Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / I Can't Wait for Chole Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    I Can't Wait for Chole

    Average Rating:

    62 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 62

    Sort by:

    • on May 20, 2002

      I made this for lunch this afternoon. I scaled it down to 2 servings. I can't thank you enough for this recipe. Reasons:- 1. Without even a drop of oil, I could never imagine cooking chole, this recipe did the unbelievable and the dish was liked by all at the lunch table. This is good for those of us who are trying to cut down on fat in our food. 2. This was ready really quick. I suggest you title it 'Instant Chole Without A Drop Of Oil". 3. This recipe uses minimum masala powders which is again very good. I'll be making this very often from now onwards. My mom, dad, even my picky eater brother and me, we all THANK YOU SO MUCH for this flavourful no-oil chole sabzi. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2003

      Great flavors in this recipe. I used the full teaspoon of garam masala and had to use cayenne because I don't know what reshampatti chili powder is so I am pretty sure I don't have it. I served this as a main dish for me and my husband. We thought is tasted so delicious and will definitely have it again. Doesn't bother us that it uses canned beans (he-he). Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 09, 2002

      This was a wonderful recipe! I followed the recipe (okay - maybe a bit more cayenne) and found this to be delicious. My husband liked this as well. Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2002

      Excellent recipe! And easy too! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2002

      Very Good! I served over rice. Now I am craving it again, lol. Great way to dress up a can of beans girl! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2003

      Sue L, fiance and I loved this dish. We served it with your palak paneer recipe, Char's Tav(Pan) Mushrooms, and your pakoras recipe! (Needless to say, that was WAY too much food!) Anyway, I absolutely love the combination of cinnamon, garlic, ginger, garam masala, cumin, and bay leaf in this recipe (and there are even more spices I didn't list)! Fantastic. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2003

      I have been meaning to find a good and easy chole recipe. This is it! Great recipe. I used a bit of olive oil to try the cumin seeds in, tastes just as good. Thanks.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2003

      Really nice vegetarian main dish! I love all the spices. Thanks, Sue!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

    • on October 05, 2013

      For all the spices and potential flavors this came out bland.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2011

      I made this, adding some chicken to meet hubby's definition of dinner. It was pretty good. I don't know if I did something wrong, but the spices just didn't last thru the cooking. But not bad. Thanks. This was a great recipe for my son who's allergic to milk & eggs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2011

    • on March 02, 2010

      I was looking for a fast dish after a long day at work and this was perfect. Hearty, flavorful, healthy and quick! I used three cans of garbanzo beans. After reading the reviews, I added a whole can (28 oz) of chunky tomato sauce and a teaspoon of cayenne pepper (We like spicy). I also simmered it for 45 minutes. The flavors blended in really well. Served with rotis and basmati rice. This is a keeper! Thanks Sue Lau!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2010

      My roommate and I made this for a dinner party. Unfortunately none of us liked it very much. The taste was off and the texture was odd.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

    • on June 28, 2009

      Delicious and easy. I used a can of diced tomatoes and 2 teaspoons cumin seeds, lightly ground with a mortar and pestle, which I also used to grind whole coriander seeds. Also used a full teaspoon cayenne. Otherwise followed the recipe. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

      I find it quite difficult to find tasty vegetarian recipes that everyone will like - this fit the bill! Next time I will probably add a skosh more spice as I felt it could use a little more punch - or maybe that's just because I completely forgot the lemon juice. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2009

      This was really yummy and easy to put together! I halved the recipe and did end up adding a little more garam masala and about 1/4 teaspoon garlic powder. I also added a little extra virgin olive oil with the onions because I didn't want to have to worry about burning anything, since I'm prone to that.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2009

      I've been looking for healthy, tasty meals that are also inexpensive--this certainly fits the bill. Though I've never had chole before I thought this tasted great. I served it with pita and a spinach salad. Yum. Thanks for posting Sue!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      For a quick version, this is pretty good. I used chicken bouillon instead of salt, and had to cook it longer than 15 minutes (still kind of crunchy). Thanks for a quick recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for I Can't Wait for Chole

    Serving Size: 1 (342 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 300.0
     
    Calories from Fat 26
    84%
    Total Fat 2.9 g
    4%
    Saturated Fat 0.3 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 643.6 mg
    26%
    Total Carbohydrate 58.3 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 11.5 g
    46%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 12.2 g
    24%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites