18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Oh, my. If you haven't made this recipe before, please double it - if you don't, you'll wish you had! I made the dough in my mixer using the dough hook and let it run for 10 minutes. I did use the full 2 hours of rising time. I rolled out all my pitas and stacked them, then baked them 2 at a time in a 350 oven. We didn't want pocket pita, so baked just 3 minutes per side for soft, foldable pitas. I do think 1/4 inch is a little too thick - I think mine were about half that, but I might go 1/4 inch if I was going to make the pocket pita. Easy and tasty - beats the heck out of store bought. These would be great to make ahead of time and freeze - which is what I plan on doing this weekend. Thanks for a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pinay0618 September 08, 2010

This makes fantastic pita bread. I made gyros tonight and the bread was perfect. I made the whole thing even though there's just the 2 of us. After reading the reviews, I figured I could eat it with dip or make pizzas later with the remaining bread. Yummy!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
musicallife March 20, 2013

We really enjoyed these with Pork Souvlaki though I would recommend rolling them out thinner, about 1/8th inch, for this. Thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dr Nick February 11, 2012

I was making a test run on this recipe before I made ground beef gyros tomorrow and WOW , these are easy and perfect. My DH just stole two to go with humus. I will probably have to make a second batch for the gyros tomorrow, I know my kids will eat them once they are home from school. Thanks for sharing.This is definitely a keeper. The only thing I did differently was used my bread machine like another reviewer did and it really made this simple.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jln's mom September 22, 2010

This recipe was simple and satisfying. The texture was light and chewy and was perfect with a suvlaki salad and lemon granita to finish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Coral_Jayne July 10, 2010

really good and very easy. My 3 kids (including the 1 yr old) LOVED them, plain and with hummus. The extras kept very well in a ziploc and worked great as crust for kids to make their own pizzas a couple days later. Thanks for the tip to fry them before eating (just like the restaurant), but they also taste great after 10-15 seconds in the microwave. Next time I'll double the batch and freeze them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mjayling1 May 19, 2010

If you have a breadmachine, just substitute breadmachine flour (eg..better for bread flour) and put all the ingredients into the breadmachine in the order listed. Select "dough" setting and keep an eye on it to see if you need to add more water. I had to add about 1/2 cup more water to make the dough pliable. Follow the remaining directions once the dough is ready. I baked and fried some to eat that night and froze the rest after they were baked and cooled. Later, I defrosted them and fried them in olive oil right before serving. Both methods turned out deliciously soft yet firm enough for dipping in tzatziki sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
surf April 26, 2010

These taste just like the restaraunt style ones! Very easy! I added the oil to the dough with wet ingredients. I also baked at 375 for 2-3 minutes per side. 350 was taking about 5-7 minutes per side. I stored them in a warm pan covered in foil until ready to serve and leftovers in the fridge in a zipper bag. Four days later they are still as good as when I made them fresh. I just microwave them for about 10 seconds per pita.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amensista December 29, 2009

A little bit time consuming, but well worth the effort! The size I rolled mine to yielded 12-15 smaller pitas. The pan frying tip really makes these delicious! And the house smelled like a bakery for the rest of the day. Perfect addition to my homemade hummus.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hadice August 26, 2009
Greek Pita Bread