Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Hasa Al Hummus -- Moroccan Chickpea Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Hasa Al Hummus -- Moroccan Chickpea Soup

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on February 23, 2011

      I made this just as written except I added double the parsley and no cilantro because I forgot to purchase it. It was fantastic! The flavours are surprisingly complex and I found both the heat and the acidity to be right on. It was easy to prepare, inexpensive, and healthy! A winner!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2010

      4 1/2 stars. This soup is fine. I didn't use cayenne but added a little baharat spice mix that had cayenne in it. I also through in some frozen mixed vegetables DH liked that I preferred it without just because they tasted like what they are, frozen vegetables. I don't think I will make this soup again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2010

      This soup is easy to make and tastes wonderful. Once it was cooked I decided to to use my hand blender and roughly puree the soup. Even my kids liked it. Instead of using fresh tomatoes I had about 12oz. can that needed to be used up. Thanks for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2010

      This was great! I made this because I knew it was to my taste, but the whole family liked it. My husband doesn't really like chickpeas except in hummus spread, but even he enjoyed this. My 18 month old stood at my side as I ate, demanding "Bite! Bite!" A definite winner.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2010

      This was ok. Too spicy for me! Left out the cilantro (personal taste). I added a little spinach since I thought it needed something more than just chick peas and onions and tomatoes. Next time I will start with less pepper and add to taste.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2010

      Absolutely wonderful!! I was going to share some of this soup with my neighbours.....but I just couldn't. Next time I make it I will. DH and I just love the combination of flavours. Made as written but did cut down on salt. Thank you Elizabeth for sharing. Made for African Recipe Fun.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2009

      Not my favorite soup - too tangy (and I generally like tangy). I ended up pureeing it which helped mellow it out a bit. Also added sour cream in the bowl and that helped A LOT! 4 stars with sour cream!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2009

      I made this soup along with Moroccan chicken stew#49815 and Moroccan carrot salad #152018 for my dbf's birthday dinner and it was a big hit. I stuck with the recipe except for adding extra chick peas because I'm a vegetarian and they are great protein and I also used half water, half veggie stock. It went together in no time and the flavors melded together wonderfully after simmering for about 45 minutes. These are the same kind of ingredients that go in to a lot of soups but it's the combination that makes it so unique. Easy preparation, rich full flavor and all that healthy stuff in one pot makes this one a keeper. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      The hot pepper in this infuses the broth in a way that's just amazing. I use canned garbanzo beans and tomatoes to make it faster, always add carrots, and have been known to toss in whatever other vegetables are left in the fridge at the end of the week.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2014

      I'm not sure what the dry/soaked ratio is for the beans, but 1/2 of a 500g package (dry) worked well for me to double the given ingredients (I pre-cooked the garbanzos in the pressure cooker in order to cut the total cooking time). I did use maggi cubes to make the chicken broth. I skipped the hot pepper and the cilantro for the sake of my kids. I also sauteed the tomato (fresh) and a carrot along with the onions/garlic. I put about half the soup in a blender to thicken it up. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2013

      Very good! I added a handful of rice toward the end just to bulk it up a tad. I only used about 2 tbsp. lemon juice. I think more would have been over the top. I always add lemon a little at a time. Learned a long time ago! I would definitely make this soup again. It's very flavorful. So easy, quick and cheap!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2013

      It is a fine soup but even though I followed the directions exactly mine didn't come out very flavorful, I don't know why. I like it because it is made out of real ingredients but if I make it again I would adjust something.<br/><br/>ETA I change it to 4 stars. It tasted much more flavorful and better after it was reheated 2 days later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Yummy :D, this is a keeper. I loved the lemon addition in particular but this soup has a deep flavor profile that hits the mark on several points. I must admit that I did use canned chickpeas (it went pretty fast that way, lol). Worth all 5 stars.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 06, 2012

      Nice easy soup, used 2 cans of chickpeas, 7 cups of water, added 1 can of tomatoes and 2 small carrots followed the rest of the recipe on spices, had 1 bunch of fresh asparagus and added them for the last 15 min of cooking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 03, 2011

      The aroma of this soup simmering away in the kitchen filled the whole house and had my mouth watering the entire time. I didn't add the pepper because not everyone in my house can eat spicy foods. The soup tasted really good, but I thought it might have been a little more flavourful because of how wonderful it smelled. I also added some leftover Arabian-styled grilled lamb that I'd chopped up. I would DEFINITELY make this again and again, probably doubling up the ingredients to make it heartier so it could stand alone as a meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 10, 2011

      I added some vegetable stock powder and about a teaspoon of sugar to make the flavour more satisfying.

      Overall a refreshing, light soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2011

      Followed the recipe to the nearly to the letter, and it is really, really good! Used a Serrano pepper with nearly all the seeds removed and the heat was perfect. We like things a bit hot. We both found ourselves adjusting the flavor to our personal tastes with a bit of extra lemon juice at the table.

      We have been straying away from the tradition meat/carb centered diet lately in favor of more vegetarian style dishes which have character and flavor. The result has been way more fun cooking, and various health benefits.

      Thanks for sharing this recipe....we loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 28, 2011

      Very good soup. Served each bowl over a scoop of rice to help make our lunches more filling. Might add some veggies next time (cauliflower, green beans, zucchini, carrot would all be good!). Great flavors, thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2011

      This has become one of my favorite soups and I make it regularly! It is easy to make and doesn't require much in the way of grocery shopping. I keep 3 cans of garbanzo beans on hand and stop to grab a large sweet onion, tomatoes, garlic, a serrano pepper, and organic Italian parsley. I haven't made this with dried garbanzo beans yet, but plan to someday...I use 3 cans instead. I also use 9 cups of water, a vegetable broth ice cube instead of the oil, and cut the salt in half. I also don't peel the tomatoes and I omit the coriander and increase the parsley to 1 cup. I also prefer it with hot paprika and increase the turmeric to 1 1/2 teaspoons. Thanks for posting this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 08, 2010

      Outstanding flavor! These herbs and spices are just right. The lemon juice adds an extra fresh burst of flavor. I made this using the optional tomatoes. This soup is not only big on flavor, bit it's healthy, filling, easy to make and inexpensive. I could eat this everyday. Thanx so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Hasa Al Hummus -- Moroccan Chickpea Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (475 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 179.3
     
    Calories from Fat 40
    22%
    Total Fat 4.5 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 799.9 mg
    33%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.0 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 7.6 g
    30%
    Sugars 6.5 g
    26%
    Protein 7.8 g
    15%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites