15 Reviews

After reading all the reviews on this recipe I decided to add 2 tbsp of brown sugar to my bread.This made it just sweet enough.Even with all the spices it is not overpowering at all.It's like a cinnamon raisin bread without the raisins.This bread is quite dense and doesn't rise very high but it sure tastes good!I used half all purpose flour and half whole wheat.I did all this the traditional way without a bread maker.Here are the steps I took:
Put yeast,1 cup water & 2 tbsp of brown sugar into bowl,stir to dissolve.Let sit about 10 minutes until frothy.Add salt,molasses and oil;mix.Add oats,cinnamon,ginger,nutmeg,cloves and 2 cups flour and mix together.Add remaining 1 cup flour as needed until the dough is no longer sticky.Put dough into greased bowl and let rise for 1 hour.Punch down and form into 3 even balls.Put into greased bread pan and let rise 1/2- 1 hour.Bake at 350 for 30 minutes.Cool on rack.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LuuvBunny July 25, 2011

Great bread, I loved the unusual mix of spices! I enjoyed it toasted with a little bit of butter on it. My home smelled just like a Bavarian bakery while making this, tempting me all afternoon! The only issue I had was that all of the edges of my bread ended up burning except for the top using my bread machine. I wasn't sure the weight of the bread, so I set it to the 2 lb loaf. I would recommend using the 1.5 lb setting instead. After cutting the edges all off, the inside tasted great. Thanks Charmie! Made for ZWT6-Oma's Challenge by a fellow Looney Spoon :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noway May 24, 2010

I think that this bread has potential, but I just didn't really like it too much. It was very dense and kinda flavorless. Maybe with some sugar, like another reviewer recommended. My bread was also a lot darker than the pictures, so maybe I need a lighter molasses?

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hodgemo2 January 24, 2010

Oh, yeah, the house smelled like the holidays as this was baking. I didn't have the problems some others had. This turned out to be a lovely high and soft loaf with just enough ginger taste to taste like gingerbread, but not so much that it overpowered the bread and turned it into a cookie. I used this to make Applesauce Sandwiches for DD for breakfast and she loved it (even though I forgot the cinnamon sugar!). Thanks for a new bread for my keeper files. Made for ZWT4

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CraftScout May 27, 2008

Well I don't like to be in the minority either. This bread smelled good cooking, but just had very little taste for me inspite of the spices. I had to add about a 1/2 cup more of water. It is very dense and heavy which was ok, but very bland. Now haven said that dh liked it, course he put some peach mango jam on his. I used 1/4 cup molasses also. I may try it again though to give it another chance. this am I will toast soem up and add some strawberry jam. I personally think the bread needs a bit of sugar. But still it is a good bm recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shirl (J) 831 August 20, 2006

Yuumm!! My family loved this bread. I used the larger amount of ginger as I love a spicy bread. It was perfect!! I am going to try this in a bread pudding. I think the spices in the bread will work wonderfully. I will be making this bread again. Thank you for sharing...it is definitely a keeper!! I'm glad that I chose to make this bread for the Zaar World Tour 2006.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bayhill June 15, 2006

This was pretty good bread. easy and quick to throw together and smelled great while cooking, thanks for posting

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kzbhansen June 14, 2006

Wonderfully different, dense, slightly sweet and spice filled bread. LOVED it! Smells amazing and tastes fabulous! Thanks

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mama's Kitchen (Hope) June 14, 2006

I'm sorry to say that this bread didn't tickle the taste buds for my family. I thought I would like it a lot, but the molasses was just too overpowering.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ms*Bindy June 10, 2006

This smelled so good baking! I really liked the flavor too. The ginger came through and the other spices were balanced. I didn't find it overly sweet at all and used it with thinly sliced turkey for sandwiches. Yum! =)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susie D June 07, 2006
Gingerbread Oatmeal Bread