Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Indian Spiced Rice Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Indian Spiced Rice

    Average Rating:

    45 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 45

    Sort by:

    • on April 12, 2002

      The kitchen smelt great when this rice was cooking. I made it for lunch this afternoon and we enjoyed it to the fullest with Palak raita(spinach curd) which is recipe number 24973. Together, these made for a complete meal and I thoroughly relished every morsel of it:) My mom loved it as well, thanks, Karen!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2003

      Fairly good mildly spiced rice. I liked the addition of the sliced green onions. My husband and I preferred this rice with a topping of vegetable curry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2002

      Karen....Thanks so much for sharing. This rice was wonderful. I'm not a big rice eater, but this is changing my mind I will most certainly make this often. Made this step-by-step according to your directions. Deeeeelicious. Thanks again Karen.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2003

      Quick, simple and great flavors! AND it can easily be made in my rice cooker! I did up to step 3 on the stovetop, and then tossed it in the cooker, added water and hit "cook". I love long grain rices, but I had some plain white rice to use up. I thought the plain white rice worked quite well

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 10, 2009

      I did the first part in my rice cooker as it warmed up and then pressed "cook" on the rice cooker once I added the water. I only had crushed red pepper flakes, so I used a mortar and pestle to make then ground.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      Wonderful! I made to use with Philippine Mung Beans in Coconut Milk This will be my go-to rice to use with curry and other Indian and Thai recipes. I made in my rice cooker after sauteing the green onions and garlic in the butter. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2010

      I added frozen peas! Yum Yum Yum..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      A great rice side dish! I made with #231799 & it was just excellant. I did a couple of things different: I used chicken stock instead of water, I cooked everything in my rice cooker, & I used 1 tsp of tumeric to give it a saffron-yellow color. A perfect way to round out the meal. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2011

      There was so much going on in my bowl I could'nt seperate the flavours but dinner was amazing so I loved it.. obviously. And my daughter ate some so I guess we have another hit TY Karen

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      have made this twice now, and absolutely love it. Just enough to pizzazz to make it more interesting than plain white rice, but not so much that it distracts from the other dishes. Actually did this recipe with brown rice the 2nd time, still good.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2009

      We love this recipe. I double the red pepper and garlic, use olive oil instead of butter, with brown rice that takes twice as long to cook but is well worth the wait. It smells so good as it cooks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 04, 2009

      My family & I really enjoyed this rice with Chicken curry and dal. I make it with brown basmati rice, which is delicious.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      Because DH loved this rice I'm giving it 5 stars. It's a 4-star for me, but probably just because of my g. masala (which has ruined meals for me before :-). If I made it again, I would, however, reduce the salt by a third, and throw in some raisins for sweetness. Thanks for an easy and good recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      YUM!!! I left out the onion and this rice still tasted wonderful! The garam masala really adds that delicious hint of Indian flavor. This was completely devoured in one sitting. My turned out a bit dry, so I will be adding more liquid the next time around. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This rice was wonderful ... I had it with Aloo Gobi (Aloo Gobi). I accidentally put 1 tsp of cumin seeds in the rice while preparing ... wasn't intentional; but, still turned out well. :-)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2008

      My husband and son loved this!!!! I made a few changes-onion instead of green onion, chicken broth instead of water, two cloves, and maybe 1/2 tsp of cumin seeds. When mixed with indian dhal it is absolutely lovely!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 31, 2007

      Wow, this is so delicious! We had it with Chicken Tikka Masala and it was absolutely perfect. I will be making this many more times! Very easy also - I did the stove top method rather than using my rice cooker and it turned out perfectly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2012

      This was great! I had the end of a bag of brown rice to use up, so I made far more than was called for, and since I was using a rice cooker, I based the water amount on what my rice cooker instructions called for. I upped the spices accordingly, and added, like some other reviewers, turmeric for color. I had to replace the onions with frozen shallots, since that's all we had on hand, and the garlic with garlic salt (shocking, I know!). The recipe came out great. I will definitely be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      This was very, very good. Made it just as stated and was very pleased with the fragrance and the taste. I served the rice with a curry/bean sprout sauce. I am so pleased I found this recipe. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2010

      This is a fragrant and tasty and spicy rice. I attached it to curry for supper of the tonight. It is very good! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Indian Spiced Rice

    Serving Size: 1 (116 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 122.5
     
    Calories from Fat 10
    59%
    Total Fat 1.1 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 2.5 mg
    0%
    Sodium 158.1 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 25.0 g
    8%
    Dietary Fiber 0.5 g
    2%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 2.2 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes