Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth

    Average Rating:

    14 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-14 of 14

    Sort by:

    • on September 11, 2014

      These are not any better than frys heated to 325 and held till limp them taken out. Then fried at 365. This is the old way that has been done for years.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2011

      These are awesome! I had trouble getting french fries to taste good...couldnt figure it out but they always came out hard or mushy..this is a great recipe and THE ONLY way i will make fries again.Thanks PeterJ

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2010

      These fries are really good; a little time consuming, but well worth it! Made as is and they came out perfect; tender inside and nice and crispy on the outside. I seasoned with a lot of kosher salt. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2010

      I have had this recipe saved forever - very intrigued by that 'Greatest Chips on Earth' title. These fries are pretty dang good! I did use my deep fryer (vegetable oil) with a thermometer. It is troublesome, but, they are worth it! Tender on the inside and crispy on the outside, just as promised. I made these for DH's Father's Day dinner. Needless to say, they were definitely enjoyed. Thanks for sharing, Peter J. Made for ZWT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2010

      These were good fries. Blanching them first was a great idea. Thanks for sharing. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      These were so crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside! Now I know how to make french fries the way I like them! We had these with Drive-In Hamburgers for a yummy dinner tonight. Thanks so much for sharing! I recipenapped your recipe for the November 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2009

      A little time consuming but wow...fantastic results! Fluffy on the inside and remarkably crisp on the out. Sprinkled with Nostamini (my favourite spice mix) they made a fab afternoon snack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2009

      I have to agree with the other reviewers, these chips are worth the extra time and steps to make. They were nice and soft in the middle without being soggy and greasy. This is the best homemade french fries I have ever made. Made for July, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2009

      Keeper! So much cooking process but definitely worth it. They had this crunchy non soggy texture on the outside and it's soft inside. I boiled them in the microwave to hasten the cooking then strained,fried,strained,fried them. Boiling the fries before cooking is a first for me, but it sure is fab. We'll definitely be making this Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth part of our menu often. YUM!! Thanks for sharing! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2008

      I agree with Sydney Mike I too wish I had discovered these years ago. This has got to be the best chip recipe. You can enjoy good fat chips, which we love, beautifully crispy on the outside with a perfectly cooked center. I had never thought of pre-cooking in water but the end result is outstanding. A little bit more effort to make but so well worth it and I will be making my chips like this from now on. Thanks Peter!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      After reading the other reviews, I knew I had to try these! OUTSTANDING, ABSOLUTELY! Wish I'd gotten onto these earlier in the year, but still I'll be making these throughout the fall & winter, too! Thanks for the recipe! [Made & reviewed as a kidnapped recipe in the Aus/NZ Special Recipe Swap #19]

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      Indeed, they ARE...the greatest french fries on earth. I do wish they weren't so time-consuming...but they are easy, easy, easy. I would think this is the perfect way to prepare fries in large amounts, for parties, etc., a batch at a time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2008

      oooh wow! i really liked the way these fries came out! they were just the right amount of crunch! if you've got time to make these fries, i'd definately recommend them! this method makes a huge difference in the end result! thanks peter! made for recipe swap 17!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2008

      Wow, these look great! I haven't tried this method yet, but I can tell from the photo that they are nice and crispy and firm. Great for when you use Malt vinegar and ketchup on them like I do. Can't have a soggy fry! Thanks so much for sharing this with us Peter! Linda

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth

    Serving Size: 1 (166 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 128.3
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    51%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 10.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 29.1 g
    9%
    Dietary Fiber 3.6 g
    14%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes