Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Homemade Salsa using canned tomatoes! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Salsa using canned tomatoes!

    Average Rating:

    66 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 66

    Sort by:

    • on November 29, 2009

      Very good! I made this as written, except I only used 1 jalapeno and no hot sauce. That 1 jalapeno was plenty - equivalent to 'medium' store bought salsa. I prefer a spicier salsa, but no one else in the family does. The parsley however, is overpowering. 1/4 cup is too much (and I like parsley!). Next time I'll only use one sprig, if at all. I think I'll try lemon juice instead of lime next time, lemon seems to 'lift' flavours better. EDITED TO ADD: I had to throw this out. The parsley flavour got so intense it was completely overpowering. The tomato and onion flavours also were strange - instead of 'fresh', this just tasted raw to me. Perhaps I'll try this again but I'll simmer everything for a bit first, to remove the raw flavour.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 18, 2013

      OUTSTANDING. Now I know how many of the Mexican restaurants make their salsa - with CANNED tomatoes. I loved this. I did sub out cilantro for the parsley, added some oregano and cumin and lemon pepper. Will make this recipe from now on! Thanks for sharing! UPDATE: I made this again and used Rotel tomatoes with chilis and left out the jalapenos and it was medium heat I would say. Just FYI :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2011

      I went one step further than just using canned tomatoes - I used dehydrated garlic and onion, cilantro flakes, and the lime juice came out of one of those little plastic squeeze lime. The tomatoes were petite diced with chilis (hot), so I simply mixed it all up and let it sit in the fridge for a couple hours. It was as good as anything I've bought in the store and at about 1/3 the cost. Now I'm waiting for canned diced tomatoes to go on sale!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2010

      I didn't have any salsa to go with an extra bag of chips left from the holidays so this was great.
      I used a large can of diced tomatos, added a can of green chilis with jarred jalepenos, used lemon instead of lime (didn't have lime) and saved some of the tomatos and chopped onion to stir in after processing to make it a little chunky. Really good and fresh tasting, I might not ever buy salsa again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 29, 2010

      Fabulous! I won't be buying salsa ever again :D

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2009

      Very good stuff!! I used 2 (14 oz) cans of tomatoes, why waste a 1/2 a can??? And used cilantro instead of parsley. We make this often. Thanks for sharing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2014

    • on April 26, 2014

      Very fast and easy to make. I substituted the parsley with cilantro so that it would taste like a salsa rather than a marinara sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 19, 2014

      Made exactly as written, this is just a terrible excuse for a salsa. Parsley? Really?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2014

      I love this recipe. I needed salsa for a recipe ,so I figured I'd try it. The only ingredient that I didn't have was the jalapeño but I increased the hot sauce. Great! <br/> I had extra left over to have with chips. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      I was so surprised at how good this was! I wanted nachos, and didn't have any salsa. I jumped on Pinterest, and found this recipe, and realized I had pretty much all the ingredients. So glad I did. Just yummy, and I will for sure be making this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2013

      Following the other reviews, I substituted cilantro for the parsley. I didn't know what size can of tomatoes this called for, so I used 2 whole (14.5 oz) cans of diced tomatoes. I also used 1 jalapeno and 2 sweeter peppers to try to avoid heartburn. It was so quick and easy to make! We used it to top off Bean Burrito Casserole - Bean Burrito Casserole at dinner tonight.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2013

      This was really simple and good. I used mine as a topping on a taco salad and an omelette. If using with chips, I think I would drain a little bit of the juices from the tomatoes to thicken it up a little. Thanks for sharing this nice keeper. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2013

      Perfect!! I too used dried onions and cilantro along with Rotel tomatoes. It had a nice kick and tasted just like the salsa that I've enjoyed in many restaurants.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2012

      Thanks for a great recipe! I had some older tomatoes that I didn't want to use in salad anymore, so I used them instead of canned tomatoes. The sauce was not as red as I think it might have been using canned, but it was excellent - just as good as our local Mexican restaurant dishes up. Oh, and I used cilantro instead of parsley for authenticity - probably about 2 tablespoons after it was chopped - yummy!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2012

      I had to use a 1/4 cup out of a jar of diced tomatoes for another recipe so I needed a recipe to use the rest of this jar and came across your recipe. I had a few bites but it lacked something in taste. I froze it to use later. I did not add the Tabasco and I used ground ancho pepper instead of jalapeno peppers. I also used dried parsley according to my taste.
      Next time I will use canned tomatoes with garlic and onion already in them and added a can of mild ro-tel tomatoes. I'll skip the Tabasco but will added instead a little chili pepper.
      A nice fast and easy recipe to start with. You can always add other things you like to it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 02, 2012

      Absolutely fantastic! I used green chilies instead of jalapenos, as green chilies are more at my level of heat tolerance but this was a fantastic fresh salsa. Oh, I also traded the parsley for cilantro. I don't think I'll buy store bought again! Coupled with tortilla chips made fresh this afternoon from a Mexican tortilleria, this was heaven.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2012

      This was very good, saved our taco dinner when we realised we had no salsa! I only used one tin of tomatoes (in chunks) and 2 hot peppers, red onion, the rest according to the recipe. Will be making again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2011

    • on June 05, 2011

      Used red onion and skipped the tobasco but added a little chili pepper and small amount of balsamic vinegar. This recipe makes enough to equal two jars of salsa from the grocery store. Not only does it taste great, you save a little money!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Salsa using canned tomatoes!

    Serving Size: 1 (470 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 38.9
     
    Calories from Fat 2
    23%
    Total Fat 0.2 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 917.7 mg
    38%
    Total Carbohydrate 9.3 g
    3%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites