17 Reviews

This soup was all heat, which I love, but no FLAVOR. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. I had to doctor it up so that it will be eaten and not thrown out. I added bay leaf, ginger, garam masala, some beef bouillon and reheated. I also added fresh sauteed cilantro and spinach. Much better!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CheCheCherie October 11, 2011

We really liked this soup. Made as directed with just a tad more spice than directed. Very good, and freezes really well. I used a stick blender and pulsed it several times to vary the texture a little. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sarahbeier January 16, 2009

Loved the recipe. I added 2 onions, 2T. Crushed red pepper flakes, 4 carrots and a half a peeled, chopped yam. I also used beef broth instead of vegitable broth. Husband like it...surprise. Thanks, Harlan

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
goldstein March 21, 2008

This was an incredibly beautiful soup to look at but could have been so much better. There is so much curry in this that it overwhelms the taste of anything else ( I used the hot pepper according to my taste so that was not interfering with the taste in any way) so that all you taste is curry. I would have enjoyed this more with alot less curry so that I would actually be able to taste the vegetables, the cumin, etc. I'm sure this would be wonderful with the spice adjustments as suggested.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scancan December 19, 2007

I'm giving this 5 stars even though there was too much heat for us to taste all the other flavors. We like spice, and it wasn't too spicy, just a bit overpowering. The leftovers were even tastier, and with a slight heat adjustment this will be just terrific for a cool fall or winter night. I'll be dialing it down from 1.5 teaspoons of cayenne to 1 or less. Thanks, elastigirl!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenFish September 19, 2011

Delicious! I had some friends over for dinner, a mix of vegans and carnivores, and they all loved it! I was looking forward to enough leftovers to freeze, but there wasn't enough left. I did make a few modifications, based on some reviews. I cut the spices down to 1 teaspoonn instead of 2....and there was still plenty of heat. I did have to add a little extra salt at the end to bring out the flavors. I also reserved some soup and added sausage, for the meat eaters.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
barricke25 January 20, 2011

Awesome! I used beef and chicken stock instead of veggie and it didn't last long in my house. I'll have to double it if I'm going to freeze any. Big hit!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starbest11 January 05, 2011

Made as written, but only used one teaspoon cayenne. Purred about half in food processor and also added a bit if ham. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jane49423 January 01, 2011

Good; very spicy as warned. I really like spice, so used the full amount, but will cut back a little next time. I was afraid leftovers would be hotter, but had actually mellowed a little bit. Made as is except only used a tsp or so of olive oil which worked out fine. I made a half recipe and stuck quite a bit of it in the freezer as something quick to pull out to bring for lunches (especially good for Friday lenten meal). Thanks for posting. I did not think the curry was overwhelming; I thought it blended very nicely. Edited to add: It freezes nicely. The spiciness actually lessened a little with freezing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 May 12, 2010

I have this cookbook, and this is by far my favorite recipe! It's sooo good!!! I put half the red pepper b/c I'm a wimp. Still wonderful!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amawaters April 19, 2009
Have Mercy on Me Spicy Lentil Soup (With Crock Pot Instructions)