Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Japanese Vinegared Cucumbers Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Japanese Vinegared Cucumbers

    Average Rating:

    31 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 31

    Sort by:

    • on November 17, 2002

      I am the one who requested these and I finally made them, and am I glad I did!! Exactly what I was looking for, they serve these as an appatizer at my favorite Japanese restaurant, and this recipe is pretty near identical, I am so happy! Thanks so much Taylortwo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 25, 2003

      This is a very refreshing side dish. I made it to go along with Japanese style salmon and it complemented the entree perfectly.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2010

      The only thing I did differently was to add some chili garlic sauce for a little kick, but otherwise, I did follow the recipe. Next time I might add some onion because DH kept saying this is delicious but where is the onion. Thank you. Made for Healthy Choices tag game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2010

      This was good. Fresh and tart, but not too tart. I couldn't really taste the ginger, but that might be the fault of my own backwards tastebuds.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2010

      I made this as written and served with Chicken Katsu, Nona's Japanese Creamy Sesame Salad Dressing and Spicy Japanese Slaw. I will be making this delicious meal often.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      Easy, delicious, lite side dish. I left the seeds in because I like them and would double the recipe next time. Three of us ate these as a side dish and we would have liked more! Thanks for posting this.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2008

      Excellent. Simple and delicious. With exception of peeling the cukes I followed the recipe to a T. I partially peeled the cukes to give them a striped affect. They marinated within an hour and four days later they were still outstanding.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2008

      Sorry, but I thought the salt amount overpowered the rest of the ingredients in this dish. The vinegar adds a nice tartness so I think the salt could be significantly reduced. Loved the ginger in it; added great depth.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2007

      These are excellent. We've made them a few times and really enjoy them. I use English cucumbers, halve them and seed them, but I don't peel them as the skins are thin and I like the green. We like them with yakimono--grilled foods--like yakitori and teriyaki. Thanks for posting, taylortwo!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2012

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2011

    • on July 04, 2011

      I used less salt and sugar and let it sit more than 2 hours, and it was quite good, very gingery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2009

      Refreshing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2009

      Excellent! and easy to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

    • on February 25, 2008

      Delish!! I used a large English cucumber and did not peel or removed the seeds. Since the cuke was big I used 1 1/2 X the sauce and it was perfect. Light, tangy, a touch of ginger which give it a super fresh taste. We served it with grilled salmon but will make it with many other things I'm sure. A great quick and easy side with staples from my kitchen!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2008

      These are fabulous! I used agave nectar instead of sugar, and I think this made it even more special. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2007

      I made this for my boyfriend (he likes things Japanese) and I found it really easy to make and they were tasty too! They taste even better after waiting longer. It has a refreshing taste with a slight ginger bite.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2007

      We loved these! My 5 year old daughter and I prepared these together. She was very proud of the fact that she was able to take the seeds out on her own! We prepped this around 1 pm and ate them for dinner. My 7 year old son, who has never willingly eaten a cucumber piece in his life, had seconds! This was a great addition to our asian meal!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2007

      Yum, Yum, Yum! We made extra dressing to make sure all of the cucumbers were totally immersed in the dressing. Japanese pickles! Great leftovers too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Japanese Vinegared Cucumbers

    Serving Size: 1 (186 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 43.2
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    53%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 585.1 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.7 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 0.7 g
    3%
    Sugars 6.7 g
    26%
    Protein 0.9 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites