Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Jacob's Middle Eastern Lentil Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Jacob's Middle Eastern Lentil Soup

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on December 23, 2013

      Made for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #83 - December 2013 and what a great choice for a cold day. I used red lentils and chicken broth for the water and added a little garlic. Delicious. Definately one I will make again and again. Thank you for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2013

      The lemon juice really makes this soup, and I really enjoyed it. it was even better the next day. made for Aussie swap, jan 2013

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 24, 2010

      I made this lovely soup tonight for dinner. I actually made it in my Thermomix so adjusted the time slightly. The only other change was I used 3/4 cup of lentils and used vegetable stock instead of water. I really enjoyed it. thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2011

      Delicious soup. I used red lentils and just a grind of black pepper in place of the red pepper. Good taste and texture though I might reduce the amount of water by 1/2 a cup next time, just to make it a little thicker. Made for Aussie / Kiwi Swap March 2011.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2010

      I used dried green lentils. They took longer to cook through. I used only 1 tablespoon of olive oil. I like the taste that the red pepper gives to the soup. Next time I'll used low-sodium chicken broth. And probably a bit more liquid cause it's thick like a stew. Thanks Chef Buggsy. Made for Potluck tag

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2009

      This was very easy to prepare. The salt helped bring the flavor out more. I think I'll use half water and half chicken broth the next time I make this. Thank you for posting. Made for *Zaar Cookbooks Tag 2009* game

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2009

      DH and I really enjoyed this quick and simple to make soup. I used red lentils and cooked them in a heavy cast iron pot. After the first 20 minutes the lentils were cooked through. A little salt was sprinkled over them and a quick to fix and delicious dinner was served. Made for *Aussie Swap* January 2009.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2008

      This is so amazing! I doubled the recipe for our big family. Everyone loved it--even the picky kids. This works great with red lentils, too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2008

      A nice basic soup. We found that the lemon juice really made this soup. I had some leftover and after two days the flavours really had a chance to meld and come together. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      A nice soup. Not too spicy. Thanks! Reviewed for Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2008

      Nice, simple soup base. I served it with low fat sour cream, habanero sauce and extra lemon juice for dressing. Hearty and yummy! Next time I think I'll replace the water with stock for a bit richer flavour. Thanks Chef Buggsy Mate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 11, 2008

      This was a lovely soup- so simple and warming! Very thick too. It actually only made 3 servings for us! The flavors are quite mild, although I doubled the cumin. But that didn't reduce our enjoyment of it. My mom immediately claimed the leftover serving for lunch tomorrow. Thanks Chef Buggsy Mate!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Jacob's Middle Eastern Lentil Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (353 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 251.5
     
    Calories from Fat 67
    26%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 1.0 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 303.6 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 33.6 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 15.8 g
    63%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 13.0 g
    26%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes