Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Italian Lentil and Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Italian Lentil and Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    104 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 104

    Sort by:

    • on January 10, 2011

      Nice soup. I won't rate because I made some changes (more tomatoes, less broth, added some frozen spinach near the end) but I wanted to recommend hulled (i.e. hull-less) barley, if you can find it. The crockpot is fantastic for whole grains, and instead of just going squishy, like pearled barley, the hulled barley makes a nice little firm pop when you bite into it. Hulled barley has more vitamins and minerals than pearled because it still has the bran and germ.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2011

      I'm not usually a big fan of lentil soups, but this one was fantastic! I've never heard of adding cider vinegar to a soup, but I think this is a trick I'll be using on a lot of vegetable soups in the future. I did change the procedure a bit-- I cooked the lentils and barley (I also use hulled barley) with just the water and bay leaf until the lentils were just tender. Like many others, I doubled the herbs and garlic. I also added 1/2 teaspoon fennel seed (to "suggest" the flavor of Italian sausage), 1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, and 1 teaspoon salt. The herbs and spices were cooked with the vegetables in a little olive oil before going in the crock pot with the other ingredients. So easy and very healthy-- this is something I'll be making frequently!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2010

      Wonderful! I doubled the dried herbs and used 5 cloves of garlic to give it a bit more zing. Finishing with a teaspoon of sea salt and the apple cider vinegar really make this easy soup taste great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2011

      I thought this was fantastic. Made as directed, BUT I didn't make mine vegetarian - I used 6 cups of chicken broth and added a pound of crumbled italian turkey sausage. Also added about a cup of pasta sauce to give it even more of an italian feel. Grate fresh parmesan on top, too! Everyone LOVED it. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      Delicious! We loved this soup, it is very Mediterranean, filling and healthy. Thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      Outstanding stoup! I made a few changes only because I had stuff I wanted to use up. I used 3/4 cup barly instead of the 1/3. Also added 2 tablespoons tomato paste, 1 cup of frozen spinach, 1 cup frozen green beans, and half of a fresh red bell pepper. Oh, and about a pinch of red pepper flakes to give it some sparks :) I did not add the vinegar but rather served with a dollop of plain yogurt for tang. This stoup with divine!! Thank you Shaye :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2012

      No need to cook anything in advance or make this a difficult recipe. Just put it all in the crockpot as directed. Ours took 5 hrs on high. I did try balsamic vinegar as one review suggested and would NOT endorse that idea because it adds too much sweetness.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2012

      Great autumn afternoon soup. My vegetables were fresh from the farm stand. Although listed as optional, the cider vinegar is important for additional flavor. The combination of lentils and barley was an unexpected treat.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2012

      Super delicious and so easy to make! My husband and I are trying to eat healthier and lose some weight and this is a great soup to have around for a low-fat snacks or an easy meal. I even freeze some in individual servings. I love this recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2012

      This was really good, simple to make, and easily adaptable to individual tastes. Thank you, I will be making this again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2012

      Easy and delicious. Made as written. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      This soup is excellent. I would give it 10 stars if I could. The only change that I made was to cook it on top of the stove, for 60 minutes, because I was in a hurry for dinner. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      Very good soup. I followed all directions and also added a little bit of tomato juice I had in the fridge (maybe 6oz). This soup was perfect to make on a rainy day and is very filling. I love that it is so healthy!
      Update: I have this soup (with some variations added or subtracted) EVERY day for lunch. Low calorie, very filling and I can make enough to last me awhile!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2011

      I was pleasantly suprised by this soup, since my vegetarian soups usually go over like a lead brick around here. But my boyfriend declared this soup "Yummy!" and we all gobbled it up. I adapted the recipe for stovetop, since I don't have a crockpot. I sauted the veggies and minced garlic in olive oil and the herbs. Important: I more than doubled the garlic, and doubled the herbs, to suit our tastes. I doubled the barley, and cut down on the liquid (I used mostly my homemade rabbit stock, and added some water). I ended up with a nice stew-like texture. Since it's sometimes hard to know how a soup will turn out with barley in the mix, I will add about another cup of liquid next time (and there will be a next time!). I finished it with balsamic vinegar, which really added to the Italian flair, and put the soup to over the top goodness. =) Forgot the parsley, or ran out of energy to chop it, but it would have been a tasty addition. Anyway, this soup is going in my permanent cookbook. I served it with salad and breadsticks. Oh, almost forgot! Don't forget to add some salt! I figure about a teaspoon of sea salt would be perfect (I approximated), or split it between sea salt and garlic salt... yum! The salt should be written into the recipe more clearly, because I'm betting that at least some of the reviews that called this soup bland and tasteless forgot to add salt to taste at the end.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      This was very good and very easy. As many other reviewers did, I doubled the spices and used 5 cloves of garlic. I also added salt and black pepper to taste when it was done cooking. I will definitely make this again. It does have an Italian flavor to it, with the Italian tomatoes and oregano, etc. It was super filling, this was all we had for dinner. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2011

      Delicious! I doubled the seasonings as others suggested and it turned out just right.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2010

      One of my favourite soups. I use 28oz cans of tomatoes because that's what they have in the store. I enjoy it with fresh baked buttered bread to scoop it out of the bowl.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      Very yummy, healthy, and easy to make soup! I tend to rely on olive oil and garlic to add lots of wonderful flavor to vegetarian bean soups, so I added about 3 tablespoons of olive oil and several more cloves of garlic. With the super-long cooking time (about 12-13 hrs) all the flavors came together for a yummy effect. The cider vintager was a good addition too! This will be a staple recipe in my house! Thank you Shaye!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2010

      Perfect on this cold, rainy day. My crock pot runs hot, so this was done in about 8-9 hours on low. The cider vinegar definitely brings everything together. Yum.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      Great recipe! Thanks for posting! Comments: DEFINITELY add the cider vinegar...I actually increased mine up to 3 tablespoons (might make it 4 next time). But other than that, a perfect recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Italian Lentil and Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (1708 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 99.3
     
    Calories from Fat 4
    76%
    Total Fat 0.4 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.1 mg
    0%
    Sodium 270.4 mg
    11%
    Total Carbohydrate 19.0 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 6.7 g
    27%
    Sugars 2.9 g
    11%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites