9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Totally delicious. I used three ripe truss tomatoes, 1/2 of a large red onion and a heaped tablespoon of chives that needed to be used up. I wondered if the lime might be too strong so added 1 teaspoon of olive oil, but really could have done with out it. Made and thoroughly enjoyed for an African Tag Game. Thanks very much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy October 16, 2013

Mmmm, this was delicious! So easy yet very tasty. The only thing I changed was to use less onion (otherwise it would have been too much for my taste) and swap the lime juice with apple cider vinegar because I cant have citrus.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, magpie! I will certainly make this again!
Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #51 October 2012.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula October 25, 2012

Heirloom tomatoes and this salad were designed for each other! This salad makes a great guilt free side for any meal. I made using green zebra, brandywine and black kim tomatoes, did cut the onion back as I used a sweet onion that was larger than a grapefruit. This recipe begs for the freshest and best ingredients you can get. Thanks for the post.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Debbwl September 03, 2012

Oh talk about delish! I wish, oh how I wish for my garden to be popping with sweet tomatoes, but alas, it's not even late spring yet....nevertheless, I used grape tomatoes, some split in half, others quartered, and some left whole to give the salad a whole bunch of different tastes both in size and when you pop a whole grape tomato in your mouth. I followed this exactly, except for the above mentioned tomato, and it was divine! Made for Veggie Swap April 2012

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andi of Longmeadow Farm April 08, 2012

Refreshing and delicious, and very quick to make. This will be definitely a go-to, especially when there are excess ripe tomatoes. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 44

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Starrynews March 07, 2012

This is tasty but does depend on the quality of tomatoes used. I made it with pretty good cocktail tomatoes, vindalia onion, per preference, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Veggie Swap 38 ~ September ~

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat September 21, 2011

Delicious combination of flavours! I especially loved the lime juice dressing. Thank you for sharing. I'll be making this often. Made for Veggie Swap 37.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario August 07, 2011

quick and easy, and a lovely refreshing summer side. Made for photo tag.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BakinBaby July 05, 2011

Really enjoyed this super easy and delish tomato salad with hamburgers and hotdogs! So easy it will be on the table a lot this summer! Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ July 02, 2011
Kenyan Tomato Salad - Quick & Simple Side