14 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

These are not any better than frys heated to 325 and held till limp them taken out. Then fried at 365. This is the old way that has been done for years.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TomW1 September 11, 2014

These are awesome! I had trouble getting french fries to taste good...couldnt figure it out but they always came out hard or mushy..this is a great recipe and THE ONLY way i will make fries again.Thanks PeterJ

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
petlover January 21, 2011

These fries are really good; a little time consuming, but well worth it! Made as is and they came out perfect; tender inside and nice and crispy on the outside. I seasoned with a lot of kosher salt. Made for AUS/NZ Recipe Swap #47.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AZPARZYCH December 22, 2010

I have had this recipe saved forever - very intrigued by that 'Greatest Chips on Earth' title. These fries are pretty dang good! I did use my deep fryer (vegetable oil) with a thermometer. It is troublesome, but, they are worth it! Tender on the inside and crispy on the outside, just as promised. I made these for DH's Father's Day dinner. Needless to say, they were definitely enjoyed. Thanks for sharing, Peter J. Made for ZWT.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
alligirl June 21, 2010

These were good fries. Blanching them first was a great idea. Thanks for sharing. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Midge Plourde June 07, 2010

These were so crispy on the outside and fluffy on the inside! Now I know how to make french fries the way I like them! We had these with Drive-In Hamburgers for a yummy dinner tonight. Thanks so much for sharing! I recipenapped your recipe for the November 2009 Aussie/NZ recipe swap. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef on the coast November 08, 2009

A little time consuming but wow...fantastic results! Fluffy on the inside and remarkably crisp on the out. Sprinkled with Nostamini (my favourite spice mix) they made a fab afternoon snack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Stardustannie September 08, 2009

I have to agree with the other reviewers, these chips are worth the extra time and steps to make. They were nice and soft in the middle without being soggy and greasy. This is the best homemade french fries I have ever made. Made for July, 2009 Aussie/NZ Swap.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Crafty Lady 13 July 12, 2009

Keeper! So much cooking process but definitely worth it. They had this crunchy non soggy texture on the outside and it's soft inside. I boiled them in the microwave to hasten the cooking then strained,fried,strained,fried them. Boiling the fries before cooking is a first for me, but it sure is fab. We'll definitely be making this Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth part of our menu often. YUM!! Thanks for sharing! Made for Aus Recipe Swap #26.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pneuma March 21, 2009

I agree with Sydney Mike I too wish I had discovered these years ago. This has got to be the best chip recipe. You can enjoy good fat chips, which we love, beautifully crispy on the outside with a perfectly cooked center. I had never thought of pre-cooking in water but the end result is outstanding. A little bit more effort to make but so well worth it and I will be making my chips like this from now on. Thanks Peter!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Flying Chef November 30, 2008
Greatest Chips (French Fries) on Earth