Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Greek Pita Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greek Pita Bread

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on September 08, 2010

      Oh, my. If you haven't made this recipe before, please double it - if you don't, you'll wish you had! I made the dough in my mixer using the dough hook and let it run for 10 minutes. I did use the full 2 hours of rising time. I rolled out all my pitas and stacked them, then baked them 2 at a time in a 350 oven. We didn't want pocket pita, so baked just 3 minutes per side for soft, foldable pitas. I do think 1/4 inch is a little too thick - I think mine were about half that, but I might go 1/4 inch if I was going to make the pocket pita. Easy and tasty - beats the heck out of store bought. These would be great to make ahead of time and freeze - which is what I plan on doing this weekend. Thanks for a great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2013

      This makes fantastic pita bread. I made gyros tonight and the bread was perfect. I made the whole thing even though there's just the 2 of us. After reading the reviews, I figured I could eat it with dip or make pizzas later with the remaining bread. Yummy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2012

      We really enjoyed these with Pork Souvlaki though I would recommend rolling them out thinner, about 1/8th inch, for this. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2011

    • on September 22, 2010

      I was making a test run on this recipe before I made ground beef gyros tomorrow and WOW , these are easy and perfect. My DH just stole two to go with humus. I will probably have to make a second batch for the gyros tomorrow, I know my kids will eat them once they are home from school. Thanks for sharing.This is definitely a keeper. The only thing I did differently was used my bread machine like another reviewer did and it really made this simple.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      This recipe was simple and satisfying. The texture was light and chewy and was perfect with a suvlaki salad and lemon granita to finish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      really good and very easy. My 3 kids (including the 1 yr old) LOVED them, plain and with hummus. The extras kept very well in a ziploc and worked great as crust for kids to make their own pizzas a couple days later. Thanks for the tip to fry them before eating (just like the restaurant), but they also taste great after 10-15 seconds in the microwave. Next time I'll double the batch and freeze them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2010

      If you have a breadmachine, just substitute breadmachine flour (eg..better for bread flour) and put all the ingredients into the breadmachine in the order listed. Select "dough" setting and keep an eye on it to see if you need to add more water. I had to add about 1/2 cup more water to make the dough pliable. Follow the remaining directions once the dough is ready. I baked and fried some to eat that night and froze the rest after they were baked and cooled. Later, I defrosted them and fried them in olive oil right before serving. Both methods turned out deliciously soft yet firm enough for dipping in tzatziki sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2009

      These taste just like the restaraunt style ones! Very easy! I added the oil to the dough with wet ingredients. I also baked at 375 for 2-3 minutes per side. 350 was taking about 5-7 minutes per side. I stored them in a warm pan covered in foil until ready to serve and leftovers in the fridge in a zipper bag. Four days later they are still as good as when I made them fresh. I just microwave them for about 10 seconds per pita.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 26, 2009

      A little bit time consuming, but well worth the effort! The size I rolled mine to yielded 12-15 smaller pitas. The pan frying tip really makes these delicious! And the house smelled like a bakery for the rest of the day. Perfect addition to my homemade hummus.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2009

      We LOVE these! I made the first batch normal sized and the second a bit smaller for my kids. They love to take pitas to school to make "Pizza" instead of the schools lunch. We freeze them, so this is by far one of the easiest and BEST recipes that I use all the time! Thanks BayouSonng for posting such a helpful recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2008

      turned out great, in my convection oven it took 4 minutes on each side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2008

      Simple and easy! 5 stars for simplicity, taste is just basic pita bread, great with good seasoning or dip! Will use again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2008

      Very good, didn't change a thing. I also felt it needed the full 2 hrs to rise. Baked them on a baking stone, and as I've never made pita before, I was feeling my way through when to pull them, as they weren't the slightest bit brown when I flipped them after 3 minutes. I ended up leaving them for 4 minutes on each side & they seem perfect. Will definitely use this recipe again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2008

      Takes some work, but is so worth it. Make a double batch if you want some left over because they will go fast. My son ate three before I was done baking all of them. In my oven they needed 4 minutes per side.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 15, 2007

      We love this pita bread!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This recipe is ridiculously easy to make, and it turns out perfectly every time. I didn't have to adjust any of the ingredients at all. Also, I found that it took the full two hours to rise. I'd suggest doubling this recipe, cause you'll go through it in no time, and if not, it freezes quite nicely.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      This turned out WONDERFULLY!! Warm and fluffy. My husband LOVED it - he ate it with some garlic butter and now wants me to make it all the time. And as far as the recipe is concerned all ingredients for me were RIGHT on the money. I didn't have to add any more flour or water. I try so many different recipes and so many of them I never make again - this is one I will definitely be making again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greek Pita Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (900 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2004.3
     
    Calories from Fat 169
    43%
    Total Fat 18.7 g
    28%
    Saturated Fat 2.6 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 4674.5 mg
    194%
    Total Carbohydrate 396.2 g
    132%
    Dietary Fiber 14.8 g
    59%
    Sugars 13.9 g
    55%
    Protein 53.6 g
    107%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes