Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Heather's Stir-Fry Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Heather's Stir-Fry Sauce

    Average Rating:

    59 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 59

    Sort by:

    • on May 05, 2009

      A good, quick, and easy stir fry sauce. I added a dash of crushed red pepper, and some garlic and ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2010

      This turned out great. I added a dash of ground ginger as suggested by others. Next time will try with some garlic and red pepper flakes as we would prefer more flavor -- agreed it was a little on the bland side for us. Once on the plate, my husband and I added some thai chili sauce/paste to our dishes to customize the heat level. I'll definitely use this one again. We had it with shrimp and veggies over Trader Joe's microwaveable brown rice. Very easy. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2009

      This is my standby stir-fry sauce ever since I first found the recipe over a year ago. Thank you to Lennie and Heather for such a great tasting, simple recipe. I always can make a last minute meal with this recipe and some frozen veggies & chicken or whatever leftovers need disguising. Perfect! (I do spice it up with some crushed red pepper if the kids are away.)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This recipe was exactly what I was looking for. I wanted a stir-fry sauce that was low-calorie and included stuff I already had at home, so this was perfect. I made a veggie stir-fry and added powdered and minced garlic, red pepper flakes and powdered ginger. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2004

      This is really, really good. I made a stir-fry with leftover pork loin and some frozen stir-fry veggies, and it was delicious. Thanks for such a great recipe. I made it exactly as stated, and this may become my new favorite lunch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2014

    • on October 08, 2014

      Great stir fry sauce Lennie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2013

      Easy, simple, and tasty. I just wish it had a bit of ginger.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2012

      Used chicken broth in place of water. Added ginger, garlic, hoisin and red pepper flakes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 27, 2012

      I used the sauce for my vegetables, it gave them a nice flavor. Wasn't proportionally right but that was my fault. From my judgement of it with my vegetables, it would be better as a whole stir-fry, tossing the meal into a wok. Tasted like real chinese food: like Mings Beef at bobo china. Problem is, I don't order that dish because I prefer others. I'll keep this recipe in mind, but search for something more to my liking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      A good basic recipe, with ingredients that are readily available. I used beef stock instead of water and rice vinegar, but still found the taste a little bland (although my family liked it). Next time I would add some garlic and maybe a little more soy sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2012

      This was so easy to make, and it thickened up perfectly for rice, veggies and chicken. The husband loved that it didn't taste like an abundance of soy sauce. We'll be having this often!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2011

      I've been looking for a simple sauce for my stir-fry and found this one to be wonderful. I doubled it to make it extra saucy. Added hot pepper flakes to give it heat and I am thrilled with it. I will use it as my base sauce! Thank you "Heather".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 24, 2010

      This is an excellent basic stir fry sauce. So quick and easy to throw together. I reduced it to one serving to use in a noodle stir fry recipe with great results.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2010

    • on May 15, 2010

      I loved this easy sauce. So easy my 12 year old put it together for me while I chopped and stir fried the veg. I stir fried (in this order) tofu, broccoli, green beans, summer squash and bok choy...I doubled the recipe because I wanted it very saucy to serve over rice...it was very good and I'll make it again...we used veg broth, splenda brown sugar, and rice vin...next time I want to try a bit of hoisin...thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2010

      Lennie...Thanks for A great recipe!!! This is Easy, Healthy and Very tasty !!! I Will definately keep this recipe for doing my sauces...I added 1 in. ginger+3 cl. garlic+ 1/2t chilli peppers +mixed veggies..There are many variations that can be done for this yummy recipe..Many Thanks !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2010

      A good basic recipe. I swapped brown sugar for the white, and added 3 cloves of garlic(chopped), 1 tsp fresh ground ginger, 1 tsp 5-spice powder, 1/4 tsp sesame oil, and 1/2 tsp sesame seeds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 09, 2009

      I used this sauce on my very first stir fry!!!! I was stunned at how good it smelled (once in the stir fry) and tasted. I give it 5 stars for the newbie cooks out there! Thanks for making my first stir fry a good one!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Simple and easy recipe to whip up, but will keep looking for a stir-fry sauce. I did add extra ingredients like Thai red chilies, ginger, garlic, and onions. But i thought the base sauce tasted too 'soy saucey'. It did thicken up nicely though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Heather's Stir-Fry Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (61 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 27.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    32%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 755.6 mg
    31%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.2 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 2.3 g
    9%
    Protein 1.4 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes