Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Havana Beans Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Havana Beans

    Average Rating:

    28 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 28

    Sort by:

    • on April 17, 2004

      Very nice Saturday night supper! I did make one change, I added a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, about a quarter teaspoon, it added a nice zing. The recipe was quick and very easy to put together; we will definately make it again, thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2009

      Oh maaaaa-aa-aan - THIS is an awesome recipe! Made it last night for dinner - definitely moves into the top 3 faves list! Couple'a switches - I kicked up the pepper to 1/2 tsp; made the bell pepper 1 red and 1 orange; made the onion a red one and shook in some really good curry powder and fresh dill. Served it over brown rice and couldn't believe how good this was! Thanks for posting this to RZ!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2010

      I love that it was easy and used ingredients I typically have on hand. For me it seemed to lack something as I found the flavour kind of bland. We tried topping it with southwest flavoured cheese and that actually did improve it. Maybe a jalapeƱo or two? I don't know. I was a little disappointed. I may try it again with some tweaking for my tastes because I do like the idea of this dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2010

      Holy cow, this was good! I needed a recipe that relied heavily on pantry ingredients rather than fresh produce (just got home from vacation, hadn't been to the grocery store yet) so I decided to make this. I upped the garlic to 6 cloves because my husband and I love garlic. I didn't have an onion so I used a shallot that I found in the bottom of my fridge. Didn't have a bell pepper so left that out. I used canned tomatoes. I stirred some lime juice in at the end of the cooking time to brighten the flavors a bit. Mmmm! This will now be my go-to recipe for the day we return from vacation and have nothing in the house. So easy, too! Start the rice, go sit down for half an hour with a book and a cocktail, spend 5 minutes putting this together, sit back down with book and cocktail, wait 20 minutes and voila!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2009

      This turned out pretty tasty! I used a combination of red, yellow, and orange peppers that I already had chopped up, but I think it was around 1 cup, and about a can and a half of beans, though I did rinse them. I also added some red pepper flakes, chili powder, and cumin, because I wanted the extra flavor. Oh and I used a can of diced tomatoes instead of the fresh. I'll be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2008

      Yum!! I was not sure how I would like this, but the flavors blended together wonderfully! I made this for myself for a lunch. I think the beans were better by themselves instead of on the rice, but I think I messed up the rice so take that for what it is worth. My 19-yo daughter ate my leftovers later that day and told me they were "delicious!"

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 16, 2008

      Quick flavorful dish that I served as a side dish with enchiladas. Nice change from the usual refried beans and Mexican rice. The leftovers were great the next day for lunch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2008

      Very healthy and easy. I found it needed some salt, but that's the only change I made.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 17, 2008

      Super easy. We will definitely make this one again. I agree that this recipe is great for an 'I don't know what to have for dinner' night. I think a can of Rotel tomatoes would really be good in this, but wanted to try the recipe as is first. This is a wonderful, simple vegetarian dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2008

      This was a super easy weeknight dinner. I added salt and red pepper flakes, and I served it with a spoonful of sour cream on top. Yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 19, 2008

      Yummy dish! I didn't use bell pepper and used canned chopped tomatoes. I might add in some crushed red pepper next time, too! Thanks, ladypit!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2008

      This was really very easy. I added a teaspoon and a bit of cumin and it worked really well with the rest of the seasonings. I served with some brown rice. I bet this is the kind of recipe that would taste even better if it sat for a while because the flavors were developing even as I was eating it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 05, 2008

      Soo good!! I used a can of diced tomatoes, a yellow pepper,some garlic salt and crushed red pepper and served it over uncle ben's whole grain chicken rice. Thanks for a super quick and healthy meal!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Very nice combination of flavors and easy to make! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2007

      Nice. I made this super quickly and it was very easy. I added a bit of minced hot chilli and some liquid smoke and extra garlic. Next time I would add more spicing including some cumin, maybe some fresh coriander and a bit more chilli because that's how I like my beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2007

      this was so delicious - i used olive oil instead of cooking spray and i cooked the mixture for longer than recommended (not enough liquid was absorbed). the result was slightly sweet and this really added a nice zing. made with brown rice and veggie fajitas.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2007

      I had to break my silence with a first Zaar review. This is just what I was looking for- delicious simplicity in a bowl. I like the lack of seasonings, because the recipe has a subtle flavor of its own that's great for a light summer dinner.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 14, 2007

      Yumm! So easy, quick and healthy- You can't ask for more than that. A great weeknight meal. I served this with brown rice, whole wheat tortillas, fat free sour cream and hot sauce with a side of steamed veggies. I added a bit of cumin, chili powder and red pepper flakes, 'cause we like out beans spicy. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      I made a few alterations (when don't I??). I whizzed the onion, the pepper and the garlic in my hand processor until it was all little tiny bits. Then sauteed that for a while. I added a can of ground tomatoes (boys hate tomatoes so chunks don't go over well). I let that "stew" for a while and then threw it in my 5Q crockpot. I mixed in the beans, covered it and turned it up to high. I left it alone for 2 hours. Come dinner time, it was perfect! I am going to dish up the leftovers and freeze a few for some quick lunches down the road. Thank you for such a wonderful dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2007

      Loved it!!! I used canned tomatoes and added 1 Sazon seasoning packet when I put the tomatoes in. Served over quinoa. I will make this again many times.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Havana Beans

    Serving Size: 1 (240 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 140.3
     
    Calories from Fat 5
    59%
    Total Fat 0.5 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 465.9 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 27.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 9.9 g
    39%
    Sugars 3.5 g
    14%
    Protein 8.4 g
    16%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites