Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Kenyan Tomato Salad - Quick & Simple Side Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Kenyan Tomato Salad - Quick & Simple Side

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2013

      Totally delicious. I used three ripe truss tomatoes, 1/2 of a large red onion and a heaped tablespoon of chives that needed to be used up. I wondered if the lime might be too strong so added 1 teaspoon of olive oil, but really could have done with out it. Made and thoroughly enjoyed for an African Tag Game. Thanks very much for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2012

      Mmmm, this was delicious! So easy yet very tasty. The only thing I changed was to use less onion (otherwise it would have been too much for my taste) and swap the lime juice with apple cider vinegar because I cant have citrus.
      THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this lovely recipe with us, magpie! I will certainly make this again!
      Made and reviewed for my chosen chef during Veggie Swap #51 October 2012.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2012

      Heirloom tomatoes and this salad were designed for each other! This salad makes a great guilt free side for any meal. I made using green zebra, brandywine and black kim tomatoes, did cut the onion back as I used a sweet onion that was larger than a grapefruit. This recipe begs for the freshest and best ingredients you can get. Thanks for the post.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2012

      Oh talk about delish! I wish, oh how I wish for my garden to be popping with sweet tomatoes, but alas, it's not even late spring yet....nevertheless, I used grape tomatoes, some split in half, others quartered, and some left whole to give the salad a whole bunch of different tastes both in size and when you pop a whole grape tomato in your mouth. I followed this exactly, except for the above mentioned tomato, and it was divine! Made for Veggie Swap April 2012

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2012

      Refreshing and delicious, and very quick to make. This will be definitely a go-to, especially when there are excess ripe tomatoes. Thanks for sharing! Veggie Swap 44

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2011

      This is tasty but does depend on the quality of tomatoes used. I made it with pretty good cocktail tomatoes, vindalia onion, per preference, plus the rest of the ingredients. Made for Veggie Swap 38 ~ September ~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2011

      Delicious combination of flavours! I especially loved the lime juice dressing. Thank you for sharing. I'll be making this often. Made for Veggie Swap 37.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2011

      quick and easy, and a lovely refreshing summer side. Made for photo tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2011

      Really enjoyed this super easy and delish tomato salad with hamburgers and hotdogs! So easy it will be on the table a lot this summer! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Kenyan Tomato Salad - Quick & Simple Side

    Serving Size: 1 (688 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.5
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    24%
    Total Fat 0.3 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 8.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 8.7 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.8 g
    19%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes