13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My godmother is Cape Verdian, but we've lost touch over the years and the recipe has been in limbo. Thanks so much for posting it. Tastes as good as I remember.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Virgaux78 May 09, 2008

I haven't tried this recipe, but I too am Cape Verdean and use a similar recipe, but use Jasmine rice, which is sooooo flavorful in itself, I also use a packet of Goya Sazon, and a packet of Goya chicken bouillon (pollo con tomate) for flavor rather than paprika, garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste. It is absolutely delicious and goes with most anything. Glad to see Cape Verde represented on this site!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
leleta10 September 26, 2008

What a nice, different and savoury rice side dish! It reminds me of haitian "riz national". No catsup on mine, just as is to accompany ribs and roasted asparagus. Thanks for the nice discovery!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gourmetronik June 21, 2007

I love this dish!!!!!!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mcfarlane.kendra February 06, 2010

YUMMMMMMMMM. The dish is simple and delicious. My Husband is from Cape Verde & when I made the dish he recognized it as a dish from his island. That made me feel good! Of course I served this with fried eggs (over easy). I used dried kidney beans and cooked them in my slow cooker. Thank you so much! Please share more Cape Verdean recipes (do you have one for Cachupa?).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grub By Tel June 14, 2009

Oh, yum! I toned down the rice and spices for three servings but kept the amount of onion and beans the same. Great!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cause4chubbyhubby February 04, 2009

I was trying to find this recipe for so long because my nana used to make it but because of her senility she couldn't remember the recipe...Thank you...it was great..

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bluemaster69us January 28, 2007

Love this recipe, and the story behind it. The flavours are super; the bay leaf/smoked paprika combination works so well. I made this as a drastically scaled down, 2 portion dish. Proportinally this means I used more bay leaf than specified recipe, but it wasn't overpowering. I reckon this would also be good served cold as a rice salad. An uncontested 5 stars awarded by Mr and Mrs B.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs B June 19, 2006

Hi Toni! I too am Cape Verdean and it was so nice to see a Cape Verdean recipe when I searched for it! I don't even have to eat your version to rate it because it is EXACTLY how I make mine and I TOO loved it with Ketchup when I was a kid! That made me chuckle reading your note. We used to do the same the next morning IF there were any leftovers, which there wasn't very often. I plan on adding my recipes for Chicken & Monjorka and Munchupa soon! Stay well my Cape Verdean sister! Lysa (Santos) Davis

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef NevaOva March 26, 2006
Jagacida (Jag) - Beans and Rice from Cape Verde