Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Gingerbread Oatmeal Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Gingerbread Oatmeal Bread

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on July 25, 2011

      After reading all the reviews on this recipe I decided to add 2 tbsp of brown sugar to my bread.This made it just sweet enough.Even with all the spices it is not overpowering at all.It's like a cinnamon raisin bread without the raisins.This bread is quite dense and doesn't rise very high but it sure tastes good!I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat.I did all this the traditional way without a bread maker.Here are the steps I took:
      Put yeast,1 cup water & 2 tbsp of brown sugar into bowl,stir to dissolve.Let sit about 10 minutes until frothy.Add salt,molasses and oil;mix.Add oats,cinnamon,ginger,nutmeg,cloves and 2 cups flour and mix together.Add remaining 1 cup flour as needed until the dough is no longer sticky.Put dough into greased bowl and let rise for 1 hour.Punch down and form into 3 even balls.Put into greased bread pan and let rise 1/2- 1 hour.Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.Cool on rack.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Great bread, I loved the unusual mix of spices! I enjoyed it toasted with a little bit of butter on it. My home smelled just like a Bavarian bakery while making this, tempting me all afternoon! The only issue I had was that all of the edges of my bread ended up burning except for the top using my bread machine. I wasn't sure the weight of the bread, so I set it to the 2 lb loaf. I would recommend using the 1.5 lb setting instead. After cutting the edges all off, the inside tasted great. Thanks Charmie! Made for ZWT6-Oma's Challenge by a fellow Looney Spoon :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2010

      I think that this bread has potential, but I just didn't really like it too much. It was very dense and kinda flavorless. Maybe with some sugar, like another reviewer recommended. My bread was also a lot darker than the pictures, so maybe I need a lighter molasses?

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      Oh, yeah, the house smelled like the holidays as this was baking. I didn't have the problems some others had. This turned out to be a lovely high and soft loaf with just enough ginger taste to taste like gingerbread, but not so much that it overpowered the bread and turned it into a cookie. I used this to make Applesauce Sandwiches for DD for breakfast and she loved it (even though I forgot the cinnamon sugar!). Thanks for a new bread for my keeper files. Made for ZWT4

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2006

      Well I don't like to be in the minority either. This bread smelled good cooking, but just had very little taste for me inspite of the spices. I had to add about a 1/2 cup more of water. It is very dense and heavy which was ok, but very bland. Now haven said that dh liked it, course he put some peach mango jam on his. I used 1/4 cup molasses also. I may try it again though to give it another chance. this am I will toast soem up and add some strawberry jam. I personally think the bread needs a bit of sugar. But still it is a good bm recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 15, 2006

      Yuumm!! My family loved this bread. I used the larger amount of ginger as I love a spicy bread. It was perfect!! I am going to try this in a bread pudding. I think the spices in the bread will work wonderfully. I will be making this bread again. Thank you for sharing...it is definitely a keeper!! I'm glad that I chose to make this bread for the Zaar World Tour 2006.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      This was pretty good bread. easy and quick to throw together and smelled great while cooking, thanks for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      Wonderfully different, dense, slightly sweet and spice filled bread. LOVED it! Smells amazing and tastes fabulous! Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2006

      I'm sorry to say that this bread didn't tickle the taste buds for my family. I thought I would like it a lot, but the molasses was just too overpowering.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2006

      This smelled so good baking! I really liked the flavor too. The ginger came through and the other spices were balanced. I didn't find it overly sweet at all and used it with thinly sliced turkey for sandwiches. Yum! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2006

      Loved this bread! Oh it smells divine!!! I wanted it for sandwiches so I only used 1/4 cup molasses. I also used the bread machine cycle and then baked it in the oven at 350 for about 35 minutes. The aroma was to die for!! This bread is awesome for roast beef with horseradish or even a crab salad sandwich. We made some with wasabi mayo that was a great combo with the sweet bread. Wonderful Recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2006

      I hate to rate these low but I really didn't like it. I admit though the smell was heavenly and it was the easiest loaf to cut that I had made out of my bread machine yet! The problem for me was it wasn't sweet enough at all! I also thought the molasses was strong for my taste buds too! Sorry Charmie77 for having to rate this low but I appreicate you posting the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 14, 2006

      This is a wonderful breadmachine recipe. I used the 1 1/2 pound loaf size to program my machine and it worked perfectly. Excellent texture for slicing thin. The flavors of this bread makes excellent morning toast served with orange marmalade, or a sugar/cinnamon mixture. I will certainly be making this recipe again! Thanks so much, Charmie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 11, 2006

      I agree with PanNan's assessment of this perfectly browned bread as "dense but soft and tender". It baked up beautifully and the fragrance as it was baking nearly drove me crazy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2005

      I loved the spicy ginger flavor of this bread. It has a nice texture, too. Dense, but soft and tender. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Gingerbread Oatmeal Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (912 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 2325.2
     
    Calories from Fat 213
    17%
    Total Fat 23.7 g
    36%
    Saturated Fat 3.5 g
    17%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2413.6 mg
    100%
    Total Carbohydrate 475.1 g
    158%
    Dietary Fiber 22.9 g
    91%
    Sugars 95.6 g
    382%
    Protein 52.6 g
    105%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites