Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Homemade Low Calorie Potato Chips Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Low Calorie Potato Chips

    Average Rating:

    58 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 58

    Sort by:

    • on July 23, 2002

      I used my food processor to slice the potato real thin, so preparation was a breeze. I tried adding a little vinegar with the seasoning and had a fantastic low-fat snack!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2002

      What an amazing way to make homemade chips! I made this over the weekend when I just had to much on something salty. I used salt, pepper and oregano(!) as my seasonings. I had a little problem while turning the chips over the first time; they kinda stuck to my microwave dish rather stubbornly, and some of them also fused together! Still, they turned out great, if a little odd-shaped :) I'll definitely make this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2003

      This was wonderful! I love store-bought sweet potato chips, so I decided to try to make these chips with a sweet potato. They turned out great! Better than store-bought, and much less expensive! Plus, they're a great healthy snack. I didn't have to cook mine quite as long as the recipe suggests--mine began to turn brown during the first of the two 2-minute segments. Just take them out whenever they start to turn brown. You don't want to overcook them! Again, let me just say that these were super, and I'll definitely make them in the future!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 04, 2010

      If you are looking for a low- to no-fat snack, this is it! My suggestions: 1) use parchment paper and a paper plate (you can throw it all away; no clean up); 2) instead of putting the oil and potato slices in a bag and tossing, just spray slices with cooking spray (although you could eliminate this step for a truly no-fat snack). My 20-year-old son and I think they taste better using the cooking spray, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      (@_@) Amazing!!! What is this microwave wizardry?!?! These are freaking delicious ridiculousness. I thought microwaves were for soggifying things, not crisping. I was wrong. --- I used my food processor slicing blade, on one medium sized long white potato, to get those wafer thin slices and enjoyed the ability to customize every batch, by sprinkling the spices over the plated slices (rather than adding them in the inflated shake bag of goodness). I also sprayed the plate and the top of the slices with cooking oil. I did sea salt on the first plate, sea salt and cracked peppercorn over the second, and now I am too full to experiment further. (~_^)b I've "cooked" and eaten 1/2 the potato. I think I will do sea salt and vinegar next time. --- You have saved me from myself. :D I am like a kid, with absolutely no self-control, when it comes to crispy treats. I will seriously choose a bag of chips and some salsa or hummus over dinner. I am making my own chips from now on! my 1/2 potato serving nutrition data = CALORIES: 84.55 ; FAT: 1.27 ; SAT FAT: .19 ; PROTEIN: 1.79 ; FIBER: 2.55 ; CARBS: 16.73 --- Looks good to me!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2010

      Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 21, 2010

      Amazing - tastes just like potato chips! As another reviewer suggested I used cooking spray olive oil flavor. Do spray the plate too or else they'll really stick! I used red potatoes and it was fantastic will become my alternative to buying potato chips - low fat and you can make them fresh whenever you want them!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2009

      This was a perfect side along with Kittencal's Tuna Melt Sandwich. I added French Fried Seasoning to the oil and a light sprinkling when done. Next time I won't nuke them as long as they got a little to hard but still good to eat. What a fun recipe to do with the kids especially on those icky days when you can't play outside and they whining "there ain't nothing to do".

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      These are wonderful. For those who wonder why it works so well in a microwave, it is because of the way a microwave cooks - by vibrating and thus heating and evaporating water molecules. It gets a bad rep on other food, but as soon as I read this recipe it was a no-brainer. I flipped three times and used two plates for less contact area between chips. This allows you to flip one plate while the other is heating. The result is amazing for such little work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2009

      These are REALLY good! DH couldn't get enough. After arranging them on the plate, I blotted them with a paper towel and seasoned with salt only. what a fun recipe. Thank you for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      OMG, you have to try this recipe! It is sooo good. I used Pam to spray the plate and the potatoes, which I sliced very thin with my mandolin. My advice would to be watch these closely the first time you make them to see how long they need to cook. In my micro, they cooked 3 min. and 2 min. and even quicker for the second batch. I like them best plain, DH liked his salted. Thank you so much Mirj, for my new favorite snack!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2009

      Very good taste and simple too! I am chip crazy so this is a wonderful find for me! I would suggest a bit of PAM on the microwave dish, since mine stuck. My microwave is old so after one batch, it shut itself down to cool for about 20 min. I will definitely make this again. Thx for sharing Mirj.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 22, 2009

      These are soooo good. I think I need a couple more microwaves, so I can make more at a time. Ha ha. They go really fast. Thanks so much for a great recipe. Just had to add another note - I just made these again. I sprayed a plate w/butter flavored pam and then sprayed the potatoes & sprinkled with seasoning salt instead of putting in a bag w/oil. I also used two plates so I would have one ready when the first one came out - one potato is so not enough.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2004

      This recipe was everything I was expecting. I used Pam instead of olive oil and it worked great. Oh, I also used sweet potatoes. Great recipe, Mirj. I'll definitely use it over and over instead of buying high-fat chips!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2003

      I just made these and if I could give them more than 5 stars I would!! They were simple to make and very tasty. I used cajun seasoning. I also did a sweet potato and it turned out wonderful as well. This one is a definite keeper!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2003

      Well I am hooked, how good are these!! I also cut the cooking time down 2 minutes on each side was perfect, I really love these chips and don't feel guilty eating tham at all! Thanks Mirj!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 02, 2003

      These are real easy and great!!!! I wud cut down on cooking time or they get to brown and somewhat burnt. Experiment with lots of different seasongings and have a great snack!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

    • on June 21, 2011

      I love them. However, 4 minutes was way too long for my microwave. After about 3 minutes, there was smoke. This was just after the first cooking. But I do believe that was the microwave and not the recipe. Just a warning though! If your microwave is super powerful like mine, do edit the times needed in there! Thankfully only 2 got burnt. The rest I gobbled down before anyone else could have them. >.> Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2011

      I used sweet potatoes and a bit of a cajun spice mix for seasoning. I cooked each side for about 3 1/2 minutes and wound up with chewy, not crispy, chips. I think if I had a mandolin slicer and could get the potatoes paper-thin, they might have been better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Low Calorie Potato Chips

    Serving Size: 1 (371 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 304.0
     
    Calories from Fat 23
    63%
    Total Fat 2.5 g
    3%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 22.1 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 64.4 g
    21%
    Dietary Fiber 8.1 g
    32%
    Sugars 2.8 g
    11%
    Protein 7.4 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites