11 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made these last night and they were AMAZING!!! I too used about 1 cup less flour and only cooked them for 9 minutes a batch. I also didn't have any baking soda, so I used about 3 times the amount in baking powder. LOVE THEM!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ShaenaL August 29, 2009

These pretzels were good but they didnt taste the way i thought they would. the recipe was good but i must agree with the other reviews less flour less cook time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
A Fisher February 12, 2009

Thanks Karen for an easy to follow and delicsious recipe. This was so much fun with DGS, the pretzels in the photo arn't as prety as they should be - but as the DGS's did all the work you can see the fun they had. They weren't as soft as I expected but think I left them in the oven a little to long, or maybe I made them to thin, not sure. But we will certainly be making these again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 January 26, 2008

I made these with 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat. DDs proclaimed them delicious. I cut the baking time down about 5 minutes as suggested by others.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sugaree September 05, 2007

Delicious! Very very good. They lasted exactly one day at our house. The only thing was that they took more like 8 minutes to bake fore me.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
God's_sugarcookie July 02, 2007

These were great and easy little pretzels. They didn't turn out as soft as I had hoped, and I had to reduce the baking time on the second batch by about 5 minutes. I also learned that I need to be a bit more generous with the baking soda/water mixture. I can't wait to try these with a variety of different toppings and dips.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 30, 2006

These were great. I made them in heart shapes for my boyfriend for Valentine's day. I had no idea they would be so easy! I do think that the amount of flour needs to be adjusted as others have suggested -- I just added a little more water until I could incorporate all the flour.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
londongavchick February 12, 2006

just made these they are sooo good ate them with a honey mustard dip

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
blonder September 05, 2005

Fantastic! I've been meaning to try this recipe for a while, and I finally got around to it today. I'm glad I did -- these were realy fun to make, and they came out great. Like Flyers Fan, I used only about 3.5 cups of flour (2.5 cups whole wheat flour + 1/4 cup gluten, + 1.25 cups all purpose flour). Otherwise, I pretty much followed the recipe as instructed. I cooked these in three batches. I topped one batch with chopped almonds, another with sesame seeds and salt, and the final batch with just salt. My favorite was the second batch, with sesame seeds and salt. One other hint -- make sure you cook the pretzels until they are really brown (darker than a loaf of bread, for example). The almost-burnt crust is what makes them taste like a pretzel! The yield of the recipe for me was closer to 15 than 20, but maybe I made mine a bit bigger, or something. In any case, they were really good. I doubt they'll last the day at my house!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
federico June 26, 2004
Home-Baked Soft Pretzels (YUM)