Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Greek-Style Oven Fries Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek-Style Oven Fries

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on February 24, 2002

      Fantastic! I marinated the potatoes in the mix for a while before I baked them-once had a greek boyfriend and that's how he did it-and I used fresh oregano as I have heaps of it growing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2002

      Had to make these to see what all the fuss was about. Mirjam, I'm pleased to join the bandwagon. These fries are spectacular! The lemon and spices really came through! I used the same spices on a nice Porterhouse steak which I put in the Geroge Foreman grill. McDonald's fries right about now pale by comparison to these!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 04, 2002

      This is possibly one of the best recipes I have tried on Zaar to date! They are wonderful! The lemon juice really does give them a "kick". I added 2 more potatoes and cut them up like french fries, they are terrrific!! I highly recommend this recipe, and make sure to double it because you won't have enough!! Yes they ARE THAT GOOD!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2002

      I didn't cut these into the big wedges called for, I sliced them more thinly (personal perference) and cooked 'em on a baking stone. These were fabulous, fabulous, fabulous! We used fresh oregano, but the thing that really made these were the tang of lemon that developed in the aftertaste. Very, very good! Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      Well said I "why is everyone raving over these Geek potatoes?" Well I found out , they are excellent! I did them on my bakiing stone and they came out crisp on the bottom and just the right texture for the potatoe. I marinated them for about 3 hours in the fridge and put in 2 extra cloves of garlic. I used fresh oregano Thanks Mirjam for another winner

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2002

      Beware of "skinny" potatoes! I buy long thin russets as baking potatoes because they cook faster. I cut them into 8 wedges, but it wasn't until the directions said to place them skin side down that I realized I had made a mistake. My wedges were slices, too thin to stand up. I reduced the cooking time, but they still were dry. The good news - the flavor is wonderful. I will certainly make this again with more "rounded" potatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2002

      These were outstanding. I did let the potatoes marinate about 1 hour and used fresh oregano, because I had some on hand. Wonderful flavor and a great change from regular fries. Next time, I will double the recipe. Thanks for a great idea.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 17, 2002

      Loved this recipe. So quick & easy but has a wonderful flavor & aroma. My son had seconds and he usually will not touch anything with lemon in it. (He didn't even notice). Great side to self in a pinch. Thanks it will become a regular!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2002

      Fantastic and so simple. I used a bit more oregano and also added some dried parsley. I made them as a side dish for steaks the other night, and they were quite a hit. My mother (who is Greek) used to make a very similar marinade for her baked chicken and potato dish. Maybe I will post it later...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 06, 2002

      These were "ok", but I would have added more garlic and basted them in oil.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2002

      Loved these potatoes! The lemon and garlic add a really wonderful flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2002

      These were pretty good. I liked the flavours and thought they came together easily for a quick meal. I did find they burned really quickly though, rather than browned, so watch those taters while they're cooking!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2002

      YOU'VE GOT TO BE KIDDING!!.....3 potatoes is no where nearly enough! THEY ARE JUST TOOOOO DELICIOUS! I used Yukon Gold potatoes (marinated them overnight only because it was more convenient to do it then) and used fresh oregano that is now plentiful in my herb garden. What a wonderful flavor and such a great addition to an ordinary meal. I will certainly be making these over and over again. Thanks, Mirjam.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2002

      Mirj. Hey girlfriend these were absolutely delicious! I'm not into cooking real difficult meals lately so DH BBQ'ed some chicken and I made these. YUM, YUM, YUM! I took Jan's advice and let them marinate for a while, they were finger lickin good!! My dad is 100% Greek and he really enjoyed them also. Thanks Mirj. these are a favorite now in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      These were really great! Turned out crispy enough, too. Fixed a seasoned yogurt dip for the fries; had yogurt, lemon juice, oregano, salt, pepper, and garlic powder in it. Awesome! Really accented the flavor of the fries! Thanks Mirjam, this recipe deserves more than 5 stars! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2002

      These have become a favorite at our house...we love them. We like them spicey so we add red pepper...and variety with some lime juice.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 13, 2002

      These are excellent. Nice change from the same old french fries, etc.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      Whoops, I didn't realize I didn't write anything in my previous review... I like the fact that you're supposed to leave the skins on, and I'll probably be making it again... But I have to say that I didn't find it as WOW as some of the other reviewers apparentally did. Sorry.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2002

      We had these for dinner tonight with Octoberfest sausages and veggies. I did'nt have baking potatoes at home so I just used regular potatoes and peeled them. They were still wonderful although I will get baking potatoes for next time. The flavour was so nice. Thanks Mirjam, for a recipe I will make again and again. (So easy to do, too).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2002

      This is a god recipe, I have a similair one somewhere..not suer about the exact amount of each ingredient, their authentic greek lemon potatoes, I learned from my greek boyfriend's mom. You take lemon juice, add a bit of water, pour over potatoe wedges, add salt & pepper, and a little cinnimon. VERY good :) Goes good with lamb, or lemon chicken.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek-Style Oven Fries

    Serving Size: 1 (92 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 75.4
     
    Calories from Fat 14
    18%
    Total Fat 1.5 g
    2%
    Saturated Fat 0.2 g
    1%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 99.9 mg
    4%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.4 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 1.3 g
    5%
    Sugars 0.7 g
    2%
    Protein 1.3 g
    2%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites