34 Reviews

I enjoyed this for breakfast this morning! I found it to be sweet enough with the apples and apple juice, so I didn't need the brown sugar. I'm going to try this with some other fruits and spices. This is a quick and easy breakfast, and one that I'll enjoy often. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
breezermom August 28, 2011

We enjoy a similar oatmeal often in the winter. Since there are just the 2 of us, I cook it in 2 bowls in the microwave. I also add a variety of dried fruits to change it up, such as chopped apricots, cranberries, dates, etc., softening the chopped fresh apple + any dried fruits in the water/milk first before adding the old-fashioned oats. When fully cooked, I stire in 1 tsp. ground flax seed to each serving and sprinkle the top with 2 tsp. chopped pecans.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TexasGal #2 July 14, 2014

The DS has been hounding me to make him porridge for quite some time so I made a one serve of this for him using the optional milk though not the brown sugar at the end and I used 1/2 a pink lady apple (leaving skin on) and he thoroughly enjoyed his breakfast, thank you Annacia made for Name that Ingredient tag game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I'mPat January 06, 2014

The first time I made it I didn't think it was amazing, but definitely edible. The second time I made it with pears and lemonade instead of water and apple juice. MUCH BETTER.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
timhammond October 04, 2013

Good breakfast. I did have to add in some brown sugar, but not much. I used a Gala apple since that's what I had on hand. Made for Zaar Chef Alphabet soup game.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
StacyMD187373 April 27, 2013

Made as written except for subbing a Fuji apple and cooking the oatmeal an additional 5 minutes (old fashioned oatmeal that I wanted to be sure cooked long enough.) A most delicious, hearty, quick, easy and satisfying breakfast! Made for SUN and SPICE EVENT/NA*ME/Veg forums.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl February 15, 2013

wow oh wow this is good everyone should try this added some raisins .mr picky said it tasted better with brown sugar i thought it was sweet enough . everyone should try this one awesome

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dienia B. November 14, 2012

Other than doubling the recipe for the 2 of us, I followed it right on down & we had a very nice breakfast bowl! Sweet & enjoyable, just as we like it! Thanks for sharing the recipe! [Made & reviewed in Zaar Stars recipe tag]

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sydney Mike December 30, 2011

Yum. I eat a mixture of oatmeal and multigrain hot cereal (PC Brand) for a microwave breakfast at work each morning, topped with some defrosted field berries, so I gave this delicious combination the same treatment at home today. I doubled the quantity and placed it in a microwaveable bowl for 4 minutes (because of the apples, usually it's 3:30 for just the cereal and water). It came out smelling delicious and tasting wonderful - particularly after being away from home for two weeks, staying at a hotel and eating muffins and bananas for breakfast! This is definately my new favourite hot cereal for work! I admit to light sprinkling of sugar in the raw on top. Thanks so much, Annacia! It was a wonderful hot breakfast! Made for Veggie Swap 30, January 2011.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen February 13, 2011

Thanksgiving morning breakfast here! I used apple cider from our local orchard (no extra sugar), and a Cortland apple. I omitted the salt, went a little heavier on the cinnamon and a little lighter on the nutmeg. Didn't need my usual brown sugar or milk, it's great this way! Made for the Veggie Swap November 2010.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Diann is Cooking November 25, 2010
Golden Apple Oatmeal