Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Healthy Banana Oatmeal Sponge Cookies for Kids Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Healthy Banana Oatmeal Sponge Cookies for Kids

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on June 25, 2006

      I went into this knowing that they were not going to taste like chocolate chip cookies. But I was looking for a healthy before/active workout snack that was portable and I'm trying to cut down on my refined carbs, so I decided to try this. I left out the raisins. For what it was, I was very happy. Not a cookie texture really, but a nice sweet fruity tasting oatmeal "thing." LOL Don't know what else to call it! The kids didn't love them but they did eat them. Dh did not like the texture at all, but I didn't expect he would. As a portable snack for babies I think this is great. If you don't have an issue with texture and like oatmeal and fruit, this makes a reasonable portable pre & post workout snack as well.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      I already reviewed this recipe, but I had to write in again with a helpful hint! I added 1/2 c of peanut butter the second time I made these, and they're WAY better. I also omitted the raisins (personal preference). The protein and fat makes them last longer in my kiddo's tummy. I realize this isn't AS healthy, but still pretty healthy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 28, 2009

      Its true, these don't taste like your traditional oatmeal cookie, but they are great as a healthy snack for an active lifestyle. I find them very moist and spongey, not dry at all. I add a little peanutbutter on top for my morning snack at work, its perfect. My roommate, who cannot eat wheat or dairy, also really liked them. She is used to gluten and dairy free cookies being hard and dry, almost stale, these are perfect for both of us! Thank you very much for this recipe, I will pass it on to friends with small children as well! (I also added about 4 drops of stevia, as I imagined they wouldn't be very sweet)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2014

      The picture that accompanies this recipe is one that I took the first time I made them. They are really good, and really healthy! I added 1/4 tsp of salt to the recipe, and usually make a double batch. I took them to a Weight Watchers meeting last spring, and everyone loved them. I personally don't think they should be labeled as being "for Kids," as I think they are wonderful! They don't have the taste or texture of traditional oatmeal-raisin cookies, but neither do they have all the fat and sugar! They are 1 Points Plus Value per cookie on WW. And, except for the raisins, they contain only Weight Watchers Power Foods!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2012

      My 10 month old loves these cookies! I leave out the raisins so that they are easier to chew. I like them as a healthy snack on the go too. If you are trying to lore your kid away from Oreos these probably won't do the trick, but as a first cookie these are great. When my daughter asks for "cookie, cookie" at each meal, I don't feel bad giving them to her.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2008

      Not a big hit in my house or daycare.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2008

      I did not like these cookies, they were quite dry and you can instantly tell that they are very healthy and have no added fat or sugar. My children also did not like and so I would not try this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2008

      Quick, easy...just a few simple ingredients. My 4 kids love these...and they're so healthy. Thanks for a healthy happy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2008

      This was a great healthy idea for cookies. I really enjoyed the heavier spongy texture of them. I made a batch mid-afternoon and they were gone by the end of the night! I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2007

      sorry, but i thought these were pretty nasty. seemed to be way too much oatmeal, and not sweet enough. next time i would probably add a little bit of honey and replace some of the oatmeal with whole wheat flour. probably try baking powder too. thanks for the very easy recipe, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Well, only one of my kids liked these, but I thought they were great! I used unsweetened applesauce and left out the raisins for my dried-fruit-phobic son. The cookies are good without raisins, but they are probably a tasty addition. I used a 2T cookie scoop and flattened them with the bottom of a measuring cup - very uniform! They seem easy to form and would be cute in a heart shape. Just out of the oven, the cookies were crispy on the outside and soft on the inside. In a storage container, they became soft all over. Thanks for the healthy snack idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 02, 2006

      These were very easy to make and my 10 month old DD loves them! I used quick oats and left out the raisins. In the future I will probably cut the recipe in half.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2006

      A++++ great recipe for babies. I'm so glad I found this. It's a much healthier alternative to other finger foods for first eaters. I'll give these to my 10 month old any day before biter biscuits! Thank you so much! (p.s. for little babies, its a good idea to cook the oats before baking for an even softer cookie)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2006

      I tried this on my 1 1/2 year old and told her that they were cookies. she took a bit and realized that they didn't taste like the other cookies that i had given here. hahaha! they turned out exactly like you would expect; they tasted very healthy. But your little one might not like them too much. but give them a try. there is only good stuff in them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2005

      I made these for my daughter this morning and they turned out great! I have a similar recipe for babies which includes grinding the oatmeal and raisins in a blender (it also has almonds in it). I followed this recipe exactly and I would recommend them!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Healthy Banana Oatmeal Sponge Cookies for Kids

    Serving Size: 1 (427 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 79.7
     
    Calories from Fat 8
    10%
    Total Fat 0.9 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.6 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 16.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 1.9 g
    7%
    Sugars 4.1 g
    16%
    Protein 2.4 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites