Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / How to Sprout Lentils Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    How to Sprout Lentils

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on April 28, 2010

      I didn't have a cheesecloth so I simply covered my mason jar with a coffee filter and screwed the lid on so that the beans could breathe. When draining, I simply put a wire mesh strainer over the top of the jar and inverted it to get all the liquid out. I'm currently on day 2 of the sprouting process and I already see little sprouts peeping out of the beans. I'm very excited to see how this will turn out!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

      I use mosquito netting to cover my mason jars and it works WAY better than anything else I've tried when rinsing and draining. Otherwise, this is a great how-to for lentil sprouts!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

      Awesome how to "recipe". I use a Sproutman Sproutbag, and it works out perfectly(: Thanks Sharon!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2011

      Great instructions. Started with about 1/2 cup of dry lentils in a Mason jar with a coffee filter top (screwed the lid over it), and after about a day I already had about 1/4" of sprout growing. Very excited. I never grew my own sprouts at home because I thought it was too difficult / time consuming. LOL! It takes like two or three minutes each time you rinse them, twice a day, for just a few days.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      I used only 4 tablespoons of lentils, and ended up with a small mason jar full of sprouts. An excellent way to get fresh veggies with tons of nutrients. Taste great too! Really good to stuff into pita sandwiches and sprinkle on salads and cooked dishes as well.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2009

      I have sprouted many types of legumes in the past but have never thought about lentils. The complete recipe filled a quart jar. They are delicious mixed in salads and wraps. Thanks Sharon for helping to renew my interest in sprouts. Made for *Partying the Diabetic Way*

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2009

      What excellent fun! These are much cheaper for me than buying sprouts from the produce company, much fresher and with less packaging to deal with. I used to think that I didn't want to invest the time and effort to sprout my own. How foolish of me. These don't take much effort at all. I've been making a batch of these a week for awhile now, we use ALOT of sprouts. They seem to stay crispy and "bright" for a good 10 days. Thanks for the nudge, Sharon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 29, 2008

      very easy to do. so far I've used them on sandwiches and salad, but want to try them in stir fry. Made for everyday's a holiday tag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      this was fun and easy to do, and added a nice something to my lunchtime sandwich today. Can't wait to try the remainder of my first "harvest" as stirfry...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2007

      We really liked these. This was my first time making sprouts. Now I'm hooked! My dh doesn't like salads unless they have lots & lots of "extras" in them. This was fun - although I do have to admit that I killed the first couple batches until I READ THE DIRECTIONS! Ha! Thank you very much, this is fresher and less expensive than the sprouts at the grocery store.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2007

      Worked like a charm! Thanks so much for prompting me to FINALLY try sprouting at home! One thing: this makes waaayyy more than a cup, I'd say more like 2 cups.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2007

      I tried this with red lentils and they got teeny looking tails and looked like they were ready to sprout but stopped. I'll try it again with a different kind of lentil and then re-review.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 07, 2007

      i use a lot of sprout in fried noodels. i used to buy it all the time but now i can make my own thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2007

      How very well this worked, and so easy to do! I had planned on using the sprouts in a salad but my 10 yr. old GS got so excited when he spotted them that I ended up sending them home with him. He thought it was super cool!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2007

      Sprouting your own lentils couldn't be easier. I used a quart mason jar with a round mesh screen that I use to do my own alfalfa sprouts and it worked like a charm. I topped a salad with them one day to take for lunch and yesterday I used them in a pita with some turkey and cheese. Definitely added a new dimension to both. Plus it's such fun to watch 'em grow too!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2007

      I just made a salad with my sprouted lentils--it took me 4 days to get good sized sprouts, some surii and a mustard dressing. Veryt nice and very healthy. These will be good on top of other salad for a different texture. Definitely worth doing, and now I'm going to try to sprout other things in the kitchen. too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2013

      Not sure what happened, but my lentils never sprouted. : (

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2008

    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for How to Sprout Lentils

    Serving Size: 1 (570 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 338.8
     
    Calories from Fat 9
    70%
    Total Fat 1.0 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 19.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 57.6 g
    19%
    Dietary Fiber 29.2 g
    117%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 24.7 g
    49%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites