9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
readergirl March 14, 2011

Really gummy and just tasted awful. I wish I had a horse to give these to.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ilovecookingsomuch October 04, 2010

When I first made these, I agreed with some other reviews that they were gummy and not really very pleasant. Made according to the recipe, I found that they were too wet, stuck to my muffin papers, not at all sweet and just a general disappointment. AND THEN I TRIED THEM THE NEXT DAY! Wow, so much better. The texture was much nicer, the applesauce worked it's magic and they were just the right amount of sweet. Next time I'm adding some nuts or perhaps a museli mix instead of straight oats.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
feralwildflower June 08, 2010

too much carrot for me. and gummy as well.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond May 08, 2010

I really liked the texture. I made a couple of changes - I used half oat bran and half oats. I used sweetened applesauce as that is all I had, and apple juice instead of water. I also tossed in a handful of sliced almonds for texture. I had a jumbo carrot that shredded out to about a cup, so that was all I used. It seemed to create a nice moist muffin but it is dense. I would add a little sugar if I was to make them over, but, they are pretty good as is. And as an added benefit, they are vegan!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama Wendy April 22, 2010

I liked these muffins. True, they are not sweet at all, but can be made so easliy. I will add some Stevia next time. These were very moist and I loved the texture. My only nit is that the recipe doesn't specify a better amount of carrots. 2 carrots could be any size...I would like to see a uniform measurement.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yogiclarebear January 20, 2009

Like the other reviewers, I think the name is quite cute! These are very moist muffins, almost a bit on the gummy side (next time, I'll add a bit less liquid). The taste is delicious! The oats and carrots with a hint of apple complement each other perfectly. One (small) complaint that i have is that these didn't rise very much at all! I'm not so fust on 'flat' muffins, but i'll make an exception for these. They taste awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katii January 04, 2009

The name is an attention getter. The muffins are very moist and lightly sweet. After reading mikekey's review I did use 1/8 teaspoon of nutmeg to replace the allspice. The liquid was thinned plain yogurt. I think these would be great with the addition of raisins and/ornuts. Made for *PAC Fall 2008*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG October 05, 2008

Love the name! These are moist (I used the buttermilk option) and they get enough sweetness from the carrots, but the allspice tended to overpower the other flavors. I think I will try them again with the cinnamon and perhaps some nutmeg instead of the allspice. Made for Fall 2008 PAC.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mikekey October 01, 2008
Horse Muffins (Oat and Carrot)