Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Gingery Chickpeas in Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingery Chickpeas in Spicy Tomato Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 18, 2010

      For the days when I want to eat meatless, this is a STAPLE. I've been making it for about a year. I make this on the stovetop exactly as written, except I add some bell peppers and mushrooms with the onion, add sriacha (hot sauce) or red pepper flakes for heat - and serve with brown rice and grated Parmesan on top. Really tasty, super healthy meal! Thanks for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2013

      This is so easy even I can do it! haha but really this is a delicious, pretty healthy, fast dish to make. I love it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 06, 2012

      I have tried several chickpea-tomato dishes, and this is by far the best. Very flavorful, though I added about a 1/2 tsp of chili paste for some extra heat. Next time I think I'll try adding a can of coconut milk, as well. We eat vegetarian and vegan as much as we can, and this is a quick, easy, and cheap meal. It worked great in the slow cooker.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2012

      I enjoyed this a lot. Love the fact that it was really quick and easy, prefect for a hectic Monday. I messed up and added too much balsamic vinegar and forgot the garlic but it was still tasty.

      This is probably going to be a regular in my rotation of meals, especially when I am really busy and want something tasty and light.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2011

      Yum, Yumm, Yummy! I added extra ginger because I like it and used fire roasted tomatoes. Thank you for sharing - it's a mandatory meal around here!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2011

      This is delicious! The seasoning is wonderful, though if I get in that curry mood, I may make it with a bit of curry powder as well. The green onions at the end are a superb touch, too, adding a little touch of freshness to the dish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      Excellent, excellent. Just the right amount of spice. I'd make this again in a flash. I used fresh ginger, maybe a little more than the recipe called for. Very easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 08, 2010

      We aren't vegetarians but i'm looking for new veggie recipes to use once a week. This was really great and I will definitely make again. Even my husband (who is not always a fan of non-meat dishes) loved it. Made it with Cilantro Rice and this took it through the roof flavor-wise! They really do compliment each other perfectly! Next time I may try adding cauliflower as other reviewers have suggested. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2009

      This is the only recipe that makes chickpeas yummy. I made a couple of additions. I used leftover tomato sauce instead of diced tomatoes. I also added chopped celery which gave it a great contrast to the chickpeas. To make it thicker, I mixed in leftover rice. The hardest part was waiting for it to finish simmering. This smells and tastes SO GOOD!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I must say this was really good. Especially if you like ginger. I made it from dried chick peas that I cooked than used part of them for this recipe. Did not alter anything. This is keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2009

      Very good and easy! I added cauliflower, it would also go well with potatoes. If you are used to spicy foods, this is not spicy. I think next time I'll add curry powder or cayenne to spice it up.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2009

      Delicious... made it exact except for using ground ginger about 1 tablespoon - and it was wonderful - every one like it and ate it up :) we served it with warmed pitas... i will make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      Very tasty and filling recipe. I did not have cumin on hand, so I did without and it still tasted delicious. I will have to try it with cumin next time because that is one of my favorite spices.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2009

      What a lovely dish! Easy, healthy, fragrant and delicious! I followed the recipe exactly, right down to serving with a salad and some naan. Just super!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 11, 2009

      Perfection plus here. As others have mentioned a great sauce for the special little chickpea, so how could you go wrong? I followed this exactly and served this on top of fresh thick sliced tomatoes. Yum! The chickpeas had the perfect pop for the tomato and the sauce! Well....just excellent. I had dried chickpeas that I made the day prior of using. I used fresh green pepper and jalapeno peppers (chopped) for the topping. Made for Everyday is a Holiday! May 2009

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2009

      The sauce on this is fabulous. I love the blend of flavors! I wonder what other veggies I could add in.... thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      i'm eating this right now and it's great! the seasoning is perfect. i used dried chickpeas and skimped on the soaking time a bit, so they aren't quite soft enough. can't blame that on the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2009

      Always on the hunt for vegetarian recipes that are WW point friendly. Add to that economical and great tasting and this recipe scores all around. The flavors are wonderful with a nice hit of ginger that creates a peppery warmth without being hot. I found that I needed a little more liquid after cooking for 30 minutes and added 1/2 cup of fat free broth. Served it on top of cauliflower which next time I would cook right in the dish so that it would absorb some of the taste of the dish. Thanks! Made for the Went to the Market Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 05, 2009

      I knew I was going to love this just by the fragrant smell coming from the pot as it simmered. This is a delicious, filling meatless dish. I made this just as written using the stovetop method. If you don't have green onions for garnish, I think fresh cilantro would be a great substitute. Thanx for sharing this healthy, inexpensive recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingery Chickpeas in Spicy Tomato Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (302 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 227.8
     
    Calories from Fat 38
    16%
    Total Fat 4.2 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.5 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 820.4 mg
    34%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.5 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 8.3 g
    33%
    Sugars 4.5 g
    18%
    Protein 8.6 g
    17%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes