Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Horse Muffins (Oat and Carrot) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Horse Muffins (Oat and Carrot)

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 14, 2011

      Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2010

      Really gummy and just tasted awful. I wish I had a horse to give these to.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      When I first made these, I agreed with some other reviews that they were gummy and not really very pleasant. Made according to the recipe, I found that they were too wet, stuck to my muffin papers, not at all sweet and just a general disappointment. AND THEN I TRIED THEM THE NEXT DAY! Wow, so much better. The texture was much nicer, the applesauce worked it's magic and they were just the right amount of sweet. Next time I'm adding some nuts or perhaps a museli mix instead of straight oats.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      too much carrot for me. and gummy as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2010

      I really liked the texture. I made a couple of changes - I used half oat bran and half oats. I used sweetened applesauce as that is all I had, and apple juice instead of water. I also tossed in a handful of sliced almonds for texture. I had a jumbo carrot that shredded out to about a cup, so that was all I used. It seemed to create a nice moist muffin but it is dense. I would add a little sugar if I was to make them over, but, they are pretty good as is. And as an added benefit, they are vegan!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2009

      I liked these muffins. True, they are not sweet at all, but can be made so easliy. I will add some Stevia next time. These were very moist and I loved the texture. My only nit is that the recipe doesn't specify a better amount of carrots. 2 carrots could be any size...I would like to see a uniform measurement.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2009

      Like the other reviewers, I think the name is quite cute! These are very moist muffins, almost a bit on the gummy side (next time, I'll add a bit less liquid). The taste is delicious! The oats and carrots with a hint of apple complement each other perfectly. One (small) complaint that i have is that these didn't rise very much at all! I'm not so fust on 'flat' muffins, but i'll make an exception for these. They taste awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 05, 2008

      The name is an attention getter. The muffins are very moist and lightly sweet. After reading mikekey's review I did use 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg to replace the allspice. The liquid was thinned plain yogurt. I think these would be great with the addition of raisins and/ornuts. Made for *PAC Fall 2008*

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2008

      Love the name! These are moist (I used the buttermilk option) and they get enough sweetness from the carrots, but the allspice tended to overpower the other flavors. I think I will try them again with the cinnamon and perhaps some nutmeg instead of the allspice. Made for Fall 2008 PAC.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Horse Muffins (Oat and Carrot)

    Serving Size: 1 (77 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 9

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 90.9
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    59%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 119.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 18.7 g
    6%
    Dietary Fiber 2.9 g
    11%
    Sugars 1.9 g
    7%
    Protein 3.0 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites