Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Green Split Pea & Barley Soup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Green Split Pea & Barley Soup

    Average Rating:

    20 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 20

    Sort by:

    • on August 02, 2002

      This recipe is simple to prepare and is very tasty! The fresh dill and barley are a very nice touch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2009

      I thought this was a little too heavy on the onions, so next time I will just one instead of three, probably. But otherwise, it was really good and easy. I really like the addition of barley. I used dried dill, because I didn't have fresh, and also a dash of thyme.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2012

    • on February 04, 2012

      Both my spouse and I loved this recipe! I made it without any onions, using 2 Tablespoons of chicken bouillion and 1 Tablespoon of veggie bouillion and 12 cups water. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2011

      Use CAUTION if you are unsure of the dill. I added a little bit under a 1/4 of a cup and thought it was too much. Next time I will use an 1/8 cup. The soup was more like a stew. I may add some sausage next time. I will reduce the barley if I do.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      I was on my way to work and didn't have fresh dill so I just added some dried dill to my bowl for work. DH was doing a grocery stop on the way home so hopefully I will get to try this with the fresh dill. My broth was a combo of ham juice, water and chicken bouillon and I added the garlic. I love the barley!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      SOme of the best soup I have EVER HAD! I love pea soup but wanted something different. This was it. I loved the barley and the fresh dill. I added some chopped ham which gave this soup a nice mild smoky flavor. I will make this many times again. Super recipe. THanks so much for sharing!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2009

      This was excellent soup !!! I didn't quite have 2 cups of green split peas so I evened it out with the yellow. Which worked out great because it emptied both packages that I had left over. I also grated my carrots this time. I had used the vegetable broth but when I tasted it I found it a bit salty and a little thick so I had added about 5 cups more water, and that worked out perfect. I didn't add in the whole 1/4 cup of dill only because of personal taste it just looked like too much, so I probably put in 1 or 2 TBS of fresh dill which was good because I still get a dill flavor with just that amount and it does not overpower everything else. The flavors of everything is really delicious and I couldnt stop sampling it while cooking. I will be having a bowl at lunch on Weds. and can't wait. Definitely a keeper. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe Dancer

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2009

    • on January 28, 2009

      I made the soup last night and everyone loved it, especially the kids. I left out the dill and it was still delicious.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      Very tasty pea soup!! The chicken broth is a nice change from the traditional split pea and ham. I used 1/3 cup barley instead of 1/2 because I like my soup a little thinner. I also put all ingredients in the crock pot except oil and cooked on low all day. Yum!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2008

      Excellent soup, perfect on this freezing day! I used 1 1/2 cups yellow split peas, one huge carrot, one onion, green beans and potatoes (just what I had on hand). It came out great! I changed the cooking directions a bit. I fried the onion and 5 cloves of garlic first, then added the other veggies and peas, then the stock etc. Also, I kept the lid on the pot to prevent all the water from escaping (pot couldn't hold 12 cups, so only used about 8-9). With keeping the lid on, everything cooked within an hour, which was good because it smelled so great I wanted to eat it immediately! It's a thick and hearty soup that both I and my boyfriend enjoy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I liked this soup because it differs from traditional pea soup. It was more of a stew than a soup - maybe because of the barley. I served this with a dollop of sour cream which made a huge difference int he overall presentation and taste. I think next time I make this I will use less dill because it was just a tiny bit overpowering. But, I certainly will make this yummy soup again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2008

      I cooked this as written. It came out good. I didn't like it. The barley overpowered everything. I am not the only person in the house, so I'll give you both sides. "It is the only split pea soup I'll ever eat".

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I do not cook regularly so I don't have much experience with food prep. I made this soup and it was a breeze to prepare and it was delicious. The only variation to the recipe from my part was the broth was made from powdered chicken consommé. Highly recommended to the experienced (for taste and flavor) and the novice (for ease of prep).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2007

      This is a really nice soup. Healthy and full of flavor, I loved it. I used chicken broth, but next time will use a vegetable so to let all the other flavors come through a little more. I also used fresh dill which I think made all the difference. Great soup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2007

      SO quick, easy to do! DEFINATE keeper for me too! Added 3 medium potatos as I like soup that's thick! TERRIFIC!!! Thanks for sharing! Did I say this recipe is QUICK?? :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2007

      This soup was really, really good! Mine was YELLOW Split Pea & Barley soup though, because I used yellow split peas which I had on hand. The yellow peas made this look like a bowl of rich corn chowder. I used chicken broth for the liquid. The fresh dill and the brown onions really added a wonderful flavor to the soup. This recipe is a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2005

      This recipe was fantastic! All the ingredients went together really well--great flavors & textures!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2004

      ..a good pea soup..it was ready after 1 1/2 hrs, so I added the browned onions and used dried dill in place of fresh..also grated my carrots instead of slicing them..I did use garlic..we also added a bit of cooked ham at the end..thanks for the recipe Dancer!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Green Split Pea & Barley Soup

    Serving Size: 1 (332 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 166.8
     
    Calories from Fat 11
    65%
    Total Fat 1.3 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 32.5 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 30.6 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 10.7 g
    42%
    Sugars 4.7 g
    19%
    Protein 9.4 g
    18%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites