Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Indian Spiced Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Spiced Rice

    Average Rating:

    16 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-16 of 16

    Sort by:

    • on March 28, 2003

      Great recipe, Anu. So full of great flavors, it made me want to get up and dance (he-he). I used cayenne instead of red chili powder for a little more zing. I used basmati rice which I think goes well with the exotic blend of spices. This was our main dish and I served it with other steamed vegetables. Very filling and satisfying and a great vegetarian meal. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2002

      WONDERFUL! I made this today for my BF's birthday. He's not here with us, but everyone demanded a dish of yours since we love your recipes. So, I made this rice and your recently posted Rajma recipe. I didn't find this rice spicy either, it was very tasty. I did not have nutmeg, so I substituted that with cinnamon. The qty. of red chilli powder was just fine. I used yellow moong dal(yellow lentils) for the dry lentils as I wasn't quite sure what you meant by dry lentils and I had no time to check.I had the rice topped with a dollop of chilled yogurt. It was yum! I had 2 bowls! :) Thank you, Anu! Merry Christmas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      A little bland. Ok, but nothing out of this world. A good way to get rid of leftovers but not worth the effort overall. Probably won't be making this again, but if I do, I will definitely increase the spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2010

      This is especially good with the yogurt on it! Without it, I wasn't sure I liked it....but the yogurt really makes it awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2010

      I make this rice almost every week and love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2009

    • on September 27, 2009

      My husband and I had a most beautiful day...... great museum..... and then "A Passage to India".... restaurant in Salem, Mass. Absolutely fabulous food..... then a concert where my brother was the soloist. No day gets better than that..... but upon arriving home.... I need a fix. And this recipe turned out to be a great fix in my desire to find deliciousness right here at home. All of us in our own taste sensation.... makes a few changes.... no need to mention.... only to let you know that it is a possibility. My sweetie just came through the computer room and said to me..... "That was delicious".... no better compliment in my estimation. Thanks for a great recipe.....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      A great recipe idea: love the rice and lentil combo with veggies, as well as the spice combination. I omitted the raisins (not my thing!) and doubled the spices - would add even more the next time! I'll also omit the potato and use something else in its place to vary the textures and tastes a bit more. I liked this as-is and can think of endless variations to make it even more to my liking - thank you very much for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 05, 2008

    • on June 13, 2008

    • on May 22, 2006

      Saw this recipe over at Allrecipe. I made this today. Very good. I sub chopped dried apricots (no raisins in the house) I had everything else. What attracted me was the fact that I could do it all on the stove top. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2005

      This recipe has a good taste, but takes more than "very little time" to prepare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2005

      Great recipe. I did avoid the nutmeg and cardamom due to my personal preference, and I added 1/2 tsp each of the coriander, red chilli, and cumin powders. I used masoor dal for the lentils. The dish came out pretty well (as I was a little apprehensive otherwise due to the lack of tomatoes in the dish as it is more of a staple in any kind of pulavs or biryanis) and had a great flavor. I also used 1 tbsp of ginger garlic paste rather than chopped ones. I also added carrots instead of peas, as I did not have any on hand. And avoided raisins also due to my preference. All in all it was a great meal, served with mint raitha. Waiting to try out all your other recipes!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2005

      This was perfect for my tastes. And it's such a colorful, attractive presentation. Served it with a mild chicken curry so Dh thought the rice needed some hot sauce. As I said, not me - I wouldn't change a thing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2004

      Wonderful! Our family enjoyed this very much. I served it with Tandoori Chicken #83276 & Naan (Bread Machine) #60449. We really liked the mix of flavors in this rice recipe. This is one I will make again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Delicious! This is just filled with terrific ingredients! I added some extra raisins and peas because I didn't have any peppers on hand. I topped mine with some mint chutney. Thank you, Anu. I will definitely be looking forward to making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Spiced Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (279 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 290.3
     
    Calories from Fat 35
    12%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 302.5 mg
    12%
    Total Carbohydrate 55.5 g
    18%
    Dietary Fiber 8.6 g
    34%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 9.2 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites