04, 2010

      Sue, I loved the recipe. I did take some artistice license. Instead of Red Pepper I used 2 tbsp Siracha, 1/4 c. Vietnamese Chili, paste and 4 oz. Sweet chili sauce w/ garlic. I also added a couple tbs of fish sauce...Dang...That is goood.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2005

      My mother is Korean and this is how I remember her making Kim Chee when I was growing up. A word of advice for those new to kim chee. If you don't like sour food, eat the kim chee in the first few weeks. The sooner you eat it, the less sour it will be. Kim chee will continue to ferment even though it is refrigerated. If you like it more sour. Leave it on the counter for a few days (do this when the weather is nice and you can keep window open so you don't offend other members of the family or guests). If you double the recipe, one batch can go straight into the fridge and the other on the counter. By the time you finish the "counter" batch, the batch in the fridge will have soured a bit.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2010

      I made this before leaving on vacation and came home to the most delicious kimchee imaginable. Believe it or not, I added purple cabbage and regular green cabbage along with fresh serrano peppers and it was fabulous. I will make this again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2009

      I LOVE kim-chee and this recipe is EXCELLENT!!!! I made it and its very easy and absolutely DELICIOUS!!! THANK YOU SOOOO MUCH for this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2009

      super easy with great results !!! i will never buy again thanks sue

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2007

      Delicious! And super easy to make as well- you can't beat that. Thanks for posting, will make again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2007

      Yummy! And super easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2007

      I've made Kim Chee before and regularly make sauerkraut so i was intrigued by the one day turn around with no fermentation. It lacks the active enzymes of a fermented dish, but the convenience is worth it! It was delicious. I did add about 1 Tablespoon of light agave to get that sweet and sour flavor. Yum. I'll make this every time i find great organic Napa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 27, 2006

      I tried this with ordinary green cabbage and didn't care for the tough results at all. Both of us have had kim chee we liked but I'm afraid this isn't it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2006

      I had a quarter of a cabbage in the fridge so I decided to try this recipe. Just plain old green cabbage. I figured the cabbage I had was less than two pounds so I adjusted some ingredients. I used the same amount of salt but cut the soy sauce to one tablespoon. Instead of red chile flakes I used one teaspoon of 160K cayenne (very hot stuff). When squeezing the cabbage dry I used paper towels in my hands to draw out the moisture. Otherwise, the recipe was the same. This was easy to make and I loved the result. Unlike traditional kim chee, the cabbage retains some crispiness and what you have after 24 hours is like some far out version of cole slaw. Add slivered carrots to dress it up. This is excellent served with barbequed pork or beef. And plenty of beer. I also like to eat it with just a bowl of steamed rice for a simple and earthy Korean meal. This recipe is now a permanent part of my household.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2006

      Wow! This stuff is fantastic!! Very easy to make, and deliciously sour and spicy and a little crunchy. Perfect side dish or even as a snack all on its own. I used a little less than a tablespoon of red pepper and it was just spicy enough for me. This one's going to be a regular for me. Thanks a bunch, Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kimchee

    Serving Size: 1 (157 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 41.1
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    12%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 1909.7 mg
    79%
    Total Carbohydrate 6.9 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 1.7 g
    6%
    Sugars 3.2 g
    13%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites