Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Homemade Pomegranate Molasses Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Pomegranate Molasses

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on January 25, 2010

      This tastes the same or better than storebought. I usually decrease the sugar in recipes 25%, so did that here. Because of that, I also halved the lemon. It took an hour before this became syrupy. It was closer to 3/4 cup than one. I let it cool 30 minutes before refrigerating. Can't wait to try it in a variety of recipes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2011

      I don't know what pomegranate molasses should taste like but I needed some to make Iraqi Fish With Pomegranate and Loomi (Samak Tibsi) and the store that I seen this product in no longer carries it. I simmered it about an hour to get the intended reduction. It's not a thick syrup but it is very flavourful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      I only gave this recipe 3 stars because, it never really got thick even after simmering for 30 minutes. I boiled it for an additional 10 but got only a thin syrup which was fine since I was using this in a salad dressing. The flavor was wonderful though. I will make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2007

      We recreated Chef Bobby Flay's Pomegranate molasses Turkey for Thaksgiving and we used this recipe because we couldn't find the real molasses anywhere! We Thoroughly enjoyed the turkey. As far as I am concerend there is no need to buy the store bought molasses! I did find it was helpful to boil it for a few minutes to thicken it up some! Thank- you Jim C.!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2007

      Once the juice is reduced, you really need to bring it to a boil for a few minutes to let it thicken but you should use a candy thermometer.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This is a very nice sauce that we can see many uses for. Endless possibilities

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2007

      This is so perfect and easy for when you can't find pomegranate molasses in the store, thanks so much for sharing. I did find that I needed a little more sugar (about an extra tablespoon) but maybe that's just personal preference.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2006

      I prepared Pomegranate Glazed Cornish Game Hens #79541 for Christmas dinner and Rita L suggested I try this recipe for the glaze. While I liked the glaze in Pomegranate Glazed Cornish Game Hens, it was not the thick glaze that I wanted to have on the hens. This recipe glazed the cornish hens perfectly and imparted a delicious flavor to them. I will definitely use this recipe from now on and look forward to using it in other dishes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2006

      Absolutely delicious! I made pear-pomegranate pie and it was a hit. Here is the link for the pie recipe: http://www.nytimes.com

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2006

      Never having had pomegranate molases I can not vouch for the authenticity of this recipe; however, it worked great with evelyn/athens Grilled Chicken Legs with Pomegranate Molases Grilled Chicken Legs With Pomegranate Molasses. The cooking time was right on target.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2013

      Used in a bread recipe and was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 27, 2013

      I love this recipe. It was quick and easy to make with terrific results. The thick molasses is so pretty and colorful. It tastes incredible, sweet, tart and tangy. We have really enjoyed it drizzled over simple tomatoes and also drizzled over roasted asparagus. Thank you so much for sharing your wonderful recipe Jim. I won't be buying pomegranate molasses in the store anymore, this is far better. Made for Think Pink 2013

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2012

      Could not find this at the market so had to make my own. Used 2 cups of the juice and 1/4 lemon, 1/4 sugar. cooked it over one hour until it reduced to a thick syrup. Placed in a ramikin and placed in fridge. Was like candy the next day when I went to use it, so just warmed in the microwave for a few seconds so I could measure it out. Good recipe. Used in Cranberry Orange Wheat Bread (Like Great Harvest), Breadmaker UPDATE...made my bread recipe with bought molasses and the bread did not turn out as tasty, When the bottle is gone I will make this agin to use in recipes, seems to be so much tastier. (The brand I bough was by Cedar, juice and sugar ingredients, no lemon.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2005

      I've never had pomegranate molasses so can't say how authentic the taste is, but it is very tasty! We've put it on waffles and poured it over cheesecake...yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Pomegranate Molasses

    Serving Size: 1 (969 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 817.2
     
    Calories from Fat 22
    70%
    Total Fat 2.4 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.6 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 69.4 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 206.4 g
    68%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 197.3 g
    789%
    Protein 1.5 g
    3%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites