Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Have Mercy on Me Spicy Lentil Soup (With Crock Pot Instructions) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Have Mercy on Me Spicy Lentil Soup (With Crock Pot Instructions)

    Average Rating:

    17 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-17 of 17

    Sort by:

    • on October 11, 2011

      This soup was all heat, which I love, but no FLAVOR. I followed the recipe exactly and was very disappointed. I had to doctor it up so that it will be eaten and not thrown out. I added bay leaf, ginger, garam masala, some beef bouillon and reheated. I also added fresh sauteed cilantro and spinach. Much better!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2009

      We really liked this soup. Made as directed with just a tad more spice than directed. Very good, and freezes really well. I used a stick blender and pulsed it several times to vary the texture a little. Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2008

      Loved the recipe. I added 2 onions, 2T. Crushed red pepper flakes, 4 carrots and a half a peeled, chopped yam. I also used beef broth instead of vegitable broth. Husband like it...surprise. Thanks, Harlan

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2007

      This was an incredibly beautiful soup to look at but could have been so much better. There is so much curry in this that it overwhelms the taste of anything else ( I used the hot pepper according to my taste so that was not interfering with the taste in any way) so that all you taste is curry. I would have enjoyed this more with alot less curry so that I would actually be able to taste the vegetables, the cumin, etc. I'm sure this would be wonderful with the spice adjustments as suggested.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2011

      I'm giving this 5 stars even though there was too much heat for us to taste all the other flavors. We like spice, and it wasn't too spicy, just a bit overpowering. The leftovers were even tastier, and with a slight heat adjustment this will be just terrific for a cool fall or winter night. I'll be dialing it down from 1.5 teaspoons of cayenne to 1 or less. Thanks, elastigirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2011

      Delicious! I had some friends over for dinner, a mix of vegans and carnivores, and they all loved it! I was looking forward to enough leftovers to freeze, but there wasn't enough left. I did make a few modifications, based on some reviews. I cut the spices down to 1 teaspoonn instead of 2....and there was still plenty of heat. I did have to add a little extra salt at the end to bring out the flavors. I also reserved some soup and added sausage, for the meat eaters.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2011

      Awesome! I used beef and chicken stock instead of veggie and it didn't last long in my house. I'll have to double it if I'm going to freeze any. Big hit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Made as written, but only used one teaspoon cayenne. Purred about half in food processor and also added a bit if ham. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2010

      Good; very spicy as warned. I really like spice, so used the full amount, but will cut back a little next time. I was afraid leftovers would be hotter, but had actually mellowed a little bit. Made as is except only used a tsp or so of olive oil which worked out fine. I made a half recipe and stuck quite a bit of it in the freezer as something quick to pull out to bring for lunches (especially good for Friday lenten meal). Thanks for posting. I did not think the curry was overwhelming; I thought it blended very nicely. Edited to add: It freezes nicely. The spiciness actually lessened a little with freezing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 19, 2009

      I have this cookbook, and this is by far my favorite recipe! It's sooo good!!! I put half the red pepper b/c I'm a wimp. Still wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2009

      Made this pretty much as written (omitted the cayenne). Didn't say what kind of lentils so I used red. Nice amount of heat but i like spicy. Tasted great the second day too. Made a lot, froze some.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 09, 2009

      We loved this soup!! I added extra curry powder, and left out the crushed red pepper flakes. Great, thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2008

      We made this with red lentils. This soup is excellent. We will make it again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2008

      So good! I used 1 tablespoon oil to saute the onions. Lentils are quick cooking so I made it stove top. Added thyme and a bay leaf. Lots of black pepper. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2008

      Really Good, makes alot, but the spicy pretty much cooked out in the crock, had to add extra red pepper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I followed this recipe to the letter and really didn't think that it was as spicy as advertised. Perhaps I am just used to spicy food. All in all, I recommend it. It's a good easy recipe :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2007

      Oustanding!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Have Mercy on Me Spicy Lentil Soup (With Crock Pot Instructions)

    Serving Size: 1 (536 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 306.8
     
    Calories from Fat 70
    23%
    Total Fat 7.8 g
    12%
    Saturated Fat 1.1 g
    5%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 198.4 mg
    8%
    Total Carbohydrate 44.4 g
    14%
    Dietary Fiber 20.2 g
    81%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    25%
    Protein 16.4 g
    32%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes