Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Jagacida (Jag) - Beans and Rice from Cape Verde Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jagacida (Jag) - Beans and Rice from Cape Verde

    Average Rating:

    13 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-13 of 13

    Sort by:

    • on September 26, 2008

      I haven't tried this recipe, but I too am Cape Verdean and use a similar recipe, but use Jasmine rice, which is sooooo flavorful in itself, I also use a packet of Goya Sazon, and a packet of Goya chicken bouillon (pollo con tomate) for flavor rather than paprika, garlic powder and salt and pepper to taste. It is absolutely delicious and goes with most anything. Glad to see Cape Verde represented on this site!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2008

      My godmother is Cape Verdian, but we've lost touch over the years and the recipe has been in limbo. Thanks so much for posting it. Tastes as good as I remember.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2007

      What a nice, different and savoury rice side dish! It reminds me of haitian "riz national". No catsup on mine, just as is to accompany ribs and roasted asparagus. Thanks for the nice discovery!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2010

      I love this dish!!!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2009

      YUMMMMMMMMM. The dish is simple and delicious. My Husband is from Cape Verde & when I made the dish he recognized it as a dish from his island. That made me feel good! Of course I served this with fried eggs (over easy). I used dried kidney beans and cooked them in my slow cooker. Thank you so much! Please share more Cape Verdean recipes (do you have one for Cachupa?).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2009

      Oh, yum! I toned down the rice and spices for three servings but kept the amount of onion and beans the same. Great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2007

      I was trying to find this recipe for so long because my nana used to make it but because of her senility she couldn't remember the recipe...Thank you...it was great..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

    • on June 19, 2006

      Love this recipe, and the story behind it. The flavours are super; the bay leaf/smoked paprika combination works so well. I made this as a drastically scaled down, 2 portion dish. Proportinally this means I used more bay leaf than specified recipe, but it wasn't overpowering. I reckon this would also be good served cold as a rice salad. An uncontested 5 stars awarded by Mr and Mrs B.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      Hi Toni! I too am Cape Verdean and it was so nice to see a Cape Verdean recipe when I searched for it! I don't even have to eat your version to rate it because it is EXACTLY how I make mine and I TOO loved it with Ketchup when I was a kid! That made me chuckle reading your note. We used to do the same the next morning IF there were any leftovers, which there wasn't very often. I plan on adding my recipes for Chicken & Monjorka and Munchupa soon! Stay well my Cape Verdean sister! Lysa (Santos) Davis

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2005

      I haven't tried this recipe but absolutely love Jag. My grandmother in-law (who is from teh Cape) makes it with lima beans and it is so good. She also makes this with lots of butter instead of oil. Will definitely give this version a try.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      Such simple ingredients, but this is a delicious side dish. I halved the recipe with no problem, (but I still used the whole can of kidney beans). The onions and paprika flavor the rice and beans just right, and the dish looks pretty too. I liked this a lot, Toni. Thanks for sharing this family recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2005

      This was great. The flavors are subtle, but it was slightly sweet from the golden brown onions, and slightly smoky from the paprika, which was nice. It was a little dry, but DH said that was perfect for him to add his picante sauce. He went back for a big second helping. I want to try the breakfast version with the leftovers! Thanks for posting your childhood favorite, Toni.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jagacida (Jag) - Beans and Rice from Cape Verde

    Serving Size: 1 (214 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 230.6
     
    Calories from Fat 25
    11%
    Total Fat 2.8 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 109.7 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.9 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.1 g
    4%
    Protein 5.2 g
    10%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites