40 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I made this just as written except I added double the parsley and no cilantro because I forgot to purchase it. It was fantastic! The flavours are surprisingly complex and I found both the heat and the acidity to be right on. It was easy to prepare, inexpensive, and healthy! A winner!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Morrisseyist February 23, 2011

4 1/2 stars. This soup is fine. I didn't use cayenne but added a little baharat spice mix that had cayenne in it. I also through in some frozen mixed vegetables DH liked that I preferred it without just because they tasted like what they are, frozen vegetables. I don't think I will make this soup again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
UmmBinat July 19, 2010

This soup is easy to make and tastes wonderful. Once it was cooked I decided to to use my hand blender and roughly puree the soup. Even my kids liked it. Instead of using fresh tomatoes I had about 12oz. can that needed to be used up. Thanks for the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cilantro in Canada July 18, 2010

This was great! I made this because I knew it was to my taste, but the whole family liked it. My husband doesn't really like chickpeas except in hummus spread, but even he enjoyed this. My 18 month old stood at my side as I ate, demanding "Bite! Bite!" A definite winner.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SweetPeaNC May 05, 2010

This was ok. Too spicy for me! Left out the cilantro (personal taste). I added a little spinach since I thought it needed something more than just chick peas and onions and tomatoes. Next time I will start with less pepper and add to taste.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Quiltingqueen February 25, 2010

Absolutely wonderful!! I was going to share some of this soup with my neighbours.....but I just couldn't. Next time I make it I will. DH and I just love the combination of flavours. Made as written but did cut down on salt. Thank you Elizabeth for sharing. Made for African Recipe Fun.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvcook'n February 09, 2010

Not my favorite soup - too tangy (and I generally like tangy). I ended up pureeing it which helped mellow it out a bit. Also added sour cream in the bowl and that helped A LOT! 4 stars with sour cream!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Frankie&Johnny November 15, 2009

I made this soup along with Moroccan chicken stew#49815 and Moroccan carrot salad #152018 for my dbf's birthday dinner and it was a big hit. I stuck with the recipe except for adding extra chick peas because I'm a vegetarian and they are great protein and I also used half water, half veggie stock. It went together in no time and the flavors melded together wonderfully after simmering for about 45 minutes. These are the same kind of ingredients that go in to a lot of soups but it's the combination that makes it so unique. Easy preparation, rich full flavor and all that healthy stuff in one pot makes this one a keeper. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Glimmer February 18, 2009

The hot pepper in this infuses the broth in a way that's just amazing. I use canned garbanzo beans and tomatoes to make it faster, always add carrots, and have been known to toss in whatever other vegetables are left in the fridge at the end of the week.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Eat Your Vegetables! November 30, 2008

I'm not sure what the dry/soaked ratio is for the beans, but 1/2 of a 500g package (dry) worked well for me to double the given ingredients (I pre-cooked the garbanzos in the pressure cooker in order to cut the total cooking time). I did use maggi cubes to make the chicken broth. I skipped the hot pepper and the cilantro for the sake of my kids. I also sauteed the tomato (fresh) and a carrot along with the onions/garlic. I put about half the soup in a blender to thicken it up. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Miriachi May 29, 2014
Hasa Al Hummus -- Moroccan Chickpea Soup