14 Reviews

This tastes the same or better than storebought. I usually decrease the sugar in recipes 25%, so did that here. Because of that, I also halved the lemon. It took an hour before this became syrupy. It was closer to 3/4 cup than one. I let it cool 30 minutes before refrigerating. Can't wait to try it in a variety of recipes!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Maito January 25, 2010

I don't know what pomegranate molasses should taste like but I needed some to make Iraqi Fish With Pomegranate and Loomi (Samak Tibsi) and the store that I seen this product in no longer carries it. I simmered it about an hour to get the intended reduction. It's not a thick syrup but it is very flavourful.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamer in Ontario July 18, 2011

I only gave this recipe 3 stars because, it never really got thick even after simmering for 30 minutes. I boiled it for an additional 10 but got only a thin syrup which was fine since I was using this in a salad dressing. The flavor was wonderful though. I will make this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lovestocook #6 May 09, 2010

We recreated Chef Bobby Flay's Pomegranate molasses Turkey for Thaksgiving and we used this recipe because we couldn't find the real molasses anywhere! We Thoroughly enjoyed the turkey. As far as I am concerend there is no need to buy the store bought molasses! I did find it was helpful to boil it for a few minutes to thicken it up some! Thank- you Jim C.!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Desire November 23, 2007

Once the juice is reduced, you really need to bring it to a boil for a few minutes to let it thicken but you should use a candy thermometer.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rubia November 17, 2007

This is a very nice sauce that we can see many uses for. Endless possibilities

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2Bleu November 14, 2007

This is so perfect and easy for when you can't find pomegranate molasses in the store, thanks so much for sharing. I did find that I needed a little more sugar (about an extra tablespoon) but maybe that's just personal preference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim in Walnut Creek November 14, 2007

I prepared Pomegranate Glazed Cornish Game Hens #79541 for Christmas dinner and Rita L suggested I try this recipe for the glaze. While I liked the glaze in Pomegranate Glazed Cornish Game Hens, it was not the thick glaze that I wanted to have on the hens. This recipe glazed the cornish hens perfectly and imparted a delicious flavor to them. I will definitely use this recipe from now on and look forward to using it in other dishes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dreamgoddess December 31, 2006

Absolutely delicious! I made pear-pomegranate pie and it was a hit. Here is the link for the pie recipe: http://www.nytimes.com

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DaniAmor November 19, 2006

Never having had pomegranate molases I can not vouch for the authenticity of this recipe; however, it worked great with evelyn/athens Grilled Chicken Legs with Pomegranate Molases Grilled Chicken Legs With Pomegranate Molasses. The cooking time was right on target.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PaulaG May 22, 2006
Homemade Pomegranate Molasses