9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I love the taste and smell of this bread. I had to use more flour though than was called for. I used 2 1/2 cups of bread flour and 1 cup of stone ground whole wheat flour. I then had to increase the water by 1/4 cup. I also increased the basil to 1 1/2 tsp and the garlic powder to 1 T. I ended up adding 3/4 cup of shredded provolone cheese. Put in bread machine and used dough cycle then rolled out into a 15 x 12 rectangle and rolled into a french bread roll. Let it rise in a warm area for one hour and then baked in perforated french bread pan at 325 degrees for 28 minutes.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Red in US March 11, 2009

I used a maximum of the basil and a little extra garlic powder, and I can't believe how truly good this bread it. I used the dough cycle on my bread machine, then rolled the dough out into 9 balls, put into 9" square pan and let them rise in my toaster oven (150*) for about 20 minutes. Then, I baked them for 35 minutes, but I think they were a little overdone. In such a small oven, I think next time 20 minutes will suffice. Thank you for such an easy, tasty bread that I can eat and not have to worry about adjusting at all!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
FoodExplorer December 20, 2007

I doubled it and served it with raviolis, sausages and pasta sauce. It didn't rise very much but the water I put in might have been too hot. It also could have been the altitude. I used a tad bit of garlic salt again. Between 4 people, the 2 lb loaf was gone after dinner!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Boy R Lis January 18, 2013

I really enjoyed this bread. My only complaint was that I didn't double the recipe! I want to try fresh basil and minced garlic next time. My purpose in trying this bread was to use up my mass quantities of basil! I really liked the texture of the bread and think it would be terrific toasted under the broiler for garlic bread. Thanks for a tasty recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Paka June 18, 2012

Love this recipe! I even add a bit more garlic and usually a little bit of italian seasoning as well, the best part of making this is the smell that wafts through my house! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
I_heart_seitan January 07, 2010

Good bread but I needed to add about a cup more flour than indicated. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ellie_ February 14, 2007

This was my first time using my breadmaker and I think it came out pretty good! The recipe couldn't be easier though I did have to add a few extra tablespoons of flour. Thanks for the recipe B.B.!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
flower7 July 23, 2006

My family enjoyed this bread. The crust is really crispy and the inside has a nice light texture. I think I will try adding extra basil and garlic next time for a little stronger flavor. May even try and double the recipe next time for a larger loaf since the original amt. only yeilds about 5 slices. Thanks so much for sharing your recipe...I will definitely be making this again!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
zaar mate June 14, 2006

I love trying new bread recipes. This was a simple yet flavorful bread machine recipe. I used my dough cycle and then baked the bread for 25 minutes in a 350 degree oven, I didn't change anything other than that. This made a nice, fluffy loaf of delicious tasting bread!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dine & Dish June 14, 2006
Garlic Basil Bread -For Bread Machine