10 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These were easy to make. It takes longer for the temperature to reach 300 because you have to wait for the water to boil off. So, don't worry that it isn't going as fast as you think. Also, use a small pot so the liquid is deeper. I also did what another reviewer suggested and sprinkled a cookie sheet with sugar to set the apples on. I also took the left over candy and poured it into little tart pans and made candy discs. I will make this recipe again. Thanks for sharing.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
brian48195 November 08, 2009

I have a very similar recipe that I've been making for years. However, it just didn't taste like I remembered them. After trying your recipe today, I knew I had found the *Secret* ingredient. It has to be that tiny bit of cinnamon. What an amazing difference it makes. Thanks Chef Dee, for setting me straight.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diana #2 October 22, 2009

Very easy to make, and using the leftovers to make hard candy was a great idea! I added some extra cinnamon with the food coloring at the end to brighten up the flavor after cooking so long

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle_My_Belle October 29, 2010

This is very very close to my mom's recipe that she has been making every Halloween for 40 years. She sprinkles white sugar on the cookie sheets then sets the candied apples on that. They don't stick to the pans and they have a sugary bottom that hardens and makes it easier to wrap in plastic wrap. I prefer the candy to the candy apples anymore. There isnt many kids left at home anymore but on Halloween all the past kids come knocking on the door. It wouldnt be halloween without her candy apples.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KennKonn October 23, 2009

We just melted redhots down dip the apples in it. Let them setup in refrigerator. Alot easier.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
erose1311_12223251 October 28, 2014

I would like to emphasize that letting the liquid boil until it reaches 300 degrees is a CRUCIAL step to make this EASY Candy Apples! At the beginning, I brought the liquid to a rapid boil, added cinnamon and food coloring, then started dipping the apples. The candy coating didn't stay at all. I coated the apples twice. The result was still disappointing. I knew that I must be doing something wrong, then I went through the recipe again and noticed that I was supposed to let the liquid boil for a little longer. So I brought my saucepan back to high heat and watched the water boiling away. When I dipped the apples in this time, the coating stayed perfectly. It did firm up really quickly though. I would recommend working fast. Over all, this is a good recipe for Halloween!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen October 13, 2014

I am DEVESTATED. I made these for a very important event and used this recipe b/c it was supposed to be "easy". I did everything the resipe said and when I checked the apples this morning the candy on the apples never got hard and its like SYRUP. SO dissappointed.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marcey M. November 16, 2013

I love this recipe and I am in awe of your canada cooks section. As a fellow torontoanian, It is great to see someone with a real sence of toronto and canadian pride. Now,if only I could snatch some of the recipes I love from the CNE food building... that would be heaven!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shandibear June 25, 2005

Thank you I have been look for years for moms now I have it thank you again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
virgie_lowrance November 14, 2004

this recipe was wonderful

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
white1828 October 21, 2004
Halloween Candy Apples