Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Low-cholesterol / Garlic Basil Bread -For Bread Machine Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Garlic Basil Bread -For Bread Machine

    Average Rating:

    9 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-9 of 9

    Sort by:

    • on March 11, 2009

      I love the taste and smell of this bread. I had to use more flour though than was called for. I used 2 1/2 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of stone ground whole wheat flour. I then had to increase the water by 1/4 cup. I also increased the basil to 1 1/2 tsp and the garlic powder to 1 T. I ended up adding 3/4 cup of shredded provolone cheese. Put in bread machine and used dough cycle then rolled out into a 15 x 12 rectangle and rolled into a french bread roll. Let it rise in a warm area for one hour and then baked in perforated french bread pan at 325 degrees for 28 minutes.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2007

      I used a maximum of the basil and a little extra garlic powder, and I can't believe how truly good this bread it. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then rolled the dough out into 9 balls, put into 9" square pan and let them rise in my toaster oven (150*) for about 20 minutes. Then, I baked them for 35 minutes, but I think they were a little overdone. In such a small oven, I think next time 20 minutes will suffice. Thank you for such an easy, tasty bread that I can eat and not have to worry about adjusting at all!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2013

      I doubled it and served it with raviolis, sausages and pasta sauce. It didn't rise very much but the water I put in might have been too hot. It also could have been the altitude. I used a tad bit of garlic salt again. Between 4 people, the 2 lb loaf was gone after dinner!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2012

      I really enjoyed this bread. My only complaint was that I didn't double the recipe! I want to try fresh basil and minced garlic next time. My purpose in trying this bread was to use up my mass quantities of basil! I really liked the texture of the bread and think it would be terrific toasted under the broiler for garlic bread. Thanks for a tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2010

      Love this recipe! I even add a bit more garlic and usually a little bit of italian seasoning as well, the best part of making this is the smell that wafts through my house! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2007

      Good bread but I needed to add about a cup more flour than indicated. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This was my first time using my breadmaker and I think it came out pretty good! The recipe couldn't be easier though I did have to add a few extra tablespoons of flour. Thanks for the recipe B.B.!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      My family enjoyed this bread. The crust is really crispy and the inside has a nice light texture. I think I will try adding extra basil and garlic next time for a little stronger flavor. May even try and double the recipe next time for a larger loaf since the original amt. only yeilds about 5 slices. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe...I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 14, 2006

      I love trying new bread recipes. This was a simple yet flavorful bread machine recipe. I used my dough cycle and then baked the bread for 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven, I didn't change anything other than that. This made a nice, fluffy loaf of delicious tasting bread!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Garlic Basil Bread -For Bread Machine

    Serving Size: 1 (86 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 6

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 167.2
     
    Calories from Fat 6
    66%
    Total Fat 0.6 g
    1%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 391.6 mg
    16%
    Total Carbohydrate 34.2 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 2.1 g
    8%
    Sugars 0.8 g
    3%
    Protein 5.8 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes