13 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!! These were easy and dElish!!! I bet my husband will like them too! I ran out of chips for his lunches and didn't feel like running to the store just for chips so I decided to make these! For homemade chips these couldn't get any easier or better. I will be extra carefull next time though to cut the potatoes VERY thinly! ONly a few came out not right b/c I didn't cut it thin enough. Definitely will make these again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
buttercup0009 February 03, 2003

Very good. I made these for me and my hubby and we liked them a lot. Along with our doggy. We just put salt and dipped in chilli cheese dip.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lora and Mathew Hahn October 30, 2013

super fast and easy and way cheaper and tastier than store bought. I used olive oil once and peanut oil second and always after.. I like my chips crunchy lol Thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WyomingMoonDust April 06, 2011

I'm making these right now and having a hard time staying out of them as I cook the next batch in my tiny deep fryer.... Oh so good!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
muncheechee August 22, 2009

So delicious and so easy to make! I like them better than a bag of potato chips. Anytime I deep fry, I might as well make some potato chips on the side.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sirbflo114 January 08, 2009

so easy! will make them always, forget store bought...after making these you will never want any other type of chip:)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Juels1 December 28, 2008

I made these to go along with my sandwich for lunch and they were great! Now I can make my own anytime. They are really easy to make, just make sure you have your oil hot enough before you fry them. I wasn't quite sure what you meant by floury potatoes, but I used Russet and they worked fine. Thank you for sharing. Christina

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CulinaryGourmetQueen February 01, 2008

woo hoo now i can make potato chips :D

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breenanasamazing October 24, 2007

I gave this 5 stars. My friend Sue used to make her potato chipps just like this recipe with the exception of the cold water. She would cut them then fry until crisp. Thanks for posting a great recipe brings back memories. Christine (internetnut)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
internetnut March 04, 2007

Wow! Just like the chips at Evangeline's Cafe in Austin, where they're served with a sweet-spicy romalade sauce. We do several batches every poker night.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ray #2 April 04, 2006
Homemade Potato Chips